We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Zion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windmill Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveler rating
550
398
149
63
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
398
149
63
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkish batheye hospitaloutdoor jacuzziold cityjaffa gatesteam roomtrain stationstone wallsminute walkbeautiful hotelemek refaimbar mitzvahgerman colonywithin walking distancebit datedan upgradehot dishes
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My favorite hotel in Jerusalem and I go frequently! I love the authentic feel, the beautiful antiques, fascinating corners, exceptional view, and great food. It is not like all the other cookie cutter hotels which could be anywhere. there is also a wonderful museum right in the hotel. It is an undiscovered secret bonus! The spa/hamam is also great fun and authentic. One criticism is that the exercise room should open earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for Old City view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read that you frequently stay at the Mount Zion as its your favorite hotel in Jerusalem and we hope you will continue do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

From the street this unassuming one story stone building would be easy to overlook. Inside is a very comfortable hotel with a great view of Old Jerusalem. The hotel is built into the hillside with the lobby on the top floor and several floors of rooms below. The courtyard and gardens behind the hotel are lovely.

Start your day with an amazing Israeli breakfast. The buffet includes a large selection of salads, fruits, pastries and cheeses. There is an omelet station for those that want a more familiar breakfast. All were well prepared and delicious.

You can walk to the old walled city in 20 - 25 minutes. There is a pedestrian bridge within a block of the hotel. The nearby Cinematheque is 2 minutes away and has an excellent cafe named Lavan. The Old Train Station is a few blocks away and has several eateries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted to read that you appreciated the location, style and comfort of our hotel and hope you will choose to stay with us again when next in Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a 2 nights stay at Mount Zion. Hotel is on the downside of a hill side, with the reception being on the top floor and the rooms on lower floors. decent size rooms. some rooms are with small balconies as well. nice view of the city from most of the hotel locations. hotel offers free wifi in the lobby, but chargeable in the rooms. good breakfast spread. good location. it was a good overall stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajatBMumbai (Bombay)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in which you write that it was a good overall stay. We hope you also enjoyed your visit and that you will choose to return to the Mount Zion when next in Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife & I went there for a day of retreat. It was like going back in time to Ottoman Empire Jerusalem. We loved every minute of it.
We had a twin massage session scheduled for 11:00; we got there at 10:30, found a free, public parking space right opposite the hotel. Built on the mountain side, the hotel lobby is on the top floor and the rooms are under it. We went down to the spa compound and settled there. Undressed, put on bath robes had herbal infusion and waited for the masseuses. They came in on time introduced themselves and ushered us into the massaging room with a large whirlpool bath and two massage beds.
The massage was one of the best i ever got and my wife who's a highly esteemed
Physiotherapist thought so as well.
After an hour of a great massage they left us all by ourselves in the candle lit room and we slipped into the bathtub for a long relaxing wash.
we than moved to the Turkish Hammam which was great and then to the showers and restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HaimKess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for the warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed the experience of our Spa and hope you will soon return for another day of retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is located in an old part of town. The Mount Zion Hotel requires some serious upgrades. Restaurants are sometimes far. In Jerusalem many streets are quite old, made of stone, and Jerusalem is hilly which makes it difficult to get around. We had an upgraded room if it was a suite but it was dusty and unused. To get to our room we took an elevator, then we walked thru a patio and a minimum of 45 steps to our suite. The suite was charming, very old, with an outside patio. No upgrades, it looked like no one had used the suite in a long time. We checked the suite every night to see what items were not replaced ie. towels, soap, toilet paper. The staff was very accommodating and after we called the items were delivered right away. The bed was made with only one sheet (the bottom sheet.) No sheet was placed under the quilt. All beds at the hotel are made the same way. We were at the hotel 5 nights. The second morning we were both coughing and noticed the pillows were dusty. I looked at the quilt and it looked very dusty. I went to the front desk and requested the bed be changed. The asked me if I wanted everything on the bed changed. My answer was yes. I was told it was going to take a long time, and they wanted to know how long were we going to be out of the room. That night everything was clean. The following day we found that a dirty pillow that had been sitting on the floor had been placed on the clean bed as decoration. For two nights the air conditioner was not working, and it created some difficulty breathing. We called it in. After three hours the maintenance person could not get the A/C to run. He was finally advised to wash the filters, and that seemed to solve the problem. Maintenance is poor, and the standards are lower than I expected. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, and service was excellent. We had our Friday night meal at the hotel and it was excellent. Very tasty food, nicely spiced and prepared.

Room Tip: No tips, we tried to get a good room. Our room was a charming antique.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry to read that you did not appreciate the location or the original building that dates back to the 1880's and we wonder if you enquired at the Reception regarding the restaurants, as there are at least seven in the immediate vicinity, between 7-10 minutes walk away, and there are more if you allow 10-15 minutes. We are not sure from your description which suite you occupied but we can safely say that no room or suite in our establishment requires 45 steps to reach it. Further, no sheet is placed under the quilt because the quilt itself is inserted in an eiderdown cover which is replaced each time the bottom sheet and pillow cases are changed. We regret the problem with the airconditioner but were pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and Friday night dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews