We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what it offers”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it offers”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed for three nights, for the price of nearly $300/night the rooms could have used a makeover. The hotel itself was originally a hospital, and made into a hotel many years ago. While the rooms were disappointing, the breakfast buffet was "super good", charming with outside seating (beware of birds pilfering your food!). The pool was excellent. And, the staff was always willing to help, no problems encountered at all. The location is about a 15 minute walk to the old city, not easy if the heat and sun are factors. Be sure to take along water, and to pace yourself with multiple stops along the way, up and down hills, if you aren't used to such heat. A tip- nearby, in the opposite direction to the old city, is a converted railroad station mall that has options for dining and music on certain nights. As a base for touring, there is a free parking lot across the street from the hotel. Rooms were clean, and the views are memorable. Being built on the side of a hill, the lobby is at the top, with rooms and the pool on lower floors. I would rate this as being $100/night too expensive for the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorikiri_from_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review. We recently completed refurbishing our guest rooms which included changing the carpet, the mattresses, bed linen, curtains and the lamps and, therefore, we were sorry to read that you felt the rooms were in need of refurbishment. However, factors such as seasonal demand, location and view affect the room rates of a hotel and we believe that during the month of June our rates are reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    364
    130
    58
    37
See reviews for
355
360
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed for one night for my birthday.
It was a Friday and they agreed to let us check out the next day at 5 in the afternoon on Saturday which is exceptionally kind and made it a long holiday.
The view of the old city is beutiful but most rooms do not enjoy it. The swiming pool is very nice.
Although it is rather expensive, it was worth for a unique birthday celebration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for writing a review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read that you chose to celebrate your birthday at the Mount Zion and that your stay, though short, was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is in a most beautiful setting with wonderful views of the Old City. Our room was lovely.We chose the hotel because of the pool, as I am a swimmer. Before leaving the UK, a friend told me that I would be unable to swim before 9 am. I always swim before breakfast, so I e-mailed to ask if this would be possible. They said NO. I should have cancelled at that point, but thought they would make some special arrangement for a guest who had come there especially for that facility. All they would do was make an arrangement with a hotel more than 10 mins walk away, whose pool opened at 6.30 a.m( a normal time). Because I had appointments and had to leave before 9, I was hardly able to use the pool at all. I was so unhappy that it made me critical of other things: the breakfast was very ordinary and the bath products were nasty and made in China when they should have been showcasing Dead Sea products. I would never go there again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Old City
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEAL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review which although it clearly addressed your disappointment was quite unfair. You most wisely inquired prior to your arrival if the pool could be opened early each morning instead of 9:00am and received a negative reply. However,after your telephone call the hotel went out of its way to find an alternative arrangement. As you mention,you did not cancel your reservation but chose to stay with us and try on site to change the opening time to suit your personal needs.We maintained our position offering the alternative arrangement instead which we were sorry to read left you unhappy and critical of other things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A really nice hotel on Mount Zion overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem, It has fabulous views . Situated near to the old railway station and a short walk from the Windmill. The service and food are excellent and the pool facilities and gardens are top rate.
Not cheap but well worth staying at.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view of the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We very much appreciated the overall acknowledgement and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Hotel is in a stunning location with a breath-taking view but what a shame about the place itself. it needs renovating from top to toe and even the renovated rooms need modernising.

The dining room was more like an improverished soup kitchen and the food - well where does one start? Cordon Bleu or nouvelle cuisine it was not. It looked unappetising and tasted the same. The staff were friendly but poorly trained and they look dirty. All in all a 2 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyflowerofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations and that other than the location and view you were clearly disappointed with the hotel. Your comment regarding our dining room and the meals served seemed particularly harsh and although we regret the negative experience we found it to be unwarranted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I look forward to writing a 5 star review of this wonderfully situated hotel. The views from the property- of the Old City and the valleys nearby- are simply unlike anywhere else in Jerusalem. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The lobby is lively, the pool is beautiful. The wifi is free and excellent. We didnt use the spa/hammam, but they seemed great.

But the place needs an upgrade. The towels by the pool, the shower curtain, the carpeting- all just need to be brought into the 21 century. The bed was fine, but nothing special. The shower worked well, but seemed old. The elevators are tiny and slow. Just little things here and there that need attention.

If the management really invested in an overhaul of the property (and I'm sure some rooms are newer than others, ours certainly had not been renovated in a while) it would be unbeatable, in my opinion, given the location and views.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view but note that the lobby/ground floor is actually the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to write one. We found your feedback to be constructive and believe that at least some of the points you mention will be rectified. We too hope the time will come when we receive only five star reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a barmitzvah. Basic but adequate rooms. Perfect location for walking to the old city of Jerusalem. Lovely grounds. Lovely hotel decor. Great pool. Amazing hamam and massage spa. Lovely service. Great breakfasts. I'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobbybray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read of the different aspects of your stay that you appreciated and of your intention to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,307 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,740 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing