We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately historic exceelent afternoon tea/patisserie. Very good rooms. Mediocre food. Excellent pool area.”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A must visit hotel for tea. Stately and historic. Rooms are very good some with beautiful views of the old city. Meals are mediocre though good breakfasts. Good location for tourists. Relaxed though formal ambience.

Room Tip: Better view = more cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear SEGooner,

Thank you for your heart-warming review.
It is a special honor for us to be acknowledged for "excellent afternoon tea" and "good breakfasts" by an English guest.
Next time you may also like to try our gourmet restaurant La Regence , as it is considered one of the best in Jerusalem.

Hoping to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Best Season's greetings,

Maya Morav
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

hotel is filled with elegance and charm that no other hotel in jerusalem can provide. beautiful, excellent service, and all our needs were met. the staff was helpful, although sometimes i had to wait a bit too long at the front desk for assistance. we enjoyed meals at both the restaurant and the main dining room and they were delicious and promptly provided. we love the hotel, its furnishings, its location and everything about it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RivkaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you're visiting Jerusalem for the first time I suppose you ought to try to stretch to a room at the historic king David Hotel. It retains the glamour and luxury of yesteryear and though it does trade on that history quite without hesitation, it is still worthy of the price.
The lobby, patio bar and restaurant are all excellent and the service is superb. On arrival we were met by a senior representative who showed us to the room and ordered us a glass of chilled white wine in addition to the bowl of fruit and Shabbat cake that was already awaiting us.
The rooms are very good with rich decor, though the bathrooms seem a bit disappointing in that they seem basic for a hotel of this status (perhaps as we had a standard room, it may be different the more you pay).
The room we had faced the new city and as such may have been a bit noisy but was well sound insulated and we slept extremely well in our huge bed with comfortable pillows and lots of pillows.
I highly recommend this hotel, which is also a member of the Dan chain of hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

After reading some of the reviews I didn't expect this to be a great hotel. But I loved it. Our room was facing the new city, which actually looks onto the beautiful YMCA building. And we had a balcony which I hadn't expected because when I'd tried to reserve one they said there were none available. There is street noise but it calms down early and the glass is thick, so no problems with noise. Sitting on the balcony is wonderful and we were never disturbed by the mosques' call to prayer as happens when facing the old city.

Location is superb, a short walk to stores and shopping at Marmilla Street, a 40 NIS (about $10) taxi to the Israel Museum. Jaffa gate is a bit of walk thru Marmilla Street shopping area, a shorter but steep walk directly on the streets. Either way it's thru nice areas.

The only problem with the bath was that the shower door leaked, but a well placed wash cloth took care of that. We're not bothered by there being no separate shower, and the shower was strong and hot.

The room had every comfort we could want except for tea / coffee making facility. The fridge is stocked with complimentary soft drinks / water / juice rather than the usual "mini-bar" rip off of outrageously priced drinks. There's a convenience store at the corner where we got beer and plenty of room in the fridge for it.

Room service was fast and reasonable. Not cheap but compared to most hotels a real bargain. And they take off the 17% VAT for foreigners. Several times we had the morning tea and "Taste of Jerusalem" tapas by room service , both were excellent, served with lots of good bread and butter.

My encounters with front desk and concierge were all good. Polite and helpful, despite the fact that we were part of a "group", which often gets one short shrift in some of the "nicer" hotels.

Breakfast buffets were sumptuous: every kind of fruit, salads, eggs, fish, fresh squeezed juices and wonderful breads. My only complaint is they don't make a decent cup of tea, you get a cup of hot water and put your choice of bag in it. At least the water was hot, but that's no way to make tea. A minor complaint, and the coffee drinkers were happy. It is kosher but I found nothing lacking.

My one dinner on the terrace was ok. The lighting annoyed me as it's in the diners eyes when looking toward the old city, it ruins the view. My group had a bad experience on the terrace but I wasn't at that dinner.

Earlier in the week we'd stayed at the Dan Tel Aviv, which we were not impressed with, so the King David was a welcome bit of luxery without the "hoity" attitude. Do join the E Dan club online, it's free and gets you a 15% discount on everything but the room itself. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: "City View" rooms look onto the beautiful YMCA (sounds odd, but look it up, a lovely build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were there now on sukkoth and they have to most beautiful sukkas, more than one, from the whole country.
The swimming pool is also the nicest in town. The room should be done again. for example, you don't have a separate shower in the bathroom

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at this historic property for four nights. I had a spacious room on the 4th floor overlooking the old city which is desirable. However the bedding was mediocre and on the gray side. The lighting in the bathroom was dismal. The service at the expansive breakfast buffet was quite good as opposed to the terrace where it was appalling. Rude and incompetent is the best I can say. One evening I had a snack in the Oriental Bar, when the pepper shaker didn't work properly, the bartender picked it up and put it to his lips and blew on the cap! The reception personnel were never more than curt. One concierge was quite helpful another one couldn't be bothered.
A lovely setting, but next time in Jerusalem I will stay elsewhere.
Barbara
San Francisco, CA

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Barbara,

We truly appreciate your constructive feedback, thank you for taking the time to let us know.
We are pleased It is always pleasing to hear when guests enjoy the beautiful decor in their rooms and magnificent Jerusalem and our surroundings.
Throughout a hotel as prestiguious as the King David, we carry out continual thorough checks on all housekeeping at all times, hence the remark regarding the bedding is somewhat concerning as all bed linen is brand new, 100% Italian satin. Having said that, I have ensured a double check on bed linen takes place so as to ensure of no reoccurrence of this nature; your comment is of utmost importance to us, thank you for highlighting this necessity.
Furthermore, the lighting in the bathroom has been designed for guests comfort and an average brightness was suggested, this can always be altered upon request but apologies that it did not seem to suit your needs this time.
Moreover, we take any comments with regards to service throughout the hotel of great relevance and importance; it is always a concern when guests feel they have not received the levels of service truly expected at a hotel of this nature and we can assure you close and immediate attention will be made in follow up training with all team members; thank you once again.
We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity of delighting you in the true King David glory, please do contact me directly prior to your next arrival so as I can ensure of a more enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards,
Maya Morav
Guest Relations Manager
Maya.Morav@danhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant hotel. Grab a room facing the Old Town and you will enjoy the view of ancient walls and annoying sound from muslim mosque at 4.15 am.
Room was very nice, big and renovated.
But old waiters in the restaurant at breakfast beg for tips... What do the managers think about it?
If you meet a PR manager than she will show you the roof terasse!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,208 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#9 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,321 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#14 of 100 in Jerusalem
2,145 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#28 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,765 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $461 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing