We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I'm currently on my 5th and final night at the Crowne Plaza in Jerusalem as part of a tour group. I am on one of the renovated floors of the hotel. While the bed is clean and comfortable, almost everything else about the hotel is disappointing.

The bathroom was stocked with used cleaning products - not just the first night but on three different occasions. The mirror wasn't clean, which we only noticed after taking a shower and noticed that pictures had been drawn in the steam, maybe it was the maid...

Temperature controls. It's now day 5 and I still can't figure out how to use the controls. The front desk's directions were unhelpful to say the least and the in room directions were a complete waste of time.

Room layout. The TV is offset from the center of the bed and instead there is a mirror - who does this and why? Plus it's attached so you can't move it. The rest of the furniture probably came from a cheap competitor to IKEA. Huge slabs of veneer that is already peeling - give me my MALM furniture at home any day.

Internet access can't be charged to the room and is only available wirelessly. No wired access - why does that happen? Service is decently fast but it kicks you off for no apparent reason that I can see.

Buffet style meals. I've traveled to the Middle East a number of times but have never had food that looks and tastes so unappetizing. Overcooked meats, dried out vegetables and tons of variety of both... Service (if you get it) is slow and surly. The omelet guy in the morning is so upset about having to work that he undercooks eggs and no one is willing to complain - plus he doesn't speak English. You just have to leave the uncooked mess on your plate at the table and walk away. If you want something other than room temp water to drink you have to flag someone down that might or might not bring it to you by the time you are done with your "meal".

I tried room service once. 2.5 hours after I ordered - my hamburger arrived on a dirty plate with stale fries and an uncooked burger. Not undercooked - uncooked. It might have been dropped on a skillet for 30 seconds on each side but I ended up taking two bites and going out to eat instead. Best $25 bucks I've ever spent... yeah right.

Which leads me to my final point about the Crown Plaza in Jerusalem. If you can't tell from my notes about meals and IT their customer service is pathetic. No bellhops around - ever. The front desk is just horrid - if you don't speak Hebrew they will give you monosyllabic answers and when you try and follow up they just walk away. It's happened to me 4 times so far and rather than see if they continue to bat 1000, on day 5 I've decided to stay as far away from them as possible.

I'll be glad to get on a plane soon and leave the memory of this hotel in the dust.

Helpful?
3 Thank tall_AK_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    364
    241
    167
    136
See reviews for
354
314
94
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We satyed on the hotel last weekend. I know the hotel is getting renewed but why do they let people stay on the 9th floor ? The room is dirty, the rugs are stained and you cannot walk barefooted on them. The toilitery pieces were not enogh.
It looks like a rubish room.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minamanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2009

This hotel was convenient for those attending conferences in next door Conference hall and a practical base to take taxi to Old City. Generally good value. Reception staff a little inefficient. Good indian restaurant within hotel. Breakfast OK. Good guides available attached to hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rjpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Stayed for two nights. Upon checking in we were upgraded to a mini suite on the executive level. I have to agree the furniture and decor is a bit outdated but in general the accommodations and service were good. From the reviews I was expecting a lot worse but fortunatelly, I was plesantly surprised. The location, especially if you are driving, is very convenient; property has ample parking.

The brekfast has ample and good quality choices - do arrive with a big appetite!

In closing, I would say that all the property needs at this time is some remodeling.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandyManMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerfab
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2008

I stayed several weeks in this hotel over a 3 year period of time. The quality of the building, the bedroom and the main restaurant room (breakfast only) has increased. This hotel has been a mess and quite abandonned for several years. The rooms are being refurbished (Floors 14, 15 and 16 at least). So for the same price do not hesitate to demand these new bedrooms for the other are just crap!
The personnal is just awful. Always lying to you and not willing to help at any time (and price). It is just unacceptable for a 4 star hotel and for $130 per night.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel or be prepared to bargain and argue with people every single day!

I also tried the Ranaissance hotel. It is as old, expensive with rude personnal.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jerfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

Cannot imagine who gave this hotel five stars status – three at the most! When we booked the rooms on the internet we have asked specifically for the lower floor and air-conditioning because we had two years old baby with us and 84 years old lady in our group. Guess what? We’ve gotten all rooms on the 15th floor, no air conditioning, with the construction going on our floor and all the floors beneath and above us. The insulation between the rooms was close to zero – you can hear people talking two rooms down the hall not mentioning the rooms next to yours. Doors slumming all night long and drilling the walls from eight in the morning was just too much. The windows were out on the main street and the noise from passing cars was impossible to bear especially at night time. When we went to complain to the front desk one young girl was nice but not very helpful. Then came an older guy to help her deal with stubborn tourists and he was very obnoxious and rude. For 280$ per night we could have find something better than that. Next time we will always read the reviews

  • Liked — the day we left
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gary7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
243 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Hotel is in the middle of a badly needed facelift. I had an unremodeled room that was shabby and dirty. Rugs were stained and threadbare. Staff were very nice and helpful. Food was fair although the buffet breakfast was fabulous. Menu for room service and the restaurant was very limited and almost entirely dairy. Location is great for visiting the government, but not near the tourist sites. Good views on the upper floors, however. I likely would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Staff was very nice
  • Disliked — Really shabby
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bloodman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
2,054 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
#6 of 99 in Jerusalem
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing