We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding at the king david hotel”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wedding at the king david hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We married of our son this past august at the king david hotel . what a beautiful wedding the staff produced . we are grateful to the entire staff and especially to Jason Gardner who guided us every step of the way . the .food ambiance ,chupah on the terrace was just amazing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harryweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    209
    84
    36
    18
See reviews for
428
491
84
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Presque Isle, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great hotel but the rooms were extremely overpriced and small. But it was worth it for the historical significance of this hotel. Because in 1940''s it was blown up by radicals. The French restaurant downstairs was amazing too. It always helps to have a discover platinm card because when we went to this hotel we got a free upgrade a fancy free meal for everyone and so many other good perks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was travelling with a friend in Israel and we left Tel Aviv for a couple of nights to visit Jerusalem. The hotel was a "must see" for me and I wasn't disappointed. We were very varmly welcomed and our room was shown us more than thoroughly. Our room had a view facing the old city and hotel's garden and pool area.

During the saty we had an nice dinner at La Regence and enjoyed some drinks at sophisticated The Oriental Bar.

After checking out I was in a nice way asked about my stay by the personnel and I got this rare feeling that they really were iterested of my opinions.

If and when I will return to this unbelievable country I will return to this hotel.

Suomeksi sanottuna täydellinen kokemus - hotelli on nähnyt aikaa, mutta vanhentunut tyylikkäästi. Käyntimme aikana törmäsimme myös suomalaisseurueeseen hotellin baarissa, mutta vain asumalla tässä hotellissa pystyy eläytymään historiallisten vieraiden kokemuksiin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stcf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the King David hotel recently with my wife and children for the occasion of my birthday.
We were upgraded and had a mini suite facing the old city. The suite was superb, refurbished to the highest standards.
The staff was very helpful and we received excellent service in the restaurant, room service and around the pool.
We all hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elikopilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caesarea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beside the excellent location, service, etc., the hotel maintains a Levantine atmosphere that is hard to find in Israeli big hotels, most of them new and functional, with a plastic American quality. A major contributer to the creation of this amiable atmosphere is the Arab, older professional staff, especially in the main dining room. The local touch of the culinary spread (like the green herbal salad at breakfast) also contributes to this end. Keep it up, it's what makes the difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you for your kind review. The hotel was built in the late 1920's, during a very eventful and interesting period for the city of Jerusalem, the region as a whole, and for the entire world. As you noticed during your stay, the hotel was designed with ancient and modern Middle Eastern motifs. Our staff includes members who have been proudly serving guests for 50+ years in the same 'Old World' style that was only expected in the grandest hotels of the world at that time. We truly believe that this legacy should always be upheld. We are honored that you chose to be a part of The King David's rich history, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Dror Danino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Interesting, beautiful, service-minded staff, amazing swimming-pool area, unique breakfast buffet, spectacular terrace and view, as well as superb comfort makes me want to return as soon as possible! Free wi-fi in the lobby area makes life a little easier, and mingling with other addicts more fun. Contact-making abound!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsingborgOresund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Probably the best, but didnt wow us. Felt that everything was just a little impersonal. I disliked the ultra small rooms, however, it was nice to have a small balcony. Def worth the upgrade to the old city views.
Just one of those hotels you leave and think .... that was not good value for money. Like everything in Israel, it was just so expensive. Wont be returning.

Room Tip: Deluxe Old City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,934 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,740 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing