We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever - avoid at all cost” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever - avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Despite the bad reviews we read on TripAdvisor, we were told that the hotel was great and with high standard of at least 4stars... We reserved two rooms and they were both disappointing. Everything was old and not very clean. The meals at the hotel were unedible and we had to eat out at other hotels and restaurants. The service was slow (understatement of the year) and I can't find one good thing to say about the hotel, except that it has a nice pool which is partially covered so you're not in the sun unless you want to be, which is great, considering more and more people try to avoid excessive sun exposure. The location is awkward - looks near everything, but it's not really. I'd choose any hotel over this one. In the end, we stayed only one night, and left the hotel instead of staying two more nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    354
    232
    156
    128
See reviews for
339
297
88
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

The last time I stayed at this hotel, they were in the middle of renovations. Now that the renovations are completed it is clearly one of the nicest hotels. I stayed at two other hotels in Jerusalem in the past 12 months and this hotel is far superior both in facilities and service and everyone agrees that it has the best food. the guest room and bathroom we had was brand new. The room had a fridge and safe in room The hotel was immaculately clean.

I intend to return in the next August with some of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dan_ravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

I rather enjoyed my stay at this hotel, we were upgraded to an Executive room, which looked renovated and was generally spotless. As mentioned by others, the views are great but the distance to the Old City makes for a pretty long walk...which is not a problem in itself as long as you know about it. Plus, the walks takes you past some nice market areas which are full of local color.

The pool area had a "sportier" vibe to it than most hotels and was covered but also had sun loungers nearby, thus offering the best of both worlds...it was excellent after a hot day in the Israeli sun.

Service was also quite decent, the staff were very informative when we asked them for directions, maps, etc.

Overall, I would definitely use it again on a future trip to Jerusalem, it offers good value in a city with very expensive hotels if you want something more than basic accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

This is a 60s/70s Hotel that requires modernisation. The bedrooms are partially renovated, so be careful which type you get. The views are incredible from the upper floors, however, if you were on a lower floor, I dont believe that this would make up for the small bathrooms and the very old foyer, which has by-passed retro and just looks tired. Investment has been thrown at the cavernous lower ground floor buffet restaurant, and this has worked well, offering many varied food items, although staff are not that pleasant. Therefore the newly refurbed restauranat is at odds with the rest of the hotel. There are better & more expensive hotels in jerusalem & with a more central location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

The hotel is located rather far from Old City. You either walk about 45 minutes, take a taxi for about $12.00 to $15.00 each way or ride the bus. The hotel needs a remodeling. If this was done within the last 5 years, sorry but they really missed the boat!!! The rooms leave a lot to be desired. By far not a cheap hotel!!! We were expecting something much better than what we got. The view of Jerusalem was great but again once you take a look at the rooms and the location and I am sure that it is a much better deal to pay a bit more and stay at another hotel closer to the Old City. Service was mediocre. We had to call the Front Desk to have someone bring towle to our room since the maid had forgotten to leave them. The carpet upon arrival was dirty and we also had to call for housekeeping to come up and do the job. Nevetheless, the Front Desk staff is really good at pushing for upsales on rooms, internet, breakfast, etc...obviously at an extracharge. Next time in Jerusalem...we will stay somewher else!!! No question about it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vigilanteviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Tallest hotel in Jerusalem is not a recommendation! Very nice foyer and public areas but indifferent reception staff who do not like complaints. Out -size dining room with very good buffet and helpful waiting staff - probably the best feature of the hotel! Then the horror of the bedrooms - in dire need of renovation - room was small and dark - aircon when working was noisy and not very effective - soundproofing is non existent and this hotel is in a busy spot - bathroom had someone elses hair in it and smelt - the cistern was faulty and ran all night - the sheets were well worn and had holes in them - there was a drain cover under the carpet just inside the door which tilted when walked on and then banged back into place - I felt sorry for the people underneath. Two nights of hell!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

The hotel is the tallest building on the highest part of Jerusalem .
The view from the room was overwhelming .Its located in the entrance to the city five minutes walking from the central bus station which make it very easy to approch.Its also near the new harp bridge and few minutes walking from the israeli museum,science museum,the kenneset,supreme court,bank of israel,&the roses garden.The rooms are clean&inviting.The food was superb &the staff were very friendly&helpfull.The hotel has a very nice pool &fascinating spa&completely covered with wi-fi connection

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amerq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing