We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LITTLE GEM” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel some years ago. Changes, yes and for the better. We had a standard room looking out on to a pretty inner courtyard (although many of the other rooms have stunning view of the Old City of Jerusalem). The room was a good size, and clearly recently renovated, except for the bathroom, which did need updating. Everything required was supplied in the room and upon arrival we were greeting with a pleasant smile and extreme efficiency from the all the staff.
On the down side, there is virtually no parking outside the hotel and therefore guests are required to leave their vehicles in the public carpark across the road and unless you call the porter, take their own luggage across a very busy thoroughfare.
Still, the courtesy, warm atmosphere and stunning views from this boutique hotel, made up for any drawbacks that the hotel may have.
Would we return, without a doubt.

Room Tip: The hotel is built on the site of an old eye hospital and as it is situated on the side of a valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carjohn2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your warm comments and for taking the time to write a review. We were of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope you will visit us again very shortly..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    346
    129
    56
    36
See reviews for
334
340
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our first time to Jerusalem with our two sons, 9 and 12. We spent 3 nights there. The view from the lobby with lots of comfy seats was beautiful. It was easy walking out the door and towards the Old City as well as to Mamilla. Looked like there were some interesting locations right around the hotel too, but we ran out of time to explore everything. Breakfast was absolutely amazing, the best I have had anywhere. The rooms were clean and large, the welcome snacks a nice touch. Most of the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I did get one or two who were not. The internet was a bit of a pain, as you needed to get a password for each device (that would be 3 computers, an ipad, 2 phones etc. for us) and then change that password every 24 hours. Otherwise it worked good. There was free parking right near the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esthermaria001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that you appreciated the location of our hotel, the views and the breakfast and that you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding the password for internet access, please note that there is no longer any need to have it renewed during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We live in Jerusalem and although we know the city by heart, it is always a pleasure to have a vacation in that amazing hotel. The rooms are great, food is excellent and the atmosphere is spiritual and tranquil.It is very close to all of Jerusalem attractions.Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the old building is gorgeous, but more expensive. Try the executive suites which contains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We are delighted that as a Jerusalemite you choose to stay with us from time to time and that you find our hotel to be "amazing".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel. Everything was ok. It has a fantastic view and a good location: We could go to the antique city by walk.
Breakfast was very complete.
It has a public parking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Jerusalem and that you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
378 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic view, only in Jerusalem. But, its the hotel we're interested here :
Shabby room, friendly staff however leaves you to carry yr luggage via its endless corridors. Food ok, eventhough kosher. They say that its the Jerusalem syndrome. I would not return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ybhk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you did not appreciate the style of our hotel but you may be interested to learn that we are in the proccess of refurbishing our guest rooms, which will also include a change of soft furnishings,, due to be completed by the end of March. Perhaps, as a result you will choose to return when next in Jerusalem....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is being marketed as a boutique hotel while it is not ...
The location is great and you can walk to many places around the hotel, rooms are nice with beautiful view, service is fair and breakfast was also very nice.
We tried to schedule a massage 4 days before getting there but there were no available hours for us...:(
altogether it's a nice place with reasonable price to spend a night at the holy city

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilay-TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed your stay and that you will choose to return when next planning an overnight visit to the Holy city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I would call the hotel OK, the rum a 4 bathroom a 3 and we did not have the amazing view towards the walley, but I would still recommend this hotel. An easy 15 minutes walk to the old city, upphill on the way there but what do you expect in the hilly Jerusalem. The breakfast was pricy (28 USD) but you can take an easy walk to the old trainstation and get an amazing breakfast for less than half the price. And another suggestion. If you do not want to take the busride to Tel Aviv to the airport it cost 350 shekel by taxi. We had some problems with taxi drivers who did not want to you use the taximeter so made up a deal the day before our departure with a driver and agreed on the price ahead. He was there promptly as agreed. The trip is 45 minutes drive in good traffic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gablietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you are able to recommend our hotel to others and glad to have the opportunity of informing you that both rooms and bathrooms are in the proccess of being refurbished.. We hope to have completed the project by mid -March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing