We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Zion Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$640
$595
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
National Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dan Jerusalem Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$220
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Montefiore Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$164
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$391
$381
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yehuda(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$191
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$660
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$272
$259
Atlas.co.il
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sephardic House(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$190
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveler rating
543
398
147
61
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
398
147
61
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkish batheye hospitaloutdoor jacuzziold cityjaffa gatesteam roomtrain stationstone wallsminute walkbeautiful hotelemek refaimbar mitzvahgerman colonywithin walking distancebit datedan upgradehot dishes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

You do not come to the mount Zion fpe the rooms. You come to the Mount Zion for the view. You come be surrounded by the history and majesty of Jerusalem. The rooms are adequate. But the views, the ambiance and the pool are spectacular. The breakfasts are also wonderful as is the location. The service is good. Not outstanding, but better than we had come to expect in Israel (aad to say). Our family spent four nights at the hotel in July and would have happily stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that you appreciated much of the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We also hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have been at the Mount Zion for the past few days and have not had a great experience. Reading all of the praise for this hotel h
as made me wonder if we just had a spot of bad luck.
We were told upon checking in that our room had been upgraded to the "citadel". The windows looked out upon brick walls, the room was musty and dark. The next room we were shown was not much better. The third room, a standard room looks like a tired hotel room. The shower has little shower pressure and dirty dishes have been sitting in the hall for the last twelve hours.
In general I have found the staff to border on down right nasty.
The front desk told me to eat here because there are no restaurants near, not true. The manager was rude when I asked if i could leave my laundry at the front desk to be picked up, the pool staff appeared sullen when I asked if he would get me a chair, the woman making omelets looked miserable and the man outside was busy talking on the phone so I hailed my own cab.
I have posted many reviews on trip advisor, never one like this.
We will be spending six more days here and I hope it will get better.
We have found one bellman to be very kind. In addition the breakfast was wonderful and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majong11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Mount Zion, which clearly has been a poor one and for which we are truly sorry. We understand both from your review and also from having in the meantime spoken to you in person, that there are things we can still improve. Rest assured that we shall continue in our endeavor to improve the standard of service. However, a possible explanation at this time, but not an excuse, is that our Moslem staff, during Ramadan, are fasting until almost 20:00 every day and there are those amongst them that find it more difficult than others. This fact sometimes has repercussions. Nevertheless,we hope the remainder of your stay will be a more pleasant one and that you will return to the Mount Zion when next visiting Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We chose the hotel because of its proximity to the Jerusalem Cinematheque, and stayed there two nights midweek. The location is good, with several restaurants nearby, and with great views of Jerusalem and the old city. The free, but public, parking is across the street, and was full because of the film festival that was taking place. No one helped us with the luggage.
We paid a very high price for a "deluxe" corner room on the top floor (most of the hotel is actually below reception level), with a balcony and view. It was a great disappointment. The furniture was old and tired. To take a shower one had to stand in a narrow bath, with very weak pressure (even in Israeli/European standards). There was a leak from the toilet, and two light bulbs were missing. There were two iron chairs in the balcony, but the cushions were torn (by birds?), and the floor was full of the cushion bits. The corridor had a strong smell of frying every morning from the breakfast downstairs.
Breakfast was fine, as in most Israeli hotels, but the outside balcony was full of napkins, including in the plants, which no one cared to pick up. We had to chase the waiters to get us coffee. The person who prepared omelets (Einav) was in such sad mood that she could not look up, smile, or even say good morning or thank you. I had to point out another waiter’s attention to the fact someone spilled juice on the floor next to the buffet table.
The hotel has nice sprawling gardens, and a decent pool (but without views). Shame it opens only at 9am, which was too late for us to use.
And finally the price - we booked through booking.com at a discount, which was still a hefty $315 a night. Only when we checked out we were told Israelis needs to add 18% VAT on top. They showed us a tiny note on the 3rd page of the reservation paperwork which said so. They said they could not do anything about it, so under protest we paid $375 a night.
Bottom line - extremely poor value for money, even for a Jerusalem hotel. The owners really have a nerve running such a poor operation at these prices. I would never go there again and recommend others to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go with new rooms. The old ones are really run down.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay in our hotel although, we admit, after receiving so many warm reviews of late, it did take us by surprise. Nevertheless, we were very sorry to read that your experience was a negative one, that your expectations were far from being met and that you left very disappointed.
We were also surprised that you could accept the conditions you describe. It would have been the norm to have informed the staff at the Front Desk, or ask to speak with a manager and expect that the situation be rectified, or your room changed. We cannot change the past but rest assured we would have done our utmost to ensure that the remainder of your stay be a comfortable and pleasant one.
Further, in order to prevent potential guests from being misled, we find it necessary to correct your claim that the pool opens only at 9:00. Since the beginning of July our pool has been open daily from 7:00 to 19:00 while during the month of June it was open between the hours 8:00 and 18:00.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is easily the most exotic hotel we have ever been in. Fabulous decorating and beautiful courtyards are everywhere. The stonework is amazing. Unbelievable breakfasts where you can squeeze your own juice and take honey off a comb. Be sure to walk around the property. The hotel actually housed a tiny emergency cable car to the old city built right after the war of independence. The car and cable are still there. Be sure to check it out. I know a lot about Israel but I would have missed this if our wonderful guide David Wexlar had not referred it. This hotel was so exciting it was one of the best "attractions' in itself of our spectacular Israel tour.

Room Tip: Ask about the cable car museum in the hotel. Free and worth a visit.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burners02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing so enthusiastically your recent experience at the Mount Zion. We were delighted that you found the hotel building exotic,interesting and exciting and that your stay in our hotel proved to be a memorable part of your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here in summer 2012 for 5 nights, and due to be staying again next week. Great service throughout, from the reception to room service to breakfast and pool. Room was very comfortable and breakfast was plentiful, varied and delicious. Glad to hear that there is free wifi in the lobby now. Good location - just a 15 minute stroll into the Old City. Pool is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbiondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing the experience of last year's visit to our hotel and we are glad that you have fond memories and will be returning next week. This act in itself says it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews