We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerusalem's hidden gem”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jerusalem's hidden gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times-Its quaint, boutique like, great view of the Old City, steps to walk there, really charming if you like Old Jerusalem, and a good location. The service is wonderful they really aim to please, especially with repeat visits. The suites are really lovely, they have a lot of old charm and heritage, very spacious, some with huge, huge patios. The food is good, the Turkish spa is wonderful, the garden is stunning, the pool nice, the view of the Old City awesome. We also made a Bar Mitzvah there 3 years ago, supurb and memorable-from the little shul to the charming simcha/banquet halls. They were most helpful with everything. Can't say enough especially about the admin staff they are tops, warm like family and most caring, concerned and helpful.

Room Tip: 555 and any of the 700's excellent charming spacious rooms/suites. (I only stayed in the superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted to know that you appreciate the facilities and the service the hotel provides and that you enjoyed your recent stay as much as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    360
    129
    57
    37
See reviews for
348
356
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We were at this hotel for several nights while visiting the Jerusalem area. This hotel is quite pleasant....not a five star but more than adequate. The staff was most helpful and gracious, in fact Ahmed, a desk attendant used his personal cell phone to make a call for me to the US! It's centrally located and us within walking distance to shopping, dining and some sightseeing. Free wifi in the lobby only but you can purchase wifi for your room for $10 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased that you found the location of our hotel convenient and our staff helpful and very much hope you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

the hotel is close to the Jaffa gate of the old city - about a 10 minute walk. it is also close to the old railway station where there are several good restaurants with outdoor patios.

the breakfast is amazing, lots of choice and everything is fresh.

the room we had (room 642) was huge and had a nice view of the old city and the Mount of Olives. Housekeeping did not do the best in cleaning the room each day as dirty glasses and cups were not attended to. not a major deal though.

the fitness centre was tired and the equipment was dated big time. An upgrade is sorely needed there. the pool was a nice size but unfortunately the water was too cold.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddleballdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback of your recent visit and in particular the constructive criticism you offer but very much hope that you were nevertheless able to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Most high end hotels in Jerusalem are essentially devoid of character...you could be in Washington DC or Buenos Aires...but not if you stay at the Mount Zion. It is the only hotel in my experience in Jerusalem that is truly genuine Jerusalem...the view is fabulous...you are "thisclose" to the Old City walls...the pool is large and relaxing...a diverse and interesting clientele...very good and plentiful food...management is lovely and accommodating...my nephew's bar mitzvah was held there last sunday....easiest event I have helped plan in a long time-- due to the warmth and ease of dealing with the staff. My three teenagers especially appreciated the free lobby wifi.

Room Tip: Suites are in a separate wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChavieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We are delighted that you found the "Jerusalem experience" of our hotel to your liking and that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return when next in jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We got great rates through expedia.
The breakfast is great (on weekdays...).
The spa and the pool are very nice.
The hotel has a great locatiob. It is veri intimate, but still suitable for the kids.
The rooms are not in great shape, and could definately use a rennovation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taliitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased that you appreciated the atmosphere and charm of our hotel and trust you enjoyed your stay. We also hope you will be making a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is tired and dirty. Room carpet dirty, bathroom old and grungy. Never enough towels, even when asked for. Buffet style food. No waiter service. You can eat breakfast indoors or outside on the patio, but be careful outside, the crows land on the tables and drink the milk left out for coffee and pull the sugar out of the holders. While this might be cute it is not very clean. When we complained they told me that we should eat inside. {Is this an answer?) Bed so so. Do not have comfortable chairs to sit on to watch TV. Had to use bed. Not walking distance to major sites. Will never return. Nicer hotesl in Jerusalem with nicer staff.

Room Tip: Complain, complain and complain until you are satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review although we were sorry to learn that you disliked everything about our hotel and that your experience was so unbelievably extreme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

although we stayed in 5 star hotels in Jerusalem before we did not get a room there this time due to the Holiday season there.
So we reluctantly booked the MOUNT ZION - but it turned out to be an excellent choice. The romantic building, the beautiful flowers, the well kept room and the pleasant, large swimming pool with spa and hamam(!!) - all this made our stay a memorable one. The Food was good and
the staff was friendly. Having said all this we can assure: We will be back - especially as the Price was also reasonable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthidau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted that we turned out to be a pleasant suprise and that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing