We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not great value, good location”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
379 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not great value, good location”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel before in the summer. The hotel lobby seemed more crowded as there weren't outdoor spaces such as the pool and outside seating to spread the crowd.

The hotel internet is free in the lobby while there is a charge in the rooms.

The location is good - as its walkable both to the old city as well as within a mile or so of the railway restaurant area and other restaurant districts.

The shower was poor for such an expensive hotel. The water went all over the floor.

The breakfast was good but not great. I don't know how much of that has to do with seasonabilty of the fresh foods.

The Hamam is wonderful. It it large and hot. But you don't need to stay at the hotel to use the Hamam, they have day passes. Other than the Hamam the spa facilities are not much.

We had previously visited the Begin museum- so one negative of staying in a hotel a second time is you have previously done some of the nearby activities.

All in all, I think this is a good choice for a hotel. However, it is a relatively expensive choice. I think I would try and stay in a different part of the city next time I visited Jerusalem, particularly in the winter when you don't get to use their outdoor pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry to read that you had trouble with the shower head and were inconvenienced but can only assume that you did not inform the reception and ask for it to be replaced. We are happy,however, to inform you that since the
1st. January the hotel offers free WIFI throughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    360
    129
    57
    37
See reviews for
348
356
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

we spent a day at the hotel spa and we have only good words.
the jakuzi and the rest area has a beautiful view of the old city and the area, and so is the loby and rooms
there is hamam wich is very big and oriental decoration.
Avi, the manager of the spa is fascinating.
the treatment we took was very pleasant and professional.
the hotel has a Unique atmosphere and located in front of the walls of the old city. it is also a walking distance from "hamoshava hagermanit" & "hatachana" where are Restaurants and Cafes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent visit to our Spa. We were of course delighted to read that it was a positive experience and that you enjoyed yourselves and hope you will visit us again very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I spend about one night every month in Jerusalem (we live in Haifa). We usually stay at the Prima Royale, which we like a lot, but last week it was booked solid so we went to the (more expensive) Mt Zion. Given that it is on a very busy street,and parking (when available) is in a public lot across that street, the hotel is not all that convenient for those who come by car. It is situated in a beautifully restored old building across the Valley of Ben Hinom (=Gehinom = Hell) from Mt Zion, with spectacular views from many rooms and all public places. The breakfast (not included in our room fee!) was in no way unusual for Israeli hotels, and the room, while certainly attractive, was bound to be very noisy when even slightly full (stone walls, mirrors, no sound absorbing fabrics at all).
Complaints: our large room smelled of fresh paint; I left a hat and scarf behind, wrote a note on the hotel's website, and called; no response - goodbye hat and scarf.
During the summer months the hotel pool is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menachem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for writing a review in Trip Advisor. We were glad that you enjoyed the view from the hotel and sorry if you found the room noisy. With regards your hat and scarf we apologize for not having returned your call and request that you kindly call again with the details so that we may determine whether they were found or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights recently (3rd visit in the hotel) The location, the rooms and the views are unmatched. I recommend the upgraded rooms for superior experience. Each of the rooms is somewhat different. Our room was a suite of a bedroom aliving space and amaizing tarrace overlooking the old city walls. The Staff was exceptionaly helpful and friendly starting from the hotel manager and down to everyone we were in touch with.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend the suits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mordechai I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted to read that you still enjoy returning to our hotel and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Very Good Location, Just 10 min. Walk to Jaffa gate (Old City),Good Breakfast everyday, stayed 4 days. People are Friendly, The view of the Old City at night is wonderful, The security of the hotel was so helpful. It is 5 min. Walk to the old train station which was converted to a very nice restaurants and museum.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer1putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We were pleased to read that the location and breakfast was to your liking and that the staff were friendly and helpful and we hope you also enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here with a group. Staff very helpful; nice rooms; excellent breakfast buffet. The location is very good for walking to the street that is open on Saturday nights. Tripadvisor wants a longer review so blah, blah, blah, blah.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you and your group enjoyed your stay and that perhaps, should you visit Jerusalem in the future, you will choose to stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend in December. The personnel is polite, available and efficient. The hotel is conveniently close to the old city, and the view is beautiful. The rooms are average and clean. Beds are average. Overall, a fun experience. Recommended.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and being able to recommend our hotel to future travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing