We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“coach roach haven !!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
294 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“coach roach haven !!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We did not knowingly book this hotel. It was part of our Gate One travel package. Gate one rated it as 4 stars . We were there for four nights. Our friends on the same tour had recently refurbished rooms - our room was dirty, old, had chipped nasty furniture in it, mold all over the shower fixtures, and bird poop all over our "balcony" outside. Tried to get it changed but were told to come back tomorrow when people checked out - explained we were on a tour and we wouldn't be there when people were checking out- front desk said - manager will contact you - THAT NEVER HAPPENED ... tried again – but hotel was “booked.”

But, even dirty I could deal with- what I couldn't handle was the roach that ran across the table at breakfast. Then, on my way back to my room, I saw a few more dead roach carcasses. The entire time we were there, they never even bothered to clean the dead bodies from the stairwells.

Pros it's within walking distance to the Old town - and : they did have great breakfasts - maybe the roaches got mixed into the food during the night and that's why they were so tasty ? :) However, their dinners and the food at the bar were expensive and lackluster.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldtc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    354
    129
    56
    37
See reviews for
346
348
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

The hotel location excellent. 20 minute walk to the Jewish quarter of the old city and
to west Jerusalem. We stayed there for a week.
Beautiful decorated oriental rooms, and fabulous swimming pool.
Cons : rude staff at the reception desk, and for breakfast.
badly washed , chipped coffee cups. When we ordered an evening meal
the food was not up to standard. The head waiter whispered in my ear for a tip !
Should find out for better hotel deals in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnym127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Althought I consult reviews on TripAdvisor regularly, I rarely feel compelled to write a review, but our stay at The Mount Zion Hotel overlooking the Old City in Jerusalem was exceptional. From our first spectacular views of the Old City through the lovely arched windows, continuing into the well-appointed rooms, and breathtaking pool area, we were delighted to be guests of this special hotel. Breakfasts were delicious and robust (mind-boggling selections at the buffet - and all wonderful and fresh!), and the location is the best in Jerusalem. We loved sunsets and sunrises there, and the calm and beauty that the hotel offers guests. This was a particularly important trip for my family - it was celebrating our 13 year-old daughter's Bat Mitzvah at the Western Wall - and my husband, daughter, 10-year old son and I all agreed that this was our most favorite of all the many properties we have stayed with in Jerusalem. The staff was friendly and helpful, and Michal at the front-desk was always a delight! I strongly recommend the Mount Zion Hotel to my friends and business colleagues! I can't wait to stay there again and again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was the only boutique hotel we stayed in during our visit to Israel, and it was quite nice overall.

Typical to Israel, staff at the property ranged from outright surly (when we checked in) to superb (helping us deal with a rental car debacle on our check out day).

One word of caution - the taxi area in front of the hotel has some pretty aggressive cab drivers, even by Middle Eastern standards. The hotel occasionally reins them in, but be prepared to run through a phalanx of them when you go in and out the front door. They will also remember you each and every time you depart and do the normal sales pitch. It is good preparation for walking through the Old City shops. :)

The location is absolutely magnificent - you have stellar views out on to the old city of Jerusalem, and you are only 15 minutes walking distance to the Jaffa gate and Tower of David Museum. This is perhaps one of the best features of the hotel, which you realize as you quickly walk past thousands of tour buses sitting in traffic on their way around the area to see the sites.

The hotel itself is formerly a late 19th century British hospital, later destroyed by the Turks. The property renovation is very tastefully done and the hotel does a good job of incorporating its past into the current property. The lobby is nice (though a bit small) with a small bar area where you can get cocktails and light snacks and enjoy the view. This was a very nice end to a day of sightseeing in the Old City.

Our room was on the first floor and had a great view. The room itself I found somewhat more spartan than what I was expecting - though the tilework in the bathroom was charming. There was no clock or alarm clock in the room (second hotel in Israel with this?). A/C worked well and the beds were comfortable. There was complimentary dried fruits and candy, which were very good.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was served in a lovely dining room (Rimon Hall). The food was excellent, with quite a few organic options. Produce in Israel is phenomenal overall, so I doubt anyone could be disappointed with the offerings. Rimon Hall is gorgeous and a great setting for breakfast.

We didn't have time to enjoy the pool, but in looking at it seemed very nice, albeit smaller than some. It does get tons of direct hot Israeli sun, which might explain why it was empty in the early afternoon.

There is a decent restaurant a short walking distance down the street located in a cinema (can't remember the name of it). If you walk out of the hotel and go down on your right, you are right there.

Highly recommend the property - another plus, despite seeming fully booked, it is always very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

The rooms at the Mount Zion Hotel are similar to those in other parts of Israel -- two beds pushed together to make a king bed, large bathroom, television, phone, individually controlled air conditioning. What makes it special are the views from the lobby and restaurant, the large lap swimming pool and surrounding lounge area, the jacuzzi and the spa. The two of us both had extraordinary massages after a day of lounging around at the pool. The buffet breakfast is plentiful, with varieties of salads, cheeses, breads and pastries, juices and coffees or tea. Every day but Saturday there is a fellow making omelets, waffles or pancakes. We would not recommend the evening buffet - overpriced for very small selection and unfriendly service. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk (mostly uphill) to the old city.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Mount zion is an overvaluated hotel : very unpleasant service, older rooms that need renovation, VERY NOISY. Be careful because not all rooms look like on the pictures and most of the rooms are much dull and smaller. We booked a room for 3 and when we arrived they gave us a room for 2 with rollaway bed too small for 3 to move around. Otherwise breakfast and swiming pool are nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvestreParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Good points: the view and proximity to the Old City, the staff, the breakfast buffet, the pool, the charm of the building, the general atmosphere.
Bad points: no free internet.

Don´t stay here if you want a fashionable, trendy, ultramodern, glitzy place.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MireneQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#7 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing