We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for handicap guests”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Last weekend we spent three nights in the Mount Zion hotel in Jerusalem. The food was excelent and so was the view. But we experienced a very disturbing atitude towards people with limited walking abilities. My mom asked for a room with shower and not bath tub as she can not walk into a bath tub. It appears that only the expensive rooms have shower and as such they charged her another NIS200 per night (about $50 per night for a shower!!!!). Then we found that in order to go from the elevator to the dinning room or to the Shul there are stairs that a person with wheelchair can not get there and if he or she can stand the climb the stairs with an assistance we are talking about 15 stairs; quit a heavy task for an old lady aged 80.
When we complained in the hotel the answer we received was that the hotel is an old building and they cannot change any thing inside!!!!!
So only if you are in good shape go there otherwise find another hotel who treats people with handicap more nicely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZvikaAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry if your mother had difficulty reaching specific areas of our hotel.. However, although your complaint has already been discussed between the group's organizers and ourselves, we would like to give some perspective to the impression you have given in your review. As requested a room for the handicapped was reserved for your mother, which apart from the spacious shower includes the appropriate grab bars, an easy access for wheelchair users and a larger sized bedroom than a standard room. We therefore consider the extra charge appropriate.The room can be reached by an elevator and without taking any stairs. There are indeed three steps to reach the dining room but the hotel provides a portable ramp which, when required by wheelchair users, is put into place. The Olive Hall where the synagogue is located is in the old part of the building and in order to reach it one has to take a series of steps totalling 14 . It should be noted that the original part of the building dates back to the 1880's and we acknowledge that with the uniqueness and charm there are also limitations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed for one night, the place was booked for me by our administrative manager, and I didn't had a chance to check it online before I arrived. I was surprised from the building and the location, the view from the room was superb, the building is impressive, and the staff were very friendly. I will definitely go again.

Room Tip: The Bar is quite basic, so if you wish to have a drink, look around, and avoid the lobby bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that even though your first stay in our hotel was a brief one you plan to visit us again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel. According to the publication the hotel is a boutique hotel, In the rooms the carpets and the mattresses had bin replaced.
The hotel location is excellent, lovely view from the hotel to the old city , the hotel building is also interesting and unique. However the room we got (standard room) did not meet our expectations: door opening mechanism didn't worked, In the room we find an old carpet that smelled bad, the air-condition unite did not work in the room, the TV screen was jumpy and it was very difficult to watch mattresses was uncomfortable.
We didn't get any feedback from customer service of the hotel although we send an Email and asked for one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. We regret that your experience of our hotel was not a good one but cannot help but wonder why, at the time, you did not ask for a different room or to speak with the management. Had you done so, the hotel would have done its best to ensure you had a comfortable and pleasant stay and there would have been no need to send a complaint by email which, incidently, we have not received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The bedrooms and bathrooms are as they were 8 years ago. Breakfast very nice and Friday night food good enough albeit meats and fish ALL heated up buffet style / food very similar other occasions. Pool area much like an oasis, beautiful Italian style flower garden however sun beds left dirty and area untidy and uninviting with NO SERVICE offered around the pool at all. The Citadel bedroom we had overlooked the Old City and had a wonderful balcony but this was hardly the 'norm.' The internet failed us in our bedrooms for the four night stay and at other times even in the lobby. I cannot imagine wanting to ever go back and this is a shame for a hotel that has such a premium location. Comments at the front desk on disappointments were taken poorly and no compensation for costs of lack of internet were offered.

Room Tip: Book a suite in the original old quarter or don't bother although our Citadel Room (room 706) ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebeakeeyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that during your stay the service around the pool area was lacking and that there were problems with the internet connection but as you may gather from other reviews this is not the norm. We apologize for any inconvenience and/or discomfort you were caused but hope that you also had some pleasant moments during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location and setting, nice patios and the building itself is beautifully decorated. Rooms are a bit old, but apart from this - very nice. Location is perfect - close to Zion and Jaffa gates, and also to Mamila Shopping center. Breakfast is rich and worth getting up early :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alslonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. It is clear when reading the review that you were able to appreciate all that the Mount Zion offers and that you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted that you are already thinking of a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

As a family of five we stayed at this hotel partially because we saw many reviews about it and had been recommended it by others. We also saw a video on what the grounds looked like of which doesn't give it as much credit as what this truly incredibly hotel deserves. This Mount Zion hotel had such character and a warm feel about it with such history which was presented continuously throughout the general theme of the hotel. The breakfasts were incredible with such a large selection of salads, fruit, croissants cereal, waffles, egg, the list continues. We as a family thought it was one of the best parts of the day. The large pool was spectacular, and had many deck chairs and umbrellas surrounding it allowing one to appreciate the view of the natural beauty that filled the exterior of the hotel. The service was impeccable with all the waiters and staff bending over backwards to meet your every need. Being so close to all the quarters of the old city as well as only being a short bus journey away from the bustling centre, we got a true appreciation for the life and vibe of Jerusalem making us fall in love with this holy land as well as our hotel. Staying in this hotel was the best decision we made and will continue to recommend it to those who ask and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very comfortable and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunt96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your visit and very much appreciated the warm, detailed and overall description you give. Hopefully, on a possible future visit to Jerusalem you will again return to the Mount Zion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a great weekend with friends in this hotel. The staff were very helpful with everything we asked for, the view is fantastic, breakfast was very rich and tasty, a walking distance from the old city and to some nice attractions in the new city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnnggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We hope that since you so enjoyed your weekend with us you will choose to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#19 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,435 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#5 of 100 in Jerusalem
475 reviews
Villa Brown Jerusalem
#2 of 100 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#7 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $184 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing