We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel was outdated in the rooms and the staff left something to be desired. Food was extremely overpriced. Closei-ish to downtown, but not truly close, especially in the rain! Overall. Wasn't too impressed and would look for an alternate hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy Geneeral Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in our hotel which we understand left you unimpressed. We regret that the location and style were not to your liking, that the staff "left something to be desired" and that you found the food over-priced. We hope that on your next visit to Jerusalem the sun will shine...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was a nice hotel. A little strange as it is built on a mountain and you go down to get to your room. A little unique. Food was very good. Full buffet breakfast, Not close to any eating places.
Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iralgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay but are sorry that you left with the impression that the hotel is located "not too close to any eating places".
The front desk staff would have been happy to recommend any one of the six restaurants located in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Perhaps on your next visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent but outdated 70'ies hotel with pretty incompetent front desk when it comes too excursions. Poor advise on how to get to Bethlehem. Rooms a bit run down. TV has hardly any international stations. Staff speaks English. Excellent breakfast. Noisy street with obnoxious taxi drivers, but take bus 21/24. Spa or Hammam overpriced. Internet a Bit clumsy and slow but free. Not sure if recommendable.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 3HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret any poor service you recieved but appreciate your feedback which we recognize as constructive criticism. We charge reasonable prices for treatments in our Spa while our guests enjoy complimentary use of the Hammam, jaccuzzi and fitness center. Since you also use the word "excellent" in your review we hope you will recommend our hotel and choose to return when next in Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Recently stayed in this hotel on a business trip with my husband and had a great experience. The decor is very clean and Middle Eastern in appearance. The rooms are large and ours had recently been renovated with a large bathroom with all the amenities. The lobby is large and airy with great views, and has a nice little bar at one end that serves cocktails and appetizers/salads from the kitchen. The staff was very helpful with cabs and restaurant advice…there are two restaurants within an easy five minute walk…one in a Cineplex building and the other in a converted railroad station…both were great. There is an incredible breakfast buffet within the hotel that is not to be missed. Two points to bare in mind…the hotel sits near the top of a hill, so you actually walk down into its lobby, and there are several flights of stairs once inside between floors, the dining room, etc. I loved the exercise, but it might be a challenge from others. Secondly, the beds were not great…I think a firmer mattress and better sheets would be a huge plus. That being said, my husband and I stayed at the David, a much trendier/costly hotel and would choose this because of its lovely ambience and proximity to Old Jerusulem.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read that your experience at the Mount Zion was a positive one but were sorry if you were not informed of the location of the three elevators that serve all six floors. Since rooms located in the older section of the building also require taking stairs we recommend our handicapped guests to request a room that can be reached by elevator alone .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I'm a regular traveler to Jerusalem for business but this is my first time at the Mt. Zion, which is a short cab ride from my organization's main office.

This is a lovely old building with incredible views of the Old City, large rooms and a very Middle-Eastern feel. I enjoyed just walking through the halls and gazing out the various windows. I had a business meeting in the lobby and the only problem was focusing on my guest, as she was sitting in a chair with a stunning view behind her.

The rooms are comfortable, I had a large bathtub accessed up a flight of steps as in a movie, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I think they should upgrade the linens on the bed, the bottom sheet felt thin and scratchy over some sort of plastic, and that's about the only thing I could find wrong except that the bathroom had some partially-used products left behind in it, meaning it wasn't that well-cleaned before my arrival. The private patio off my room was a plus.

Be aware that this is almost comically NOT disabled-friendly. I couldn't get my large suitcase down the stairs to my room by myself and for the first time in a while needed a bellman. The hotel is built on a lot of levels with a lot of steps and that's part of the charm, but you won't even make it to breakfast if you can't climb a few stairs. (That breakfast is excellent, btw.)

All in all, why stay in a chain or some modern minimalist boutique when you can feel like you're really in Jerusalem? I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 551 is huge and has its own patio...thank you MZ for upgrading a tired American to this nice sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that you appreciated the style of the hotel, that you enjoyed your stay and would gladly return. We would, however, like to clarify that we do have rooms suitable for the disabled and the two steps required to reach the dining room can be converted into a ramp for those of our guests that use a wheelchair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I just spent a wonderful 5 nights with several friends at the Mount Zion. Many rooms have undergone recent refurbishment and the hotel has a relaxed and friendly feel. Staff were courteous and very helpful. The breakfast is truly outstanding with choices for the most discerning traveller.
Pros: location, price, friendly staff, cleanliness.

Cons: not all rooms have good city views

Summary: we'll certainly be back. An excellent hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We greatly appreciate you having taken the time to write a review and for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay and that you would gladly return. It gives us both pleasure and satisfaction.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I was on a trip to Jerusalem at night and needed a place to stay during the day... I usually love this hotel... But instead of getting the good days sleep I had planned... Construction was going on in the room beside or above me and even though I complained nothing was done!!!
I love this hotel but because of this I don't know if they will see me again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Nus111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We were sorry to learn from your review that on a recent visit to our hotel you were unable to rest during the day as you had planned, because of "construction". It is quite true that we have been refurbishing our guest rooms but we would have expected our front desk, after hearing your complaint, to have offered to move you to a quieter area. For this lack of service we offer our sincere apologies and hope that you will, nevertheless, consider returning when you next stay in Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,364 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,054 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#12 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,509 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#34 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $191 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing