We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the heart of Jerusalem”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I loved this hotel, although not so many people know of it and of it's unique features.

Location - very centeral but also feels very intimate away of the noise and to top this - overlooking the walls of the old city. Stunning views.

The pool is outdoors in the middle of a beautiful garden with flowers, with views of the old city.in the background. There is also an outdoor jacouzzi that you can enjoy at night right in front of the old city by night - what a romantic treat! This was next to the SPA and the Hamam - turkish bath.

The breakfast is out of this world with a huge selection for every taste. Top notch quality served in high ceiling historic hall and beautiful authentic tiles flooring.

We had a beautiful room with medeteranean furniture that was very clean. Had wine and fruit waiting for me with a nice note from the GM.

Great hotel for a great price,
Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at the Mount Zion on Trip Advisor. We were, of course, delighted with your review and to learn how much you appreciated different aspects of our hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope that it was only the first of many visits to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Plan to arrive here late in the day so you can sit in the lovely lobby with a drink and take in the stunning view of the Old City and the valley and hills beyond. Then get the heck out and stay someplace else. The staff here don’t like guests.

Sure they have a lovely breakfast and secluded patios and comfortable, though shabby, rooms. But they also have Space Aliens.

When a ring went missing from our room, the indifferent staff wondered if it was possible that I had thrown the ring in the garbage. Yes, it’s possible, but it’s not too likely. It’s also possible that Space Aliens entered the room, dug through a fully stocked toiletries bag, selected this ring among many and left with it. Let’s go with this theory.

In fairness, I didn’t use the safe (didn’t actually notice it until too late). And in fairness, the indifferent staff did lift up the bed to have a look for the ring and did drag a teary housekeeper in front of us. They also commented that Space Aliens usually steal electronics and not rings. Then they offered me the chance to pick a replacement ring out of their lost and found.

Of course, we could have spent the morning filing a police report, but given our limited vacation time and the likelihood that the ring was now on a Space Ship someplace, that didn’t seem like the best use of time. We did, however, offer the indifferent staff the opportunity to take a photo of a matching ring just in case it should turn up in a waffle. Hey, it’s possible. They declined. I guess some things are not very likely.

Perhaps the most extraordinary thing about the Space Alien abduction of my ring is the enormous amount of time the management of this property has spent sending rude, defensive emails in response to an earlier (and now removed) Trip Advisor review. With all due respect, if they spent half as much energy working on their Space Alien problem (and maybe dusting now and again) this hotel would have more to offer than a great view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Once again we are truly sorry that your wedding ring went missing during your stay and that because of the loss your overall impression and experience of the hotel dramatically changed. We quite understand your anger and frustration and assure you that we are not indifferent.
The management does not, by any means, take lightly the possibility of theft. We do, however, require the co-operation of our guests, firstly, to place, as a precaution, any valuables in the safety deposit box located in the wardrobe of every room and secondly, in the case of suspicion of theft, to allow the police to carry out a professional investigation, in order to determine whether or not there is a justification for the claim. Only a guest can make a claim to the police and although we offered to call them on your behalf you declined. Further, as we wrote in reply to an earlier correspondence, the Mount Zion does not have a theft problem and it does have a good reputation to uphold. We cannot, therefore, remain indifferent when unwarranted claims in a Trip Advisor review are made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed 5 nights. Amazing breakfast buffet. Location was close to Old City within walking distance. Also walked to many neighborhoods for meals and drinks. Felt safe walking in a group. Staff was very helpful, spoke english well. Great knowledge of area and directions too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstravelbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we received room that smell very bad. we asked for changing and we received room that was'nt clean! the toilet was dirty and also the toweling robe. we were very disappointed. the price is very expensive....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We were very sorry to learn that your recent stay at the Mount Zion was a negative experience and
apologize for the state of the rooms you were given. Although, we have no way, at this time, to understand what happened we are taking precautionary measures to ensure that there is no repetition. We sincerely hope that on a possible future visit to Jerusalem you will consider staying with us once again so that we can show you that we really can do better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Fantastic hotel, would stay there again. The views over Mount Zion and the Mount of Olives (in the lobby, not from our room unfortunately) were breathtaking. 15 minute walk to Old City and good access to other sites (less than 10 mins on bus to the check point if you want to go to Bethlehem- get a bus outside the hotel and avoid high taxi prices. Ask reception, they were great with travel advice). There are closer hotels but for the views and surroundings this was the best! Breakfast was a feast, no need for lunch. Swimming pool, Turkish spa, Jacuzzi, all great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank EJ I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We arrived at night in our hire car but because of security could not park out the front of hotel. When I asked for a porter with a luggage trolley to assist we were told no one was around. We carried our luggage and because of the layout of the hotel access to our room wasn't easy. Furnishings in the room are a bit dated but had great view of the old city. Asked reception staff for recommendation of where to go for dinner and he was most unhelpful. We only found out the next day that the German Colony was within walking distance.
The best part of the stay was the delicious breakfast and the close location to the old city.
There is free off street parking in a small car park across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beinys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Originally built as an Eye Hospital it was then converted to a hotel. Boutique style. On entrance you come in on the 6th floor and everything is below you. The hotel floors are not exactly aligned properly and the elevators don't go to all areas. For instance we were on the 5th floor but had to waslk down a flight of stairs to get to the room. It was really 4 and a half.

Anyway, the location to the old city was excellent, service and desire to help was evident. Out of the window your are essentially staring at the Jaffa Gate (ask about the cable car and the Independance war). It is about a 10-15 minute walk. The hotel does not have a restaurant so dinner is on your own but there is a lobby snack area where salads and kid freindly foos can be ordered. Not great but satisfies a need.

When we checked in the room we were assigned was small and stunk of cigarrettes (despite the no smoking policy). They apologized and found us another more suitable room. the pool is was a great way to cool off at the end of the day but the pool deck was dirty, not an indication of the rest of the hotel. The room did not have a view of the old city, which we wanted but it did have a private patio with overgrown plants. I had requested that the floor of the patio be cleaned (birds nested in the plants) and they trimmed everything back which doubled the size of the patio. They were apologetic for not having maintained the plants. Still no view but you did great an awsome sunrise.

Breakfast was a typical Israeli buffett with salads, cheeses and many other choices. It was clean, fresh and tasty

All in all I would recommend the place. Do not expect luxury but a nice, quiet place close to the old city and compared to the big name hotels, this was a great value.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. Request an old city view. There are no balconies that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HandymanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,385 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,520 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $185 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing