We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first stop on pilgrimage”
Review of Golden Walls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Walls Hotel
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport Cheshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“first stop on pilgrimage”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Golden Walls from 22nd April. It does not look much from the outside, but once inside you get a warm welcome.
We were in room 215 and I think this was a bit bigger than the ones our fellow pilgrims had.
The shower was the soaking one and after a long day trecking round it was wonderful.
The room was clean and comfortable.
The food...o the food....it was amazing, a really good mix of salads, meats and local dishes...nice puddings too.
We had a good time at the Sultan night!

The staff were polite and friendly and willing to help.

The central position is ideal for exploring the city, as it is placed between the Demascus gate and Herod gate, so easy entry to the old city.

We had a really nice stay

Room Tip: did not see the other rooms, but people made comments that they were quite small, 215 on a corner, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    110
    43
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
41
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great 5 night stay at this hotel in order to visit religious sights around central Jerusalem. Staff are so friendly and eager to help out.

Positives: location to old city, rooftop balcony overlooking old city, friendliness of staff, breakfast/dinner, cleanliness.

Negatives: standard of room although if you go request a room on 3rd floor as these appear to be more modern, noise from road but this is to be expected given the location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckpr201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A modern hotel close to the Old City, overlooking the Damascus Gate, one of the eight entrances to the Old Town of Jerusalem. Our room had recently been refurbished, including new furniture, but the bathroom would have benefited from a more modern shower, rather than running off the bath taps. The restaurant was comfortable and it was advisable to go for breakfast early to avoid large groups arriving together. The Buffet Dinner was excellent with plenty of choices to suit all tastes. The selection of wines could be improved. The staff were friendly and helpful. Each week at dinner there is a Theme Night. While we were there it was Lailet Sultan (The Sultan's Night) where you are invited to get involved with Arabic and Middle Eastern culture and taste Arabic spiced food served by waiters in Palestinian costume. Coffee after dinner was not included but was available to purchase in the lounge.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the side road rather than the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rydal875728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A relatively simple hotel that is experienced at catering for groups. We were 130 people travelling together on a Diocesan pilgrimage! Buffet breakfast and dinner provided a vast variety of options - dinner was particularly good with a different meat/fish available each evening so it never got boring.

The staff were friendly and helpful but the major selling point for this hotel is the location - right opposite the Damascus Gate entrance into the Old City. It was incredibly easy to find your way around town and so, when the time came to be independent from the group, I was confident about finding my way alone.

Rooms are quite simple and lack the luxuries of well-known 4* brands but you don't go to Jerusalem to sit in a hotel room so I'd take location (and decent food) over posh toiletries and a swimming pool any day!

Room Tip: Walls were a bit thin and we had talkative neighbours so I'd recommend taking ear plugs if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessBless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a reasonably priced, clean hotel with good service. Rooms vary, but staff are eager to please and solve any problems.

The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the Old City - just across the road from Damascus Gate - though some rooms can get quite a bit of traffic noise; but that's a small price to pay for such a good location.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napier
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Hotel may look odd on arrival at night with its yellow noen lighting on the exterior, but the very newly renovated room we were given was wonderful. Currently only about six have been completed in this busy hotel, but their contemporary decor with white walls and black stained cabinetry was well set off by the mauve LED striplighting that glowed beneath the beds and from behind the bedhead wall section, creating a surreal look. The modern tiled bathroom with spacious shower was excellent.

However the rest of the hotel at present retains its dated look - somewhat akin to a cross between your granny's place in 1968 and a lounge in a cheaper retirement home.

The breakfasts we had were a disappointment. Tour groups dominated the dining room so that on our second morning we had to sit at a table reserved for one such group as there were no others available to independent guests. Much of the hot food had run out and the four pastries left were bin material.

This hotel is very conveniently located a few hundred metres from the Damascus Gate which was wonderful, but with the breakfasts wanting I have some reservations about recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly redecorated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NapierAro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A very short stroll from this hotel takes you to the Damascus Gate and access to the old walled town of Jerusalem with plenty to explore for pilgrim and tourist alike.
Our room was very clean, very comfortable, albeit basic, but since we were out all day every day that was all we needed. It looked out to a mosque at the back, which meant it was very quiet except for when the faithful were being called to prayer! We learnt that rooms on the front of the hotel could be very noisy at night. The lounge area with bar was extremely comfortable and relaxed, looking over the busy road to the old town walls and Damascus Gate, dramatic at night when floodlit.
The food was amazing - in terms of quality, quantity and variety - no one need go hungry. The buffet spreads cater for all tastes and are vegetarian friendly!
This is a hotel frequented by coach loads of pilgrims (as were we) so single travellers may not like it so much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if a quiet night's sleep is more important than a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleanorStoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holy Land Hotel
#59 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#46 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Walls Hotel

Property: Golden Walls Hotel
Address: 17 Sultan Suleiman | Damascus Gate, Jerusalem 9761190, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Walls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel is located in the center of the Holy City. Located just outside the northern city walls, between Damascus and Herod's Gates, our hotel is within walking distance from the most religious, historic and cultural centers.The Golden Walls Hotel is a family-owned business managed by the Pilgrims Palace Hotels Ltd. The Golden Walls Hotel was built in 1964 and run by the late Dr. Rasheed Nashashibi till 1983. It was then known as the Pilgrims Palace Hotel. The Hotel has undergone major renovations throughout the last 10 years. It was expanded twice. A new building was added to the existing to make the total number of rooms 120. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel Jerusalem
Golden Tulip Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing