We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Zion Hotel
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Not a bad place, but no better than average.

Pros: close to the Old City, excellent breakfast
Cons: too far from the center of the city (i.e. Ben Yehuda St), no real dinner option, pool opened till only 5 or 6pm (you want to be able to take a dip in the evening after a day of sightseeing), a/c in our room was broken -- they came right away to fix it, but still wasn't working all that great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Potown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

Unexpectedly I had to stay one night in Jerusalem before my flight home. Mount Zion was my choice of the hotel. It was a good choice. The first room I moved in was absolutely charming with a garden patio, but there was a problem: the telephone did not have "out-of-hotel" line and could not be fixed at once. For me this situation was unacceptable: it was my last evening in Israel and I had to make many calls to friends. The Manager on duty Michal been very considered and moved me to another room with working telephone to my complete satisfaction. It was on the top floor with a balcony and the amazing view to the Old City. Thank you very much, Michal!
Other: the location is most convenient; free parking just across the street; the stuff is very helpful; it is an old building, but with a charming decoration and a good maintenance; rooms are clean and beautiful; the breakfast is reach and delicious; did not have a chance to check on spa. Pleasant experience over all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsGaladreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Hotels in Jerusalem are expensive. Mt Zion is extremely well positioned for easy 5 minute access to the Old City. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Rooms are small and the Internet access was intermittent, however over all it was great.

Breakfast was excellent too.

Parking is only available across the road in a free open air car park on a first come first served basis however there was no issue getting a spot at night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPL-OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

i can echo all the nice things in previous reviews. this is not your cookie-cutter modern hotel. it has been around since the 19th century, and still retains a bit of the feel of ottoman days. it is carved into the side of a hill overlooking the old city and the mount of olives; the views are memorable. the lobby is on 6th floor & you go down to your room from there. at the very bottom there is a pool, which i did not use, and a very pleasant garden, which i did. the rooms are up to date & the staff was very helpful. the whole experience can best be described as relaxed & connected to the city rather than ultra-luxurious. i would definitely stay here again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This was my second stay at Mt Zion in Jerusalem. Staying at a good boutique hotel makes you never want to stay at a large chain again. The rooms were nice and clean, but not overly modern. The tv was an old small CRT, but who goes to Jerusalem to watch tv anyway? The pool was nice, but difficult to find a lounge and it closed at 5pm. The breakfast was the best we had while in Israel and was open til 10:30am. Checkout was 12pm which was nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShmuellyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I don't have enough good things to say about the Mount Zion hotel. I stayed here with my family for the greater part of a week, and I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel that was a nice or as comfortable in Israel. Let's start with the location--the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Jaffa gate and the new Mamilla mall. The lobby and many of the rooms look east out over the valley of Gehinom and toward the mount of olives and Jordan beyond. The hotel is wonderfully decorated with ottoman and middle-eastern furnishings, and each room we stayed in (we moved around a few times) was unique in size and decoration. Outside, there are numerous little gardens and verandas, each landscaped with beautiful flowers and vines. The hotel also boasts a huge, secluded pool big enough to swim laps, with ample beach chairs all around and towel and bathroom facilities on site. Above the pool, there is a small outdoor hot tub with a view of the old city, plus a beautiful, steaming hammam and a decent fitness center (two treadmills, elliptical, bike, a bench, a nautilus machine, and hand weights up to 20 kg.) Finally, perhaps the most important attribute of the hotel is its amazing buffet breakfast. This isn't your ordinary breakfast. On every day except for Shabbat (when there is really no hot breakfast), breakfast options include a make-your-own omelette bar, numerous alternating hot breakfast entrees, four types of salads, six kinds of cheese, a full fruit bar, yogurts, numerous types of breads, and delicious desserts like chocolate and apple croissants. The highlight for me was the squeeze your own orange and grapefruit juice bar. The hotel provides fresh oranges and grapefruits and a squeezer and you can go and squeeze yourself as much of the good stuff as your heart desires. There is also, of course, unlimited coffee and tea. Finally, the wait and hotel staff were by and large friendly, multilingual, accommodating, and courteous--qualities that one cannot always count on when traveling in Israel.

One note of caution/tip: The wireless internet, while speedy, is not free--US $15 per 24 hours. But, if you just need to check email occasionally without paying an arm and a leg for the hotel wireless, head to the business center on the fifth floor, where there are three (free) computers with internet access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The location of the hotel is great. There is ample free parking across the street. I would recommend the citadel rooms or suites if you can afford them. The other rooms are a little sparse. We were lucky enough to book through our local Jerusalem guide and he was able to get us a suite at a discounted price. These rooms overlook the old city and are in a turkish style which is a nice change from staying in more traditional hotel rooms.

We ate in the coffee shop/lobby bar area. The menu was unimpressive but the food was excellent and the cost was less than half what you would pay for the dinner buffet. The breakfast buffet was included in our package and was very, very good.

Overall we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Work with a local guide or travel agent for pkgs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwgrncrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,378 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,168 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $186 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing