We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Not Impressed”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
425 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Just Not Impressed”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Maybe it was the high expectations I set for this place after reading everyone else's reviews, or the fact that it is rated the best hotel in Israel. But really, this was not that impressive. The food was nothing but average, the service was just ok, the bathrooms are in some serious need of updating (and thank goodness I am a fit girl, I don't know how the heavy set folks shower in that coffin-size shower). The pool did not have a range of depth (but that seemed to be common in Israel - where all pools start at 4 feet deep - not really made for relaxation I guess). It was filled with children and obnoxious guests, many of them Orthodox (nothing against them other than the fact that they were very rude). Don't get me wrong, it is not a bad hotel by any means. But is it worth the rate? Nope.

Room Tip: Ask for the 6th floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Camilla,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts following your recent stay here; it is through comments such as these that enable us to further develop our fine offerings.
Throughout Dan Hotels, and especially here at the flagship, King David, every effort is made to ensure the highest levels of guest experience at all times, so it is always with regret if we hear that a guest feels that we have fallen short in any way.
While a little late to rectify for you on this occasion, your comments have most certainly been taken on board for further assessment and management discussion; thank you for highlighting these areas to us.
Since refurbishments in recent years, most guests have marvelled on the beautifully equipped and well maintained bedrooms and bathrooms, so it was unusual to learn of any discomfort felt, we will most definitely do further assessment.
Moreover, having recently remodeled the swimming pool to include a relaxing and refreshing shallow "chill out" area, guests and visitors come from far and wide to use the acclaimed pool area. One can only imagine that perhaps during high season and busy times, there are more visitors creating and energetic buzz which could in turn, hinder others relaxation; our team are at hand should any assistance be required at any time.
We'd love the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion for a renewed and improved impression, do let me know how I may be of assistance for future reservations.
With very best regards and many thanks,
Maya Morav
Guest Relations Manager
Maya.Morav@danhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    209
    84
    36
    18
See reviews for
428
491
84
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent four nights in a suite at the King David with a wonderful view of the old city. The room was a good size, immaculate in its presentation, and pleasantly decorated. The complimentary mini-bar was well stocked with a variety of soft drinks and water. There was also complimentary wine throughout the stay.

The hotel has been at the centre of Jerusalem's history for over 75 years and you cannot fail to get a sense of that history the moment you walk in the door.

The beds and the furniture were very comfortable.

The bathroom was a wonderful size and the bath was a lovely size for a nice relaxing soak.

The staff were generally extremely friendly and helpful, although the staff on the concierge desk tended to be a bit surly.

He restaurants are nice, and the service is exemplary, but the choice of food is somewhat uninspiring. The restaurant that I tried provided excellent food, both well cooked and well presented, but there are restaurants offering just as good food, but with a better menu choice within two minutes walk.

Breakfasts are good, with an excellent, and sometimes interesting, choice of food.

The bar is a wonderfully atmospheric place, but generally seemed to be quiet at any time of day.

The other facilities at the hotel are pleasant, although the swimming pool area does tend to get rather chilly in the afternoon as the pool is put into shade by the hotel building.

Overall, an expensive hotel, but well worth the money for the sense of history, the superb service and excellent rooms, and views. Highly recommended

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It's my second stay in this hotel and as the first time, I'm very well impressed not only by the comfort of the rooms, but above all by the kindness of the concierges and other reception people.
Every problem you can have, they find a solution!
The location, the pool, the extra-quality of the beds are unics.
However the restaurant service has to be completly revieuwed : to many people running for nothing ....
Anyway a unic stay in a legendary hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a lot of history and is the place where world leaders in politics and entertainment stay.

With it's European style elegance and decades of history this deluxe hotel is the place to see the top class travelers.

The style and accommodation are more suitable for adults without younger children.

It's a place to stay and tell people that you were there.

Look online and see how many world famous people have stayed there over the last 75 years.

Great location - 5 minutes walk from the outdoor Mamilla and Ben Yehuda malls and the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asa764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear asa764,

On behalf of the entire team at the King David Hotel, I extend our sincere gratitude for the warm and most encouraging feedback, following your experience with us.
We hope that you and your family continue to be a part in the history of the King David for years to come.

Warm Regards,

Maya Morav
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I loved our days at the King David and it made staying at other hotels in Israel disappointing. We had two adjoining renovated rooms on the upper floors facing the New City of Jerusalem. I was told that if we wanted the Old City views we could not get renovated adjoining rooms. The view of the New City of Jerusalem is pretty and I didn't feel like I missed out. The rooms are not amazing for what you are paying compared to US hotels. Internet service is not included. One of our rooms was nicer than the other. One had a queen headboard but twin beds placed together and the other had a proper Queen mattress. The beds were comfortable and the bedding nice. The rooms were attractive if not large. The bathroom had both a bathtub and shower. While the products in the bathroom were lovely I was annoyed that the shower water did not drain quickly enough. Not a fan of standing in a puddle while showering.

The staff at the King David are great. They arranged for a car service to take us from the airport to the hotel. They were responsive when we needed something. The breakfast buffet is like a feast for royalty. I am not usually a person who enjoys a buffet but this one was so amazing that even I was delighted. Just about everything you could imagine you might want to eat is there and more. There is a staff of arab Israelis at the restaurant and they are very hospitable. The gentleman serving us told us that he had been at the King David for over twenty years. The next morning we had breakfast delivered to our room. It was very good although they did get a few things wrong. We did not call and complain about it because it was not a big deal.

The Hotel is perfectly located. We walked to the Old City one day and it was not far. A lot of the other guests at the hotel were observant/religious Jewish American and French families. The King David is sensitive to their needs so that you can not bring in outside food and eat it in the lobby for example (Kosher laws). The Hotel has a very important history and there are signatures from Presidents and other famous people on tiles in the lobby hallway. The pool is very nice. We swam one afternoon and it was pleasant.

I would certainly return to visit the King David on my next visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

unique hotel.one of the best I visited.stayed in room 134,beautiful room and view.breakfast is rich and you can find many options.the fruit shake is the best i had.outside pool is heated and the garden around the pool are beautiful.will stay again and again

Room Tip: room 134 ,large,beautiful balcony facing garden and old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast US
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Cannot imagine a better hotel choice in Jerusalem! Absolutely beautiful and comfortable rooms, tasteful decor, quiet with great room darkening curtains, large tub and separate shower, with gorgeous views of the old city from the rear of the hotel. Very convenient for walking to the old city, historical sites, and shopping. Central to everything. Breakfast was included in our price and it was excellent. The staff and service were excellent. Expensive but worth it. Loved it!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wrenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,934 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,740 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing