We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - but customer service needs a lot of improvement”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great views - but customer service needs a lot of improvement”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good view of the Old City from our room, and even better from the Lobby area and gardens. But staff was generally unhelpful. Laundry due back in the evening and not delivered until the following morning so we didn't have pyjamas etc that night - and then found that the laundy was actually at Reception all the time, and the night staff just couldn't be bothered to look for it. Requested shirts to be returned folded but were actually returned on hangars.

Then was told that the restaurant would be open for lunch and when our guests arrived we were told that we could only have a light dairy meal in the Lobby Bar area. No apology for the inconvenience - just was told that the Lobby was the only option.

Neither of those problems was a disaster, but not what one would expect from a 4* hotel. Staff attitude definitely needs to be improved. A friend of mine considering having his wedding there and asked my opinion, and I told him to look elsewhere unless the view was a big deal for them.

Room Tip: Facing Old City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Albans774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback of your recent stay which we found most informative and have taken very seriously. Please accept our apologies for the unhelpful behavior of our staff and that the service you received was by far not our usual standard.We regret that you had some aggravating moments but sincerely hope that there were some enjoyable ones too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    364
    130
    58
    37
See reviews for
355
360
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you like 4 star accommodation, but want to stay close to the Old City this is a great location. My room was on the third floor and I had a little terrace outside, which was nice. The hotel staff were very friendly. The hotel is 15-20 minutes from the Jaffa Gate. Don't have the buffet on Shabbat, it is seriously expensive (£50 per person) and not very good. For food go into the Old City where there are plenty of places to eat. The swimming pool was very nice and refreshing. The breakfast was excellent and obviated the need for lunch.

Room Tip: 305 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for giving your feedback of your recent stay at the Mount Zion. We were pleased to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel and believe you enjoyed your stay, but we also noted your comment about the Shabbat (Saturday) buffet lunch and were sorry that it left a poor impression. We quite understand the attraction of the nearby Old City but apart from the buffet lunch we also offer the possibility of a light dairy meal in the Lobby, which boasts breathtaking views, for those of our guests that prefer to stay in air-conditioned surroundings at mid-day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

In the range of 4 stars hotels it is definitely one of the best.Facing the ancient wall that surraunds the old city of Jerusalem,located in an old building ,that looks like a citadell ,makes you fill ln a different world. The hotel is located near many tourist attractions.The rooms are big ,the service is excellent and the breakfast very generous.The hotel has also a small spa and Hammam-turkish steam room. A good spot to spend few days there.

Room Tip: rooms facing east are bigger wirh a nice view but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arsavir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having read very mixed reviews on this hotel from the sublime to the ......, we were expecting to confront some road bumps along the way, but in all experienced a very relaxing and enjoyable few days over the Jewish holidays.

As has been expressed by previous reviewers, the strong selling point of this hotel is its view which looks out on to the old city and the valleys surrounding it, which is both awe inspiring during the day and at night. The communal areas are also tastefully furnished with period furniture which makes you feel like you are entering a bygone age.

However you can experience this without staying in the hotel itself. To develop a true rating for the establishment, one should primarily rate 3 factors - room, food and service.

Room
We were allocated a triple room on one of the lower floors which did not have a view but instead possessed a private courtyard, which was an added bonus. The room itself was of an adequate size, nicely furnished and clean. The mattresses were very comfortable and the lighting (unlike some hotels we have stayed in Israel) was good. The only matter that affected my rating here was size and quality of the bathroom. There is not much room to maneouvre when you get out of the bath tub and there did not seem to be any way to ventilate the steam from the shower. We also felt that the water pressure from the shower could have been turned up a notch.

Food
As we had elected to travel during the holiday season, dining options in Jerusalem were somewhat limited, so we elected to take our first evening meal in the hotel dining room. The food was adequate but nothing out of the ordinary and fairly expensive overall. However the breakfast experience was outstanding, with an impressive array of hot and cold dishes, including an omelette and salad bar. My son who is celiac said it was the best breakfast he'd ever had. An added bonus is that if the weather is pleasant you can eat your meal alfresco overlooking the walls of the old city.

Service
All the hotel staff we encountered during the course of our stay greeted us with professionalism and courtesy. Particular kudos goes to the dining room manager who ensured that we were able to secure a table for the evening meal. Occasionally items such as soaps for the room and towels were not replaced by the cleaning staff but once a call was made these items were replaced within half an hour.

In summary, this was money well spent and based on this experience we would be tempted to return, this time specifying a room with a view

Room Tip: Ideally go for a room with a view of the old city, as a second choice get one with a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzman25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay which we believe will be of great assistance to future travellers. The aspects you focused on have already enabled us to identify weaknesses and which we are now looking into how we can improve them. We were pleased that your experience at the Mount Zion was a positive one and delighted that you would consider returning on future visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Looking to experience the best of old Jerusalem, in a modern setting, the Mt. Zion hotel is IT. From the lobby with arches, moroccan decor and a framed view of the Old City, to the pool and gardens, and the uniquely decorated rooms, we felt warmth and charm. The buffet breakfast was abundant and tasty with plenty of healthy options. Its served in a lovely room which is adjacent to a patio, again with a spectacular view.

Hotel is an easy walk to all that Jerusalem has to offer: Old City, Mamilla Mall, Ben Yehuda St., and also near several delicious restaurants and a 24 hr. grocery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were glad that you appreciated the biblical views, the location and the warmth and charm of this historical building and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were so looking forward to this hotel...the only nice thing I can say is that the breakfast was terrific. We upgraded to a "citidel" room and not only was a double bed not available as promised...and the room was tired, outdated, dark, lightbulbs burned out, dangerous tub mats a/c so loud I thought I was on an airplane, desk staff downright nasty....I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. So disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deloras21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We were sorry to read of your recent disappointment with the Mount Zion and how we did not meet up to your expectations. Based on the points you mentioned, we can, unfortunately, at this time, only agree with you and apologize for the poor experience. However,if the style and character of our hotel was to your liking, then we hope that on a possible future visit to Jerusalem, you will reconsider and stay with us once again so that we can show you that we really can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I loved this hotel, although not so many people know of it and of it's unique features.

Location - very centeral but also feels very intimate away of the noise and to top this - overlooking the walls of the old city. Stunning views.

The pool is outdoors in the middle of a beautiful garden with flowers, with views of the old city.in the background. There is also an outdoor jacouzzi that you can enjoy at night right in front of the old city by night - what a romantic treat! This was next to the SPA and the Hamam - turkish bath.

The breakfast is out of this world with a huge selection for every taste. Top notch quality served in high ceiling historic hall and beautiful authentic tiles flooring.

We had a beautiful room with medeteranean furniture that was very clean. Had wine and fruit waiting for me with a nice note from the GM.

Great hotel for a great price,
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at the Mount Zion on Trip Advisor. We were, of course, delighted with your review and to learn how much you appreciated different aspects of our hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope that it was only the first of many visits to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,308 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,740 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing