We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 days at king david” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
494 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“7 days at king david”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

first of all - haim shkedi the general manager is impressive . he is every where doing his outmost to make guests happy . !!!! to be at KD for succoth is a humbeling experiance - the temple had a very good rabbi -rabbi freedman - great atmosphier ....you are always assured to meet interesting people at KD. breakfast was very elaborate .Expensive hotel - but worth the experiance. the grounds are fantastic for families with young kids. we will be back - but they should try to charge less.......

Room Tip: 4 + 5 floor s were renovated recently -you feel you get more for your $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badbaruch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    198
    79
    34
    18
See reviews for
412
477
79
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Srtyed over Sukkot. Festive. Alive. Accommodating of all. Quite a feat. Staying at this hotel made our Jerusalem visit that much more memorable.

Great wait staff at breakfast. Super breakfast. Beautiful pool and adjacent area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xinjiangren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The King David has a long heritage, and is in the true sense a Grand Hotel, steeped in history with original elements in the lobby - one that has played host to the world's leaders over the past 70+ years. Renovated floors have beautifully appointed rooms. Check on the size as some are a little more spacious. Great pool area; the best breakfast, and well trained staff.

Room Tip: check the size of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
504 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

You know your in the holiest city in the world when your paying through the nose for the least of services. This is not the Ritz or Hilton Prestige property. The food is good and the rooms are clean. You are also guaranteed a quiet environment without the insane ambience some hotels deliver (having just flown in from China.) Very overpriced for what is provided and they do nickle and dime you shamelessly for everything. Fine stay otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at The King David, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments; it is through guests comments that enable us to monitor our service delivery.

It is a sincere delight that you enjoyed the facilities and décor of the most prestigious hotel in Jerusalem
We are pleased you enjoyed your vacation with us, perhaps during the high holiday season? During peak times of year the rates for all central Jerusalem hotels are slightly higher than at other times; we do hope you experienced the value for money that one is expecting when booking a hotel as prestigious as the King David Hotel. To ensure all guests feel well taken care of, we offer a wide variety of services with no extra charge, like the complimentary mini-bar and generous, bountiful breakfast buffet.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a return visit and should you like to be in touch with me prior to your next arrival, I can assure you I will make sure you have a vacation to remember. I can be contacted on Maya.Morav@danhotels.com
Kind Regards,
Maya Morav Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the one! And I mean it (well, being a true Cape Tonian I exclude our hotels in Cape Town).

Friendly check in, nice rooms, enormous breakfast buffet. The King David: its an institution!!! They seem to have found the receipe for a peaceful and respectful dealing with each other. One can feel it when living here: there is a big amount of religious tolerance and respect within the walls of the KD. Although the hotel is strictly kosher and for example has a Shabbat lift (which goes from floor to floor on a Shabbat without guests having to push any buttons), one really feels welcome and respected here. Most of the hosts at the breakfast room (I intensionally called them: “hosts“ because they are so much more than waiters) are Muslims and one can feel that they love their King David. They make you feel welcome and special and appreciated.

Being in Jerusalem and being at the King David obviousy opens the religious question – however, it is answered with tolerance and mutual respect at this faboulus hotel.

And the breakfast buffet!!! I never thought there would be so many different salats and fish and cheeses and .... you name it!

When I say spoil yourself I mean it. Rather scratch the extra money together and stay here. Its not that expensive but you will get so much more for it. The Pool!!! The people!!! The history!!!

Gosh, I already miss it and I am only gone for two days. Next year in Jerusalem! Definately at the King David.

Room Tip: Get a room with Old City view. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capeguy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was recently at the King David for a party. I arrived from a trip out of Jerusalem and thus had a small bag with me. I asked the bellman if the hotel could store it and he refused. I asked the concierge if he could store it. He said the hotel doesn't offer storage. So I asked him where the guests check bags. He said they have an area but its not watched or secured and anyone could walk in and take it. He told me the bags are not ensured either. I told him I would take a chance. He refused. So I put my bag in the corner of the ball room, but was told later it needs to be moved. I asked the receptionist if there is baggage storage available and he again pointed me to a corner of the lobby where bags can be dumped. I was shocked that a supposedly 5 star property did not offer baggage storage even for guests.
Fast forward to the dining room. The food was excellent but service was slow. My fork and knife were cleared for some reason and I asked a waiter for new ones. He said he would get them. 10 mon later they hadn't come. I flag the maitre d. He gets them immediately. Same thing happebed when I ordered diet coke. They also did not have regular sprite for some reason.
Also it should be noted that dessert is very subpar. This was my 3rd meal in less than a year at the King david and I experienced desserts that were mediocre at best all 3 times.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pabloB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My first time in Jerusalem and it was important I stayed close to all the important sites and didn't have to worry about travel. The hotel is literally 15-20 mins walk away from the Old City, which is where all the important sites are. Service is excellent. Rooms are fine. Breakfast has an excellent spread, with the best fruit I've ever had. If you want something and can't see it, just ask. The staff will do all they can to get it for you. We managed to source ginger, cinnamon, garlic, and lemons from them. Staff are friendly, but need to be told clearly what you want and what you don't want. The concierge made some excellent recommendations for restaurants to visit, each one being a brilliant experience - follow the concierge not the receptionist. It is expensive but if you can afford it, thoroughly recommend it. While we were there, the Bulgarian and German prime ministers were having a conference. We also saw other celebrities, which shows they consider it good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the old city. And twin rooms on the 5th floor seemed to be larger than twin roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaceLover x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#13 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#21 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Jetsetter, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Reservation Counter so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing