We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Location”
Review of Golden Walls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Walls Hotel
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location”
Reviewed July 19, 2009

I chose this hotel because of the good value room rates for a establishment so close to the old city. The hotel is very close to the Damascus Gate of the old city, although not so easy for quite a few cab drivers to locate - as it is in the Arab side of Jerusalem, or East Jerusalem. My room was excellent as it was evidently brand new (second floor - Room 263), with air conditioning, flat screen tv, double queen bed, balcony and views to the old city wall. I note that many of the rooms at the hotel look down onto a bu interchange or a busy street - so quietness may be a problem for some travelers. The roof garden was fantastic, you needed to fetch your own drinks from the lobby bar however, but this didn't detract from the enjoyment of sitting on the roof and taking in the sights, sounds and smells of the old city. There was no wireless internet, which seems to be a standard these days, the room didn't have a refrigerator - which would have been useful in the July heat. The room needed a guide or hotel diectory aswell, they don't seem to have anything like that available. The bathroom was good, although water service seemed to fluctuate in intensity and heat. The staff were very courteous and helpfull and I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AU_in_SthAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    110
    43
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
41
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We traveled with a group and this hotel served our needs perfectly. The staff were gracious and always very accomodating. The rooms were small - but you get used to them - and as someone else said, you are rarely in your room. If you'd like to sit and rest for a bit, there is a large seating area in the lobby that overlooks the Damscus Gate in the Old City. The food was good - especially their soup! We were there for six days and five nights - it was very busy and the guests at the hotel were from all over the world. The staff did a wonderful job of taking care of everyone. This is not a "luxury" hotel(no fluffy towels will be found here), however, we were very comfortable, the rooms were clean yet small, we enjoyed getting to know the staff, the local community, and felt very safe.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

This is a great location for visiting Jerusalem. Everything in the old city is walking distance from here. Our room looked out onto the city walls, albeit across a fairly busy road, but traffic was quiet at night.

Unlike a previous reviewer, I found the room clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. There is a computer with internet connection in the lobby for guests to use. The rooms are not large, however, and would benefit from refurbishing. The breakfasts and dinner were good, although choice was limited some days.

We stayed at this hotel for five nights with a tour group and used a room in the basement for meetings.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I just returned from a trip to the Holyland.
My hotel in Jerusalem, Tulip Inn Golden Walls, was very impressive, breakfast was excellent, clean and comfortable.
The location is amazing just outside the old city. You can sit on the roof garden and have a drink with the old city as ur view!!
Above all the staff was helpful and prompt!!

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rob1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The hotel was dirty and overpriced. They advertise ammenities on a number of different travel booking sites that don't exist. They say they have wireless web access and they do...it just doesn't work. The lobby is dingy, worn and in need of a good cleaning. The room was a more serious health risk and the front desk people were grim and unhelpful. We arrived early and they tried to extort an additional night's room charge to allow us an early check in (about two hours early). The entire experience was horrible and we've traveled to over 50 countries on four continents so we have seen lots of different expressions of hospitality. Expedia wouldn't take a review even though our room was booked on their web site (through a colleague and not me personally). The hotel is honestly a slim two-star and they advertise and price themselves as a four-star. The hotel is well-located to the Damascus Gate but in a very dangerous and rough neighborhood. Some cab drivers will not go there. The coffee and breakfast were very good.

  • Liked — the coffee was very good
  • Disliked — It was horrible, just awful and a rip off.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globetravelinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

It is a shame not to praise this hotel as the staff are wonderfull, the food great, and the location for visiting Old Jerusalem couldnt be better. Unfortunately if I am honest, the rooms are a tad on the small side, and the bathrooms on the very small side! Also hot water for bath a rare exception. The location also whilst splendid for visiting also makes it very noisey, as most rooms overlook either the road/bus station/shops etc. Personally I like this hotel very much, mainly because of the staff and also the public areas are very nice as well, so if you are not expecting a lot from your room you will be happy. (if you are in Jerusalem it is unlikely you will be spending that much tim ein your room anyway - too much to see)

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodykibworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Excellent food and staff made me feel very welcome and even asked me to have a drink with them. I could not ffault the accomdation, rooms were very clean but however I was and still am not happy that my group leader was allowed retrieve my passport. and everyone elses. Only the holder must do this. I was also told by a fellow pilgrim that my passport could not be released to me directly but to my group leader first. This is unaccepable

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — could have bigger
  • Tips/Secrets — I would return and recommend this if the passport situation changes
  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank oksanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holy Land Hotel
#59 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#46 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Walls Hotel

Property: Golden Walls Hotel
Address: 17 Sultan Suleiman | Damascus Gate, Jerusalem 9761190, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Walls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel is located in the center of the Holy City. Located just outside the northern city walls, between Damascus and Herod's Gates, our hotel is within walking distance from the most religious, historic and cultural centers.The Golden Walls Hotel is a family-owned business managed by the Pilgrims Palace Hotels Ltd. The Golden Walls Hotel was built in 1964 and run by the late Dr. Rasheed Nashashibi till 1983. It was then known as the Pilgrims Palace Hotel. The Hotel has undergone major renovations throughout the last 10 years. It was expanded twice. A new building was added to the existing to make the total number of rooms 120. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel Jerusalem
Golden Tulip Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing