We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst service in Israel; mediocre food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archibald C. Harte Restaurant

Archibald C. Harte Restaurant
Ranked #456 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The worst service in Israel; mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had high expectations for this place. Located across the street from the King David Hotel, it is in a posh neighborhood of Jerusalem not far from the Old City. The building itself is spectacular, and I'd read good reviews on Trip Advisor. Maybe it was an off night but our waiter disappeared half-way through our meal, NEVER to return! I had to stand up several times to get help, like asking for a dessert menu, or some tea. In fact they never even brought the tea. The food was not bad, but for the price (it's moderately priced) and for the location I expected far better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonPgh206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    17
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The backdrop to this lovely restaurant is the beautiful, old YMCA building that is now a lovely hotel. The 3 Arches is part of this on King David Street, not far from Mamila and the Old City.
Typical middle eastern food, freshly cooked and nicely served, full of different flavours. Enormous and plentiful appetizers and warm pittas. The wine wasn't so good. Went twice and drank nice, ice cold water! Very reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JestherBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Nice, but has seen better days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

First Impressions: Along King David Street, straddled between the Christian and Armenian Quarters, sits the Three Arches YMCA Restaurant. It has a longstanding history with another local historic landmark across the street: The King David Hotel. Offering an eclectic international menu, it serves non-kosher meals throughout the day. (Caveat: This is a review of the restaurant, not the YMCA hotel.)

PROS: Location... location... location is its best asset. It's easy to find. If not, everyone knows where it is. There's outside front patio seating with giant parasols for shade. Open during the Shabbat.

CONS: Unfortunately, the restaurant is already showing its age and may be on a slow decline. I may be wrong, but I feel like it's running on survival mode, so to speak, no doubt feeling the market pressure from the sagging economy or the countless new "competition" sprouting around the Old City, particularly at the Mamilla Mall. This is reflected in the cook's blase' attitude and the staff's defeated demeanour.

Verdict: I'd be hard-pressed to recommend this place. Sorry, guys, tradition and history aside, you won't be missing much if you skip this place. A coin toss. Grade B.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Older hotel with lots of history. Rooms small but adequate. Breakfast good. Location very very good; easy walk to Old City, but, trams, and most other place in Jerusalem.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chaim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic but average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The YMCA is just across the King David Hotel. It is a landmark in the New City of Jerusalem. The arches and magnificent design of the building is worth the visit. I have never stayed at the YMCA, but I have attend concerts and eaten at the restaurant. I do not believe that you would be missing anything if you failed to visit this place. But if you want a cool glass of lemonade and a historic view of the King David Hotel, this is the place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archibald C. Harte Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Archibald C. Harte Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing