We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David sara nigel en marianka”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
“David sara nigel en marianka”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

we just hat a wonderfull time in this hotel we feeld like king david and prinsses sara even our mum and dad normally our serving staff hat some nice days of becaus of the wonderfull peolpe woking her

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsara0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    364
    130
    58
    37
See reviews for
355
360
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The hotel's location and service were its strong points. The staff were extremely pleasant & helpful in every way. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. The views from the lobby bar / lounge area were wonderful. The large pool was a welcome respite after a day's sightseeing. The nearby Lavan restaurant was good value for both lunch or dinner. For more of a treat use the nearby Hachatzer restaurant. The Old City is only a 10 minute walk away. For our 4 days of touring we used a Palestinian Christian guide, Sam Salem ( guide.holy@gmail.com ) who was excellent, is good value for money and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Nicely maintained in a fantastic location with a really great pool, spa and steam room. Beautiful views from some rooms (ours was spectacular) and from the lobby lounge. Staff is very friendly. Service is good, not fantastic, but really OK. Breakfast is AMAZING. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Lobby is large, comfortable and accessible. Few minutes from the old city and a few minutes walk from the German Colony with lots of great restaurants to choose from. There is a 24/7 general store just 5 minutes from the hotel - very convenient. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffjaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The Old City feel of this historic hotel is worth the stay. Gorgeous view of Mt. Olives, very old Turkish bath & remarkable breakfast buffet (w/exception of wait staff) fulfilled my
expectations. However, we had to always request extra amenities for bathroom. And we
waited 4 days for them to come and fix a wobbling toilet seat. Service industry is not Israel's strong point in general and this proved it. Also, two nights in a row, our top sheets were missing from our beds. Very questionable maid service.

Location is walking distance to Jaffa Gate and shopping in Mamila, etc.

We would return to this charming place, but there is no free wi-fi! It is $10 for a 24 hr. period.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RulaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
380 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel was more than the sum of its parts.

Depending on what you are looking for - this hotel might work really well or might not meet your needs.

We traveled with extended family. The rooms really varied. Some rooms felt like they were built into old walls. Our room was not particularly interesting.

The shower water was fine - but the shower itself was uncomfortable getting into in our room.

So why did I list this as excellent. The location was great. 15 minute walk to Zion Gate. 15 minutes from some nice restaurants in the Germany Colony area. Across the street from the Begin Historical Center.

The spa had very good massages - but also had included a giant turkish bath available to all hotel guests. Plus the hotel pool was dramatic and nice.

The front desk was helpful on their recommendations.

It was also a unique hotel - it didn't feel like a cookie cutter chain hotel.

The breakfast wasn't as good as breakfast in some other Israeli hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Where do I begin. Let’s start with we took two rooms in the hotel (they upgraded one of the rooms..more like downgraded) THE ROOM SMELLED OF MOLD OR SEWAGE!!!.We begged to switch the room and they said they were full. We were supposed to be there for 6 nights and left after 4 because we couldn’t take it!!! The mini bars/fridge DIDNT WORK. My daughter got a nasty rash from sleeping in the bed . They had the “engineer” come and empty some sewage pipe of some sort which was next to the room and change the filter in the AC unit that still didn’t work. Then the answer from the management was to send housekeeping and housekeeping literally came with a bottle of fabreeze and sprayed 4 little sprays. The front desk was rude Hannan just brushed it off and Samuel Shoham was an Pompous Moron who need to learn what it means to be in the hospitality industry. The AC barely worked(not fun in the summer in Israel!!). The furnishing are worn down, the bathrooms are very old. My son was at the pool which was ok; he comes to me with his foot dripping blood he stepped on glass at the pool...so did another kid the next day. I would NEVER recommend anyone stay at this hotel it is a 2.5 star at best!!! I had told mngmt of all the problems from day one they ended up giving me one night for each room off( I told them I should not have had to pay for the room that had a sewage /mold issue, but just for the room that didn’t have a sewage smell) Irit Gazit the manager was rude and also MUST go to school to learn how to be in the hospitality business. We stayed at 5 different hotels during our trip(including the Leonardo in Jerusalem) and all were great with the exception of the Mount Zion. If you are considering staying at the mount Zion I would tell you are better off sleeping in Gaza.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelingman1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

While other hotels in Jerusalem have an international feel about them and would not be out of place in any other city in the World, the Mount Zion Hotel has a special charm all of its own. We arrived from the airport at about 4.30 in the morning and our room was ready and waiting for us. with a view towards the walls of the Old City as the sun rose. What else could we ask for? A delightful breakfast each morning, sometimes in the air conditioned breakfast room and sometimes on the open terrace. A sort walk from the restaurants and coffee shops in the German Colony and an equally short walk past the Sultan's Pool and up the steep pathway into the Old City itself through the Zion Gate.
A special mention for Michal, one of the reception staff, who took the time to help me reactivate my Israeli cellphone that had not been used for some time. It was thanks to her that Orange eventually let me use my old number again. Thanks Michal!
Beware of many of the taxi drivers who treat all guests from the hotel as 'friers' who should be taken for as much money as possible. Always insist that they switch on their meters and if they won't, just get out of the cab and wait for one that will. Check what they charge you on the meter receipt. Don't pay any supposed 'telephone request charge' that they put on if the hotel didn't call the cab for you.
Also, why does the hotel, like other hotels in Israel, insist on charging exorbitant amounts for wifi access? If you want wifi for free just go up to Emek Refaim in the German Colony, buy a coffee and browse to your hearty's content as part of the service.
Apart from the grouse about wifi access, if you want a beautiful, warm and welcoming hotel as your base for a visits to the Holy Sites, choose the Mount Zion. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superpharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,307 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,740 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing