We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jerusalem Gate Hotel
Ranked #91 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Like the place good service
Front desk is the best
Good and plenty food

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 452 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

the staff is the best
good food 7 min to the
old city staff is smiling and helpul allthetime

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avinjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Not to mention the unfriendly staff, the rooms were simple, but alright. But we left Jerusalem today. I looked in to my purse and they have taken euros out of my purse, which was burried in my suitcase. First I thought it was my mistake, but my brothers money was also taken away. I trusted this hotel and noow I am just disappointed. I would not stay there again. Be careful, don't leave anything in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zone-alarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Jerusalem Gate Hotel

This was the second hotel on a trip to Israel I stayed in and to be honest would not stay there again. It seemed to be too far from the old city but what seemed to be worst was the lack of concern how they treated their guests. As mentioned in other reviews the lifts are sadly inadequate and getting your luggage to your room when you are with a large group took some time to say the least. On one day there were such a large number of people using the lifts that we had to walk up and down the stairs. I was there with two ladies one who was 79 and another 74 and we walked six floors.

We never knew where we would eat as if there was a party for local people we would be moved to the first floor. So we would arrive only to find we had to go elsewhere. The food was non descript to say the least.

The entrance hall on the Sabbath was more like a children’s play ground!!

On the Sabbath the coffee bar/bar was closed from Friday night to Saturday night. We ended up walking to the Crowne Plaza to get a drink. No shops were open nearby.

All in all I consider this hotel to be poor value for money. It is a hotel with considerable potential but appears not to care about its foreign customers and just like so many other tourist hotels and restaurants wants to milk them of their money.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Our travel agent booked this hotel for us and since they cannot fit the four of us in a family room, we requested if we could have adjoining rooms as we have 2 young kids. They placed us in this 2 corner rooms with a common door which made it really private for us. We would just lock that one at night and leave the doors to our bedrooms open so we can still feel connected as a family. Sleep was good as we were at the end of the hallway, it wasn't very noisy when we were there. The lobby, reception area and the restaurant looks new so we were expecting the same for our rooms but they turned out to be a bit old. But the important thing is they were clean and our beds were always made up.

Breakfast was okay, they have eggs (boiled and scrambled), bread, cereals, was surprised to see some pieces of cake too! And of course coffee, tea and juice. My kids were looking for a chocolate drink but there was none, not sure if it's typical not to have one though. Anyway, it was good they've been trained to drink tea so they just have that if they want something hot in the morning. We saw some people filling up their drink bottle with either juice or water so we did that the next day too! Saved us a bit of money.

Dinner is also served at the restaurant but we opted to go down to the shopping mall under the hotel where there are several choices for fast food. We paid NIS120 shekels for this pizza and salad family pack. The pizza was humongous! Filled us all up. There is also a bakery which sells really lovely biscuits! An ATM is also located in the fast food area.

We found this place a good option to stay in Jerusalem, it's just a short ride to the Israel Museum and the Old City. We think it's a very central location if you want to go around Israel. From here Bethlehem is just one hour away and so does going to the Allenby Bridge if you're visiting Jordan.

But if you want a place with dining options, this one will not do as we found out on Shabbat day (the mall closed early so did the other shops as customary on this day) that there are no other restaurants in the area. The hotel serves Shabbat dinner though but we think it's a bit pricey at NIS 120 per person. It's a good thing we had some left over bread from lunch paired that with a drink from the bar and that was dinner for us! The kids enjoyed it too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PasyalNamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We chose this hotel for a very short stay in Jerusaelm on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is very near the central bus station and was perfect for our needs as travel to and from all parts of the city was easy from here.

The room was very clean; bedlinen was clean; beds comfortable and bathroom very clean.

Staff very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough. On one occasion, we asked if a family member living in Jerusalem could join us for breakfast. Not only was this not a problem, they refused to charge us. And my goodness, the breakfasts were fantastic; a huge choice of just about anything you could want.

The hotel is extremely busy with large christian bible groups who were obviously out and about early as soon as they finished breakfast.. Hotel is a popular choice for weddings which adds to the liveliness of the place. There were two in the four days we were there.

The downside ... yes you do hear noise from time to time from your neighbours but we've had a lot worse in much better hotels. Also we were a little disturbed by traffic noise from early in the morning but on our first morning there when the reception asked whether we had had a good night and we told them it was a bit noisy, they immediately offered to move us. We declined as we were there for a short time only and couldn't fault our room otherwise.

Location wise - apart from everywhere being accessible by bus, there really isn't a lot to do in the vicinity of the hotel, although there is Centre 1 directly beneath the hotel which is a mall with shops and a couple of eateries. We knew all this before we went and the bus system is easy and cheap to use.

For a short city break, this is a good hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluebelleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Despite everyones reviews on trip advisor I let myself be cajoled by our tour operator into staying in this hotel and boy did I regret it.

Let me do the pros since there aren't many. The staff was friendly and tried to help but most of the time ran around like headless chickens due to the sheer volume of guests that stay at the hotel ( I simply don't understand why)

We checked in on a Saturday and since it was sabbath apparently most Jewish hotels cannot let you check in before 6-8pm. That was mistake number 1.

It only got worse. The rooms were shabby, the beds had old, in some cases not even washed, bedlinen. There was so much dust on the window frames and furniture that it almost seemed a health hazard. The decor of the room was like out of the sixties.

The rooms are separated by cardboard Walls since you hear each and every noise from around you. The windows are not double glazed and the noise from outside was horrific and lasted all night no matter what the situation of you room.

We had 4 rooms and they were all the same.

The food, both breakfast and dinner, was awful. There was a variety but the standard of food was very poor and tasteless.

No matter what don't stay here.

In all fairness the management tried to clean the room and left chocolates for us but a box of chocolate wafers doesn't make amends for what is surely a hotel that deals with people in a wholesale manner and prizes quantity over quality!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berryburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Rommema
Jerusalem Gold Hotel
Jerusalem Gold Hotel
#86 of 101 in Jerusalem
590 reviews
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
#44 of 101 in Jerusalem
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#40 of 101 in Jerusalem
476 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 101 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#82 of 101 in Jerusalem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Gate Hotel

Address: 43 Yirmiyahu Street, Jerusalem 9446728, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $85 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerusalem Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem hotels: old tradition, special atmosphere, warm reception and great Jerusalem hospitality. The Jerusalem Gate Hotel conceptualizes everything that a Jerusalem hotel in the Holy City has. It embodies a spirit of health, happiness & high standards of service. Amongst all, the true Jewish ambiance of what is specific to a unique hotel in Jerusalem. It's easily accessible to any part of the city. The Jerusalem Gate Hotel is one of the best Jerusalem hotels. It has 10 floors, 298 rooms, comfort rooms, to deluxe rooms, singles, doubles, twins and triples for the family. The rooms feature air conditioning unit / heating, direct dial phone, cable TV, hair dryer and free Wi-Fi in the lobby and hotel's rooms. A multilingual team is always available for you. Our shopping mall attached to the hotel is a shopper's paradise, with a varied choice of designer stores, pharmacy, hairdressing salon, jewelry stores, fitness center and eating places. Across the road there is an emergency facility, open 24 hours per day and around the corner is the new main bus terminal which allows the guest to hop on a bus to any part of the city or even to another part of Israel and also with a short walking distance from the light city train station. What makes the Jerusalem Gate Hotel unique in its kind is that this is the only hotel in Jerusalem that offers "Le Mehadrin Glatt Kosher meals" and a Mikve for men on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jerusalem Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing