We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic luxury hotel”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stay in a historic luxury hotel. Wonderful staff. You feel as though you are in the center of history of the modern state of Israel. Former home of the British Mandate during the m\period between the two World Wars. It still maintains the old world sense of style. Some rooms are wonderful and some are small. Try for one with a view of the old city. Think of all the heads of state that have stayed there and of all the historical meetings that have taken place there. You still see famous people walking through the lobby or eating in the dairy restaurant or on the terrace.

Room Tip: ask for a good room with a view of the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay at The King David. We are happy to read that it was an enjoyable experience. Our team's passion for maintaining the grandness and historical legacy of this Jerusalem icon, and welcoming guests like yourself to our hotel is what we believe makes The King David a "home away from home" for so many people around the globe. We invite you to take a look at our newest video clip of the The King David which can be found on the Dan Hotels Israel website – it features some lovely footage of the hotel. I hope that our staff has the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Joshua Merl
Management Associate
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Recently stayed during a family vacation, the rooms were great, as was the service . From the minute we drove up, the staff were in a word, hospitable. The breakfast is fantastic, and lives up to the reputation. The rooms were pricy,and I have no issue with that, given the time of year, and cache of he hotel. However, the a la carte menu and the extras eg wifi were a bit outrageous. But wifi is free in the lobby, and there are dozens of restaurants steps away. So, you are not a prisoner to their pricing. Only complaint was housekeeping's attention to details needs improvement, oh well.

I highly recommend the property. Great for family trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMRDAR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear MMRDAR5,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, here at the King David. Comments from our guests are the best way for us to monitor and develop our services.
Throughout the hotel, it is our constant aim to offer the highest levels of guest experience and impeccable service, so it's always a delight to hear when we have excelled. While a little late to rectify for you this time, we have taken on board any more constructive comments in a bid to improve. I can assure you that attention is paid at all times to the maintenance, cleanliness and decor of the entire hotel.
Being the first of Israeli luxury hotel chains to offer free wifi zones, Dan Hotels try to review chain-wide policies on a regular basis, so we have ensured your comments have been heard; thank you again for highlighting these areas to us.
We'll be looking forward to welcome you back, and also invite you to join the e-Dan Club, should you wish. members receive an abundance of deals and discounts throughout their stay, including free one hour of in room wifi for every day of stay.
Until the next time,
Best regards,
Joshua Merl
Management Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

While service was very friendly and the wine and some dishes fine other classics were disappointing; the humus was like mortar, the sauce hollandaise a failure and the latke potatoes half raw. Definitely the culinary level has gone down a bit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Michel B,

On behalf of the head Chef of the King David, I thank you for your posting a review expressing your feelings towards your last stay at the hotel. It is lovely to hear that you were satisfied with the many of the dishes, our fine wine selection, and the service of our wait staff. You have also expressed dissatisfaction with a portion of your dining experience, and the Food and Beverage department, Chef and Su Chef have all been notified.

The texture of our Jerusalem-style hummus, is favored by most of our guests, however we do realize that there are many variations of the dish, even within Jerusalem, so it is difficult to discuss optimal hummus consistency. Because our Hummus is made to order, upon your next visit, you may ask the chef to prepare it creamier, more fluffy, or with more or less lemon juice and sesame paste, etc. The Hollandaise sauce is also fresh, and homemade, so the chef would also be happy to adjust the tanginess or any other flavor component of the sauce to your liking.

Please keep in mind that in the future, if at any time you are not completely satisfied with a dish, you are welcome to send it back for adjustment, or we will gladly replace the dish with something that more suits your palate. We welcome you to return to The King David so that we may completely meet your culinary expectations.

Kind regards,

Joshua Merl
Management Associate
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to have been "upgraded" to the King David on a recent trip, when the Dan Panorama down the street was over-booked. We found the staff of the hotel to be wonderful, and the room was very nice. The breakfast buffet was spectacular. The thing that made our stay less than wonderful was the hotel's predatory practice on WiFi connections, where you have to pay per device. This habit of gouging travellers has been abandoned by most hotels, so I was a little surprised that the King David is still doing it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear John H,

First and foremost, thank you for your positive review of the King David! We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, extravagant breakfasts, and of course that you were provided excellent service by the team; we really appreciate you sharing.
In this wide online interactive world we live in, wifi is becoming a growing necessity for travelers. While the majority of luxury hotels in Israel do not yet offer this complimentary feature, Dan Hotels have recently added free wifi zones in all our lobbies and an additional one hour of free in room wifi for e-dan club guests, for each day of stay. We hope this may be an additional feature in the future and have forwarded your feedback to those decision makers. Thank you again.
We'll be looking forward to welcome you back on the next opportunity,
With best regards,
Joshua Merl
Management Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I with our two adult children stayed at this hotel for three nights last week. Our rooms were clean and our beds were comfortable. Breakfast buffet was wonderful with a lot of choices, including vegan items. The location is great and it is in walking distance to the old city. However, we all felt that we would not stay at this hotel in the future because the services were terrible. When I read previous reviews about their obnoxious staff, I thought they were rare incidences. Our experiences suggested that they must be proud of their style to be obnoxious. A couple of examples: (1) We were walking to a nearby restaurant one night and it started raining. I ran back to the hotel and ask the front desk for an umbrella. A lady at the front desk told me someone would bring it to me. I waited for about 10 minutes, but never saw an umbrella. The front desk lady never bothered to reassure me or check with me. I went back to my room in a slow elevator and got my own umbrella. (2) The day prior our departure, we went to the concierge desk to print our boarding passes. A young gentleman at the desk told us that he was a "filling-in" and we had to wait for someone who knew how to do it. We waited for about 10 minutes and never saw that someone. (3) The staff must judge people by how they dress. We tested this theory and believed it. At least this is how their staff let us feel this way. We will probably not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you dress very nicely if you want to be treated nicely at this hotel. Room facing the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bwang20874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear bwang20874,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experiences of staying with us here at the King David Hotel; we are happy to read that you mainly enjoyed the hotel and open to receiving feedback.
Throughout the hotel, comfort and experience of our guests is paramount in everything we do, so it concerns us to hear of the disappointment in service standards. While a little late to rectify for you on this occasion, I can assure you, all our team members are trained to practice the utmost in discretion and professionalism for all our guests. As surprising as this incidence is to hear, we have taken your comments on board to ensure of no further possible re-occurrences of this nature.
We'd love the opportunity to welcome you back for a renewed impression of our service capabilities and invite you to be in touch with me directly prior to your next stay so I can monitor your reservation personally.
With best regards,
Dror Danino
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel in Jerusalem.
Very kind and attentif staff.
Upgraded to a room with old city view.
Very nice breakfast with multiple variaties of fresh juices.
Very nice open and warmed swimming pool.
Only negative point is to not have a complimentary internet access in the rooms despite an effective wireless connection in the loby.

Room Tip: A room with old city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISMETCENGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This is really a very special place...with a staff that is extremely committed to providing a great experience for all their guests...Great food and service....Israeli breakfast may be the very best in the whole country. Do not give up the opportunity to have the hotel do your laundry as you are in for a special surprise.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,208 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#9 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,321 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#14 of 100 in Jerusalem
2,145 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#28 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,765 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $461 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing