We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good, reliable food and drink downtown” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Hillel

Cafe Hillel
Ranked #14 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Cafe, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Safed, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good, reliable food and drink downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is one of the places I come to when I visit Jerusalem and want something downtown. It usually busy, especially with people who need a wifi connection. I've tried various dishes at different times, from salads, to mains, to snacks and sandwiches. All very reliable and good sized portions. It's also fine just to sit and have coffee.
Last time I came, during Hanukkah I brought my sister and we had two main dishes, nana tea, and coffee. We asked for the focaccia bread, but the waiter forgot and brought regular jabettas instead. They were quite busy so we didn't bother to ask him to replace it. When the bill came we reminded them that we didn't get the focaccia, so the waiter altered the bill without fuss.
The light rail can be a bit noisy when you sit outside. The inside seating is very popular in summer as they have air-conditioning. As the toilets are upstairs it may not be suitable for people with disabilities.
Considering the location the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tzfatisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    12
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best unexpected service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lunchtime, we sat at the terrace, we were 7. Very busy, all terraces were packed. Everyone ordered different dishes, everyone was happy except 1. He wasn't going to complain, but the waiter asked if we were all satisfied, so we told him. The manager came over immediately, offered to replaced with anything else on the menu. At my husband's request, she brought back the same dish but prepared in much better manner and that made him VERY happy. It was delicious. The manager came back, made sure everything was allright and was quite gracious. We will definitely recommend and return to this cafe. We did not expect this kind on service at an israeli cafe!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eylana418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amongst all the other cafes on Jaffa - we liked this one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just another cafe on Jaffa. But with a great breakfast, good coffee, pleasant & helpful staff and great for people-watching - we could have wasted much of several days there. Interesting "singer" seemed to be in residence every lunchtime on the opposite side of the street - singing the same "tune" - never did find out the story.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drift T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast divine at Hillel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

47 shekels for a foccacia, two eggs, drink, tuna, salad... great deal!
French toast AND hot cocoa made from REAL Chocolate!! (my kids loved it!!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lowakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I come to the Yafo Street location often to enjoy a nice cup of coffee and I have always received good to great service. That's pretty rare in Israel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank miriamlovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hillel also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Cafe Hillel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing