We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

While this hotel might be a splurge for some travel budgets, I think it's well worth it. The decor is traditional - very warm and comfortable. Rooms are a good size and tastefully appointed. Entrance to the hammam and hot tub are included with the rate. Relaxing in the hot tub overlooking the Old City is memorable. The breakfast buffet is substantial and delicious. Don't try to rush it! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would gladly return to this hotel any time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you once again on a possible future visit to Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Not really centrally located but ... Most wonderful views !
Excellent service.
Large rooms and very comfy beds.
Bathrooms a bit "tired" - by which I mean they would do with a bit of refurbishment.
Excellent breakfast buffet - all you wish !
Good dinner - both buffet option or dinner at the bar option.
Free Wifi only in the lobby. In the room it's $10 per day.
Would I come back ?
Probably - although I would also like to see what else is out there ..

In all: a very safe bet - you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that you appreciated the style, service and facilities of our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps we can hope, therefore, that you will return to the Mount Zion when you next visit Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel, Old city view - This hotel gives you the taste of authentic oriental Jerusalem!
The breakfast is wonderful and the Lobby is quiet and with huge windows to the view.
The style of this hotel is not comparable to any other standard (top rated) hotel - It takes you back to old Jerusalem times,
Highly Recommend,
Yona

Room Tip: Rooms with old city view - it makes of the difference..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YonaE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your warm review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I would like to share with you other travelers an annoying incident that happened to me on my stay at this hotel.

For my wife's birthday we decided we're going to spend a day in Jerusalem touring the old city.

I have picked out this hotel because of the price (194$) for a double room including breakfast.

It was not clear on during booking if the price was per person or per room, so i e-mailed the hotel to verify and was told that the price is per-room.

surprisingly enough as we walked in the breakfast hall the checker informed me that he has only one person registered for that room. He let us in and said that he is going to clear this issue with the front desk. During our breakfast he informed me that he will need to mark a +1 for breakfast and I said that i'll sort this at the front desk when we check out (and hour later)

At check out they wanted us to pay an extra 26$ for the extra breakfast buffet. Lucky enough i had easy access to the mail i sent them asking whether the price is per-person or per-room and there I stated that we're coming as a couple so they cancel the tab and we payed for the room with no extra charge.

I writing this review not to discourage you from going to this hotel but rather having mount-zion hotel change their policy making all charges clear for the customer.

aside from this incident, the hotel was fine and the staff is really nice.

another minor thing for this hotel, they really need to change the coffee machine they have since you need an engineers degree to understand how to make coffee. I had to get help from the staff and the coffee they made was great.

so when you go to this hotel, just make sure you confirm with them what you're getting to save yourself and feeling that you are a couple squeezing in a single room...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for writing a review in TripAdvisor. We were sorry you were asked to pay for an extra breakfast but the rate of $194 was the rate of a double room occupied by one person which explains the reason why. At the time the rate of a double room occupied by two persons and including two breakfasts was $225. Since the reservation was made online, we can only assume that an error occurred at that time. The hotel neither charged you for the difference between a room occupied by one person or two and also deducted the charge of $26 as a gesture of good will when you complained. We hope that knowing the facts will put us in a better light and that we shall see you amongst our guests once again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Overall, the two positive things I have to say about the Mt Zion are that the breakfasts were great and the views are outstanding. Everything else was sub-par. The wi-fi is relatively expensive, the rooms were tired for the price, and worst of all, the staff at the front desk was very unhelpful. It simply seemed like you were an inconvenience to be dealt with rather than a paying guest that they should help orient. They were incapable of giving decent restaurant recommendations and luckily, I happened on two that were outstanding! Were it not for the views and great location, I would have given this hotel a "poor" rating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sierratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Mount Zion in Trip Advisor. We were sorry to read that the service you received was not of our usual standard and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Since your visit the hotel has completed refurbishing the rooms and we believe you would now approve. Regarding the WIFI, we offer free internet access in the lobby and business center and charge $10 a day (24 hours) for internet access in the rooms. We do hope that on your next possible visit to Jerusalem you will consider staying with us once again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent five nights at Mount Zion for work in January. The first thing I always notice after a long journey to get to a place is the welcome. Or lack of it in this case. The front desk staff were consistently frosty. Being non-Jews, we thought this might have been because we arrived on a Friday night in the middle of Shabbat - but out fears were groundless - the front desk staff are frosty on all days of the week! A smile costs nothing people. Frostiness just tells me you're not happy in your work.

The hotel itself:
Rooms: dated but comfortable. Most rooms have the two single beds pushed together, which once you're a grown up and have left home, is kind of annoying. There is a at least a modern tv with decent cable. A fridge provided to keep things cold - which I always appreciate. My fridge was noisy though so I switched it off. Not much time for cold beverages on work trips anyway. And I never told the desk so I can't comment on how quickly it would've been fixed. The room cleaning is so-so. Someone else's hair remained in a small ball behind the bathroom door all week. I see this at a lot of hotels though so it doesn't make Mount Zion bad, it just means their cleaners don't pay attention to details. My room had a great view of the Old City though, and that was a delight to wake up to.

Food: Never ate dinner here but breakfast was good, started early and has plenty of fresh variety to start the day off with. In contrast to the desk, the breakfast room is run by the friendliest man in the world! Very chatty. He could run the receptionists through some training.

Gym: great that it has one. Very basic but I was the only one in it so got a good workout. The facilities and room could do with a good clean though.

View: Stunning. You really feel you're in a special place. If its you're first time in Jerusalem it's well worth a visit for the view alone.

Overall: The architecture, history and view make this hotel a place to be visited - it would be a great spot for an evening drink in the summer. It has the right ingredients to be a really special hotel - but it will need some investment first.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BagLadyLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel in Trip Advisor. We are sorry for the standard of service you received and although we would, ofcourse, have preferred a more favorable review, we appreciate the constructive criticism and will do our utmost to correct the weaknesses you described.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel rooms were nicely sized and appointed and quite clean. Breakfast was simply amazing. Service was not so great, and Internet was only had for a steep price. The fees were per device, and not per room, which is so stingy. Biggest complaint: this hotel draws large numbers of tourists from the US, Bar Mitzvah parties and Synagogue groups. Huge buses were always parked outside, which meant that in the lobby and in the restaurant, there were swarms of people and virtually packs of children without much supervision. It was like being in a very crowded airport.

Taxis were best to get anywhere. Steep Jerusalem streets make walking most places from the hotel somewhat difficult. A seven or ten dollar cab ride can get you many places.

Room Tip: Views of the valley are quite nice. Room choice is probably on the floors were their are not the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank localcolor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor. We regret if you were unaware that WIFI is available, free of charge, both in the lobby and in the business center of the hotel and while we do charge for internet access in the rooms we feel that $10 per 24 hours is not excessive. We were also sorry to read that you were disturbed by the number and type of guests staying at the hotel during your visit in December, a period that is generally popular with families and pilgrims. Despite your experience, we hope that on a possible return visit to Jerusalem, you will nevertheless consider staying at the Mount Zion once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,361 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,506 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $192 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing