We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King David
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldan Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Windmill Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mamilla Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,570)
Filter reviews
1,570 results
Traveler rating
1,187
229
94
39
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,187
229
94
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla regenceworld leadershistoric hotelold citykind davidpool area isbreakfast buffetdairy restaurantroom facingguest relationsdining roomdan hotelsan upgradeup to dateshabbat dinnerfive star hotelwonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,570 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This almost legendary hotel in my opinion is resting on its laurels. Still a very good hotel but not a great one. The breakfast is wonderful as is the service. And the location is terrific.
But after that it is starting to become a little dated and tired.
Imagine having to pay for internet in your room for a hotel of this class. There was free wi fi in the lobby so guests were always crowded in to utilize the wi fi as I was objecting to the stinginess of the management.
The conference rooms again did not have up to date electronic facilities which hampered the forum I was at.
Again, a very nice hotel but not really value for money unless money is not a concern.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Old City side.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanRAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear AlanRAussie,

Thank you for sharing your feelings following your recent stay with us, at The King David Hotel. We are pleased to read that you are satisfied by our world-famous breakfast and overall service and concerned about other less positive experiences described.
With a hotel of this stature, it is important for us to keep the sense of old world grandeur during any updates, all the while bringing this 1920's structure into the 21st century.
We strive to seamlessly blend modern with antique, as is seen with our decor palette and online ordering platform for hotel services. Having recently completed refurbishments on the top two floors of the hotel, we'll be continuing and intend to update all rooms as soon as quickly as possible, while causing minimal inconvenience.

With regards to the conference that you took part in, it would be helpful to know what equipment was missing so that we may know for next time. Our team are constantly at hand to assist in any way possible, including myself. It is always unfortunate for us to hear when a guest was not completely satisfied. I hope that upon your next visit we can prove that the King David still deserves its rightful crown as the place to stay in Jerusalem.

Sincere regards,

Joshua Merl
The King David Hotel
Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spent 5 nights in a deluxe "Old City" room at the King David Hotel in October. While expensive ($600+/night), everything about the accommodations was first class. The room as large and had a small terrace overlooking the Old City. The morning and evening views were like picture perfect postcards. The bathroom was large, with two sinks and had a shower and separate toilet area. The mini fridge was stocked with soft drinks and water at no extra charge. Robes and slippers were provided for the pool.
Breakfast downstairs in the dining area was larger and more varied than we have ever seen throughout 4 and 5 star hotels throughout Europe. Service was attentive and responsive.
The Hotel had cabs always awaiting the guests.
The Old City and Jaffa Gate is a short walk from the hotel. Restaurants and shopping are also close by.
Wifi is free and functions well in the lobby. However, we found odd that the hotel charged $20 per device per day for wifi connection in the room. This seemed a petty practice employed by the other Dan Hotel we stayed at in Tel Aviv.
The concierge and house staff were very responsive and helpful.

Room Tip: Spending the extra $100 per night was worth the view. 3rd floor and higher have excellent views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

From the lobby's oriental/Egyptian decor (the owners are Jews from Egypt) to the delightful open air restaurant overlooking the walls of the Old City of Jerusalem, the King David is one of the top destination spots in the world. This hotel delights tourists and pilgrims in many ways which includes the best buffet breakfast in the world. From fresh fruits, to eggs, to cheeses, jams, drinks, etc. you won't find a better breakfast anywhere. The hotel's rooms are spacious and comfortable (ask for an Old City view). The location is on a hill overlooking the Old City on one side and across from the iconic YMCA on the other. (A visit to the YMCA's lobby is recommended.) There are a dairy and meat kosher restaurants in the building. The lobby is a meeting place for people from around the world. The backyard includes a magnificent open air swimming pool. In the immortal words of my grandmother "Try it you will like it."

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the King David for 5 days - to attend a wedding and to tour Jerusalem and Israel. The King David is superb in every way. The hotel itself is beautiful, well-appointed, centrally-located and the public spaces are large and comfortable. The staff is excellent - friendly, well-trained, and quick and efficient in responding to requests. Our room - a standard "New City" room - was well-appointed, large, very clean and comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the YMCA (itself a lovely building).

The breakfast (included) offers the largest selection of different foods I have ever experienced at any hotel anywhere. We never needed lunch! The hotel was the perfect setting for the wedding we attended with a variety of both outdoor and indoor spaces. The pool is massive by any standard.

If you are planning a trip to Israel, the King David is a must stay. Phenomenal!

Room Tip: "New City" rooms are much less expensive than rooms that offer a view of the "Old City." We were fine with that as we spent alot of time in the Old City and also got great views of the Old City from the outdoor spaces at the King David.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is the go-to, reliable luxury hotel in Jerusalem. There may be other newer deluxe properties but it would be hard to top the King David. It is difficult to describe the sense of history one gets at this hotel but it is tangible. In addition to the aura and cache factor, the hotel delivers on all of the other expected requirements. Thanks to our credit card company, we were upgraded to a two level suite. Everyday a large bowl of complimentary fresh fruit and sweets was placed in our room. Cleanliness and general repair of the room and the entire property was outstanding. The patio and pool area are lovely. The breakfast buffet is likely the best in Israel due to both the huge variety and excellent quality dishes and ingredients. The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance the Jaffa Gate, many nice shops, and a number of good restaurants. Of course no hotel is perfect. I had a few small gripes; the mattress was a bit too firm for my liking, the bathroom amenities seemed as if they would be more appropriate at a Marriott, the fitness center is minimal, you can't get a decent cup of American coffee in the restaurant (Ok, I know…that's true in many parts of the world but the King David is a very expensive hotel catering to lots of Americans). And one last thing regarding the restaurant. The staff is perhaps too attentive. Several times my plate was pulled before I was finished eating. But to reiterate, none of the above issues would change my overall opinion of the King David. It is a great place to stay if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Views of the Old City are lovely but remember, this is an old hotel. The windows aren't that large so think twice before spending on a view room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodieman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews