We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I liked the hotel, except for their horrible pillows and no air conditioning or heating in November. We had to keep the window open with rain and all to get any circulation. The fan only, but out hot air. Also it is a 20 minute walk to the Old City, King David Hotel area, and longer to the market area. Rooms were spacious by Israel standards. Telephone operator could not give me the right instructions to phone the US from the room; after 3 failed attempts, I called the front desk and they were able to give me the correct instructions. The front desk was always very nice to us. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety. The bar menu was ok, we used it twice for a light dinner. There is a nice restaurant a short distance away in the Cinema. We stayed here as part of an Overseas Adventure Travel tour. I liked the Hammam (turkish bath), nice and steamy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkey_and_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at the Mount Zion on Trip Advisor. We noted your comment regarding the pillows and are pleased to inform you that we are actually in the process of changing our pillows as well as our bed linen. We are sorry that you found the location of the hotel to be "not close to much" and can only assume that you were not aware of the possibilities and/or the best directions. We understand that the walk to Jaffa Gate is partly uphill and the time required to reach it varies but one can quite easily reach the King David Hotel in 10 minutes and the German Colony in 15. There are also excellent restaurants in the immediate vicinity, approximately 5-7 minutes walk away. Hopefully we can convince you and thereby welcome you once again on a possible future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

A beautiful property that is walking distance from the old city. Lovely views and the rooms are spacious with decent interiors. However, possibly the worst service I have ever come across. Our room was leaned once in the 4 nights that we were there. When we walked outside and asked the concierge to call us a taxi - he told us "go to the desk and ask yourself".
The dishes from the room service would have been in the room for all 4 nights if I did not pick them up and put them outside by myself!
Over all disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomeinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in our hotel. We were sorry to learn that your room was not cleaned during the four days of your stay and regret that only after your departure do we learn of the fact. From our point of view, we clean all occupied rooms on a daily basis. The exception to the rule is a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, in which case the housekeeping staff are forbidden to enter the room. They do, however, leave a card explaining the reason why the room was not serviced and invite guests to call the Front Desk if they wish their room to be serviced at a later hour. To avoid unnecessary aggravation and disappointment in the future we strongly recommend that you immediately inform the management of any abnormality in the service. Further, our security staff located at the entrance of the hotel are not equipped with an outside line and consequently were unable to order you a taxi. We acknowledge that there may have been a lack of courtesy but in no way was disrespect intended when directing you to the Front Desk. We are very sorry if you were offended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is close to the walled city of Jerusalem and has a history that makes it more interesting. The hotel was originally a hospital and was critical to getting supplies into the old city during the 1920's blockade. We walked from the hotel to the old city everyday during our stay.
Now, it's a luxury hotel with many features and comforts. The staff was most friendly and welcoming and the towels! The towels are thick and huge - makes a shower feel wonderful!
The beds are comfortable and clean.
We stayed for six nights in November 2012. Because of the season, the heating was on and air conditioning was not available. We found the rooms too hot, but the staff quickly found a floor fan for us to use.
The hotel charges for internet access, but there is a business center with free usage, and the restaurant, Lavan, just down the hill, has free internet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calgarytravels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the style and comfort of our hotel and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel is within view of the Old City and the Jaffa Gate (20 minute walk) with beautiful views from the rooms. Room very comfortable, clean and well maintained. And the buffet breakfast actually the best of any in all my travels -- really outstanding with all kinds of fruits, cheeses, breads, eggs, fish and you can squeeze your own orange juice! And making a lunch sandwich was an extra. Has a nice workout room (although a little hard to find), but was really sorry I didn't bring a swimsuit for the hot tub outside on the patio. Remember, also, that from Friday night to Saturday night (during Shabbat) a regular dinner and breakfast are not available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one.
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will have the possibility of returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is extremely large and takes time to learn to navigate. The architecture is interesting: the building began as an eye hospital in 1882. It has wonderful views and great morroccan decoration. The location and breakfasts cant be beat. The hamam (hot steam bath) was a treat. That said, the hotel is somewhat shabby and has seen better days. The carpets and towels are frayed and there was no clock in the room. The service was uneven. Some of the staff was superb and others were down right surly. The biggest indignity, however, was the lack of free wifi in the hotel. They charge 15 dollars per day per device for internet! This, to me is outrageous! Tey refer guest to their "business center" for computer use. This consists of two tired computers that are so virus filled that you cant navigate any sites easily. We left the hotel and walked to the right a little and were able to obtain a wifi signal. Also, there is a restaurant caled Levan close by that has free wifi. If computer access is nrot important to you, then this hotel is the place for you. Also wonderful was their small cafe in The lobby which has beautiful views tasty food and cordial service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barndoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay in Trip Advisor. We very much appreciated your warm words and took the negative aspects you mention as constructive criticism. With these in mind, we are pleased to be able to inform you that next month we shall be changing all our bed linen and during the month of January we shall be fitting new carpets in all guest rooms. We also hope that by the New Year our new system of WIFI will be installed and that there will be free access for hotel guests in the Lobby area. Our business center will remain free of charge but we shall continue to charge $15 for 24 hours WIFI access in the rooms. We hope that on your next visit to Jerusalem you will once again be a guest in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

perfectly located this 150+ years hotel is very "oriental" in design. breakfast buffet is outstanding. rooms are clean and spacious. TV was a pain to operate - but then who cares about TV when you're in Jerusalem! staff friendly. we were moved to a better room that had a small terrace/patio, that was nice. being an old hotel it is somewhat of a labyrinth, but it adds charm. water flow in our room was poor, and there were no hot water at the very late night hours - if you want to take a hot shower at 01:00, forget it.

Room Tip: rooms vary a lot. better ask to see the room, and ask to upgrade if possible. some of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nushki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor.We were delighted that you appreciated the location and the historical building and that you did not allow the problematic aspects of your stay to spoil your enjoyment. Although we have no idea at this time why there was no hot water available, irrelevant of the time of day or night, we offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you were caused. We hope you will,make a return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent 6 nights at this hotel as part of a group. We were satisfied with the size and comfort of the room, although it could have used a bit more attention from housekeeping. The hotel is well located for accessing the Old City and the German Colony areas. Breakfasts were very ample and delicious, with lots of variety. We had a buffet dinner in the hotel one night, which was also to a high standard. The pool was available but on the cool side. The public areas were pleasant and had wonderful views. The gardens are very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at the Mount Zion Hotel in Trip Advisor. We have noted your comment about the lack of attention given to your room by our housekeeping staff and are very sorry. We hope that you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,385 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $187 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing