We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sultan on a shoestring”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sultan on a shoestring”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Just back from a 9-day trip around Israel. Out of four hotels we stayed in during the trip, this one proved to be the best.
Even though it's location is not too convinient, the property is very nice. Situated in an old building of 19th century eye hospital going down the slope of Mount Zion, the hotel features arab-turkish designs all over the rooms and public areas. The lobby offers stunning panorama of the Old City, which is really great to enjoy while having a cup of something at the bar.
The rooms are nicely set, but rather scrappy, could use a bit of renovation. All in all we felt very comfortable. I believe we had a standard room, but they do offer nice suites and even a garden villa by the pool.
The stuff is not friendly at all - no smiles, no shalom's and absolute lack of desire to help a guest. I was trying to find out the most convinient way to visit a certain place outside of town, but was told it's impossible and I felt I'd better go away and inquire elsewhere. I ended up stopping a cab just outside the hotel and asking the driver. But I came to realize that service is not the Israeli thing altogether.
Apart from marvelous views the next best thing was a hammam. A huge room that used to be a water cistern is now a hammam, very cozy and relaxing. However it's too hot for a typical turkish hammam I was enjoying every minute if being there. And then you go to a small jacuzzi in the garden and treat yourself to a magnificient panorama.
The food is just OK, nothing special, just like at any other Israeli hotel. And not very expensive, too.
So the overall impression was very good. I would definitely recommend the property to my friends. But the service should have been way better for this kind of money. For one, a free wi-fi would be a nice touch...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3u3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    368
    135
    59
    40
See reviews for
365
366
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I spent 2 nights at the hotel while vacation. The hotel is well situated - about 15 minutes walk to Jaffa Gate and slightly less to Zion Gate. Jerusalem is hilly so expect an undulating walk to get anywhere but this is no fault of the hotel.
My room did not face in the direction of the Old City but other people in my group did have a room with the view - try arrange this as it really adds to the experience.
The bathrooms are clean and newly tiled but the style is quite basic. For experienced travelers you may expect something more trendy - if that's what you are after you need to spend more money and go upmarket. The basic fit out of the bathrooms did not bother me in the least.
The double bed was very comfortable and I really liked that I could open the window in my bedroom and enjoy the fresh air. The backside off the hotel faces over a residential area which is very quiet so there is no traffic noise with the windows open.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is a typical Israeli one, with lots of cheeses, vegetables, salads, and pastries (sweet and savory).
My only complaint with the hotel is the WI-FI policy. Each guest is entitled to 1 hour free WI-FI per day and this is really insufficient if one has work to check on.

I would happily stay at the this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metalman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed there for two nights with my wife while traveling through Israel. We didn’t eat at the hotel, so I can’t comment on the food. It’s about a 15-minute walk to the Jaffa Gate and also about 15 minutes to the German Colony (really nice restaurants and night life there). The walk to the Jaffa Gate is all uphill, so it seems longer than it actually is. The rooms were nice and clean. The hotel was built in the side of a mountain, so the street level (on the lobby side) is actually on the sixth floor. Interesting layout because the rooms are below the lobby. There’s a parking lot across the street from the hotel, which was easy and seemed abundant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnate22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Last stop on my 1st trip to Israel with a small group. Hotel is older building, with rooms
extending down a steep hillside. Lobby & dining room on floor 6. My room on floor 2. Room
was compact but adequate with wardrobe space and hangers for my clothes. Floorspace
ample enough to do my stretching exercises. Unplugged noisy refrigerator. Found ONE
outlet to charge my electric toothbrush. It wasn't in the bathroom. Jerusalem is very hilly
so getting to anything nearby will probably involve a climb. Breakfast, morning newspaper
and quiet garden patio outside my room were appreciated. Staff gave incorrect details on
some local sites so be skeptical. Immediate hot water and large towels in bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple_Country_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were supposed to stay 6 nights, but left as soon as we could. Hotel is old and sad, especially the breakfast area. The supposed on-site restaurant was always empty with exposed wiring. Our room was funky looking, but no plugs for portable phone or computer. Bathroom was smelly and musty, with no shower curtain, so any attempt to shower resulted in a mini-flood. Location is really not conducive to walking, which is always a highlight in Jerusalem. Our first morning, we were so sad to be stuck there for our one-week vacation, that we checked out and went to the David Citadel Hotel. Mt. Zion Hotel manager refused to return any of our 3-night deposit (US$1200), but we were still happy to be out of the place despite the cost

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Pros: Lovely rooms (especially the old stone walled ones), accommodating staff, excellent breakfast buffet with daily newspaper, beautiful gardens/pool area that are much prettier than the legendary King David, gorgeous city views
Cons: a good 15-20 walk to the Old City, mostly uphill and no free wifi (free use of computers in business center though).

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Glencovetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is an historic building that seems to be built into the side of one of the many hills in this area. If you have the right room, at the right location in the hotel you will have a great view of the wall of the Old City. The lobby is located on the sixth floor, the entrance, and most rooms are on the floors below but still elevated above the valley below. Rooms can vary from wonderful and atmospheric to dark, drab and small. My room, on my recent September visit, was a good size with a nice view from the 2nd floor. However, there are bars over the arched windows at that level and the room furnishings feel a bit tired. It was quite clean, with good mattresses. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I had during two weeks in Israel and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again but be selective about which room is offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that directly faces the Old City, is above the second floor and has soon floor space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,006 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,329 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Property: Mount Zion Hotel
Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing