We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting a Bit Rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #39 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Getting a Bit Rundown”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have been here before, but were a bit disappointed with how things have become a bit ran down lately. The A/C in our room was working poorly, so we had to call for maintenance. Well they sent in different people 3 times and it was always still hot. In addition, the cold water in our faucet was trickling and that was finally repaired on the third visit. Finally in our daughter's room (which was much colder than ours), there was a biting fly issue. They sprayed it three time (I see a that there is a pattern here), but when we left, they were still flying about. Although they have done some extensive renovations, there is still a lot of day-to-day upkeep that is necessary but lacking. And for the high prices they charge, this should not be so.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, and you need adjoining rooms, get rooms with a common shared door, instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlelonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRAM K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest
I am writing i regard to your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem.I would like to thank you for bringing your feedback to our attention.
Like the other Crowne Plaza Hotels we are dedicated to provide a high level service and standards.Therefore i was very surprised at your experience here,Ideeply appologize for any inconvenice you may had.
We took to our attention all your comments that you mentioned,and i will share with our managements team.
Thank you again for staying with us,and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again soon.
Sincerely,Akram Khweis,Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    362
    239
    162
    135
See reviews for
350
309
93
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Holland America booked us here. The pill facilities are very good. The hotel wouldn't offer any Crowne Points to my loyalty account. My room was spacious and comfortable, however the bathroom was old, not maintained well, and rust, peeling ceiling paint an old clogged shower head was bothersome. The advertised in room free wifi was slow, totally unreliable and almost useless. It would disconnect frequently as well. The restaurant food was good for dinner and breakfast. I would suggest you inspect the room assigned to you before accepting it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BillyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRAM K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest
I am writing i regard to your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem.I would like to thank you for bringing your feedback to our attention.
Like the other Crowne Plaza Hotels we are dedicated to provide a high level service and standards.Therefore i was very surprised at your experience here,Ideeply appologize for any inconvenice you may had.
We took to our attention all your comments that you mentioned,and i will share with our managements team.
Thank you again for staying with us,and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again soon.
Sincerely,Akram Khweis,Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

i arrived monday afternoon ,the guest were waiting at the front desk all of them on line ,the front desk staff was friendly and doing good job,fast check in and clear expellation about the facielties,we went to eat at Genissis bar resturant,the food was tastey and the service is the best,the waitress was polite and she knows how to serve the customers.i thing that place should be recomended to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank modern2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRAM K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.
I appreciate feedback that we recived,whether possitive or negative to ensure we provide the best level service and facilities that we can give to our guest.Thank you again for your review and i hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,Akram Khweis,Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa District, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We reserved me and my friends a room at the crowne plaza jeruslem, after we got the rooms we got a call from a lady by name ifat that gave us deal to make a massage and to use the wet and dry sauna.the masagestic ladies was experts and relaxed with a good price, we enjoyed a lot.thank you Ifat for the great service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munica145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRAM K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.
I appreciate feedback that we recived,whether possitive or negative to ensure we provide the best level service and facilities that we can give to our guest.Thank you again for your review and i hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,Akram Khweis,Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

we found the hotel to be excellent
the staff was very helpful and always available and friendly.
excellent location, food esthetically presented plentiful and tasty
clean, modern wonderful hotel
looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: the upper floor offer an view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRAM K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review.We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We appreciate the candid feedback we receive,and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Sincerely,Akram Khweis,Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Crowne Plaza Jerusalem.
Don't waste your money or points!

I booked two rooms for 3 days on points several months prior to my arrival. A few days before my trip I booked two rooms at a standard rate as I wanted them to be available for a 5am arrival.
After 30+ hours of door to door travel we arrived at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. It appeared run down and closed. The security guard at the gate made no attempt to greet us when we pulled up. I had to get out of the car and walk to the dilapidated booth and ask where check in was. She vaguely pointed and opened the gate (that could have been more efficient, but it was 5am so I let that pass).
The check in desk was abandoned but I was finally greeted after about 10 min. The clerk was unable to find my reservation by last name, confirmation number or Platinum Elite number (Platinum Elite has absolutely no meaning here). After about 20 min he found my reservation for the following three days, and told me the rooms would not be available until 3pm. I then explained, once again, that I had the foresight to book two rooms for the night before, thereby insuring that I'd have rooms available immediately upon arrival. After showing him my confirmation on my IHG app he finally agreed that I did have reservations but said the rooms were still not ready (check in was at 3pm yesterday, it's now 6am -15 hours past and the rooms are not ready? Guess they were given away). We were asked to wait and he would try to find some rooms (no offer of water or coffee). After an hour and two inquiries with two separate clerks we were finally given rooms on the 9th floor (no mention of comping the rooms for the inconvenience). The rooms looked like they were out of a 3rd world hostel. Filthy carpets and bathrooms, no amenities, paint flaking off the walls. Bath towels that looked like they came out of a garage.

This is not a clean hotel, trash in common areas, dirty carpets, strong smell of stale smoke, dirty and chipped paint, outside is a complete disaster.

After a very brief rest (housekeeping racket in the halls and construction on the pipes above our rooms killed any chance of sleep) we went out to eat. Upon our return around 2pm, our new and "renovated" rooms were available on the 4th floor. The 4th floor smells like a dirty ashtray in a dank bar.
The word "renovated" is clearly open to great interpretation at the Crowne Plaza. This room too had dirty carpets, the furniture was straight out of the '80s, cheap and covered with enough dust that you could write your name on the headboard. This "deluxe" room came with a few amenities, a dingy electric kettle with water from the last guest (very classy), two cheap paper cups and a bottle of water with the seal already broken (that seems safe). The 2 coffee packets and cups were never changed or added to during my stay. However, the mini bar was checked diligently (several erroneous charges upon checkout).
The room has a small balcony that has not been cleaned since the building was erected. It has a view of a parking lot and the porte-cochère/garbage bin. Back in the room you will find that there is no way to turn off the loud fan and no additional blankets are provided. You will also hear a cacophony of unsupervised children playing in the hallways and slamming doors as the facilities department is unaware that the door closers are adjustable.

A redeeming point to the hotel was the food. The restaurant serves buffet style (be sure you have a reservation) and the food was good with many options. The servers were pleasant and attentive (must be outsourced).
The hotel has a decent gym and pool, although the gym closes at 4pm, though listed as open till 6pm.

The location seems a bit out of the way and the area is not particularly inviting for walking around.

The service is brusk and borderline rude. Apparently, no one here has any interest in repeat business.
How this place maintains a Crowne Plaza moniker is beyond me.

Apparently the IHG Properties in Israel are under license and operated by AFI Hotels.

Do yourself a favour and make your accommodations elsewhere.

Someone call Anthony Melchiorri from Hotel Impossible. This place needs help!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ARILAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRAM K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel.Your comments are highly valuable to us ,please accept our sincere apology for the shortcoming you experienced and we reget our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay.
We have taken note of the points you"ve raised and have shared these with our managment team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.
Thank you for staying with us,and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Sincerely,Akram Khweis,Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This the second time at the crowne plaza jerusalem,our feeling not changed,the staff welcomed us as a vip returning guests we got an upgrade room without extra fee complementry water and chocolate in the room and free breakfast.i thing crowne plaza always will be my first choice in jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRAM K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review.We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We appreciate the candid feedback we receive,and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Sincerely,Akram Khweis,Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing