We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #60 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a week over new year. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the restaurant was particularly nice. It was difficult to find European style breakfast anywhere nearby and the hotel provided a lovely breakfast buffet for a supplement.
It's a great base for exploring the Old City as it's situated very close to Damascus Gate. The only downside was that my partner's phone was either lost or stolen from the transfer bus on one of the excursions offered by the hotel. I reported this to the tour guide at the time, but am not able to email the hotel to get in touch with them about the insurance claim as their website doesn't work. ST GEORGE HOTEL - PLEASE GET IN TOUCH WITH ME!

Room Tip: Views from the rooms aren't particularly great, but the view from the rooftop terrace are fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisreen M, E-commerce Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing the St George Hotel for your stay in Jerusalem, it was our pleasure to welcome you at our primacy.
We highly appreciate your comments and feedback, if you wish to contact us further please feel free to write us at our email info@stgeorgehoteljerusalem.com
Always at your service, the St George Hotel Jerusalem team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    93
    44
    21
    12
See reviews for
42
55
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel has a great location a short walk from the Damascus gate. Its location in East Jerusalem is, however, not for everyone. We never felt unsafe but the area is a little rough. The restaurant was very good and the staff was quite young but helpful enough.

Room Tip: The rooms that face above the hotel entrance can be noisy. Also, choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solonoi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I liked the hotel and the hospitality. Just i had a bad experience from the security workers. I parked at the entrance of the hotel. I didn't know where to park exactly. I was searching for the parking. And suddenly. Someone came to my window and started shouting on me. I didn't understand why he is shouting. And then i realized that he is the security guy. And asking why am standing there. So i told him i want to park the car that i can arrive to the workshop in the hotel. Anyways i moved from there and i found parking close to the hotel. When i arrived to entrance of the hotel. I saw that they are waiting for me and they want to talk to me. So i started and said why you shout on customers. He said this is my job! Then i said you should respect and talk quietly and in good service way with customers. He said this is the way i know how to talk!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank za3za3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Greetings from St George Jerusalem Hotel.
We sincerely apologize for the attitude of our security staff. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities. Our General Manager would very much like to hear your feedback. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at 02-6277232 and ask to talk to the office of the General Manager.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Overall the hotel was fine. The room was small, but comfortable. We had a group of three rooms, and all were about the same. Some of the highlights - good breakfast, good location near Old City, decent size rooms for the area, friendly staff. Some of the lows - moldy showers and bathrooms, bathroom smelled like sewage when toilet flushed (called maintenance for both of these issues, but instead of fixing the issue they just left muddy footprints in bathroom), never changed sheets even though a child spilled some stuff on sheets and we requested change, difficult to understand thermostat, awful elevators, bartender had no idea what he was doing.

Generally, if you are in a pinch, it is fine to stay here. However, I would not return and instead I would spend the extra money per night to stay at a more upscale hotel.

Room Tip: Had rooms on both sides of hallway on 4th floor. Rooms on same side as elevators had much better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACJPChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have experienced during your stay. Careful note has been taken of your comments which have been discussed in detail with the staff concerned in order to ensure that remedy actions are being taken without delay.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again. With all our best wishes for a happy and successful year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I spent a lot of time looking at hotel reviews for Jerusalem in Tripadvisor.
I'm glad I did because it led me to this hotel.
Here are the reasons why I recommend you stay at this hotel when you're visiting Jerusalem:

* Jerusalem is an expensive city and it is easy to be scammed, money-wise. The tariff at this hotel is reasonable.
* A good breakfast is provided with both hot and cold components, including smoked salmon and mushroom frittata.
* On the fifth floor is the Turquoise restaurant. The genre is lebanese and the food is delicious. I especially recommend the fried kebbe and the lamb meatball soup. Prices are very reasonable here.
* The aforementioned restaurant and breakfast venue are located on the fifth floor with an incredible view over the Old City. There is also a pool and sun-baking terrace. We didn't make use of this facility because it was covered with snow. Not really the hotel's fault when Jerusalem had suffered the worst storm in 100 years!
* Although relatively small, standard bedrooms are perfectly formed, clean and have an excellent shower with plenty of hot water and lots of pressure.
* The staff is delightful and want to help you. Because we arrived just after the snow storm, they would pour hot water outside before we left to try and remove ice.
* You are only a 10 minute walk downhill to the Damascus Gate and a 10 minute walk uphill to the American Colony Hotel. The latter is worth a visit but be prepared to pay a lot for a meal here.
* I am due to fly out from Tel Aviv tomorrow at midnight. Because the hotel has granted me a late checkout at 5 PM, I can still tour in the morning, have a shower and be ready for my transfer at 6pm. I think this is very generous.

East Jerusalem is different from West Jerusalem. It has more of a Middle Eastern feel and you can hear the muezzin call at the traditional times. You can also hear the bells of St George's Cathedral just up the road. Don't worry about walking in this area. My friend I, both female, found it perfectly safe. I just wouldn't walk around late at night, alone. That is only sensible in a lot of places!
The best of both worlds. Reasonably priced and convenient.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 220 away from the road. We heard no noises except when the people above us had a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionessGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was of great pleasure being of service to you. We wish you a merry Christmas and a prosperous new year filled with good health, happiness and success. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again, maybe during summer time so you can use the pool and take advantage of the sun.
Warm greetings and best wishes from all the team at St George Hotel Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent five nights at this hotel, and found it to be comfortable, clean, and convenient. Most of the staff were noticeably very young, but on the whole proved to be very efficient and friendly.
Unfortunately the first night of our stay was disrupted by an emergency evacuation caused by activation of the fire alarm system by a person or persons unknown with some sort of grievance against the hotel. Tear gas or something similar was released in the hotel and all the guests were requested to stay in the rear garden area until the problem was resolved by the Emergency Services. The hotel staff did a commendable job providing blankets and drinks to all the guests as the night time temperature was uncomfortably chilly when only wearing sleeping attire. Patio heaters were also brought in to help with the situation. After a few hours we were allowed to return to our rooms and settled down to a peaceful remainder of the night. Fortunately the remainder of our stay was incident free, however the staff continued to be very apologetic and hoped that the incident had not spoiled our stay. We tried to ensure them that we did not apportion any blame to the hotel, and insisted that the incident would not influence any decision to stay there in the future.
From the roof level swimming pool terrace, and Lebanese Restaurant the views are spectacular, and the close proximity of the hotel to Damascus gate makes exploration of the old city easy.
Overall we were very happy with our choice of hotel and would have no hesitation in either returning oursleves or recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the main entrance can be affected by traffic noise, and therefore rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bodkinAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings from the St George Landmark Hotel. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for what happened at the hotel which was out of our control. Thank you for understanding and for taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay with us. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is walking distance to all the tops sites in Jerusalem. This hotel is comfortable, clean and above all has great service. They even give you a sleep mask and ear plugs for noise.
The dining area has a lovely terrace and good service. A varied amount of food for breakfast. Overall no complaints for this hotel. Only one suggestion and this goes for most hotels, double paned windows. This hotel also has wifi :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#44 of 98 in Jerusalem
216 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 98 in Jerusalem
178 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#32 of 98 in Jerusalem
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holy Land Hotel
#59 of 98 in Jerusalem
141 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#49 of 98 in Jerusalem
215 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 98 in Jerusalem
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel Jerusalem

Property: St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 6 Amr Ibn Al Aas st., Jerusalem 91544, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel Jerusalem is located in the heart of Jerusalem city, offering guests a contemporary stay in the center of the historical city of Jerusalem. The St George Hotel is the only choice for international and local visitors, with unparalleled service business and dining facilities, besides the top floor pool overlooking the city of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. George Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing