We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for visiting the old city of Jerusalem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Amman
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good base for visiting the old city of Jerusalem”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent five nights at this hotel, and found it to be comfortable, clean, and convenient. Most of the staff were noticeably very young, but on the whole proved to be very efficient and friendly.
Unfortunately the first night of our stay was disrupted by an emergency evacuation caused by activation of the fire alarm system by a person or persons unknown with some sort of grievance against the hotel. Tear gas or something similar was released in the hotel and all the guests were requested to stay in the rear garden area until the problem was resolved by the Emergency Services. The hotel staff did a commendable job providing blankets and drinks to all the guests as the night time temperature was uncomfortably chilly when only wearing sleeping attire. Patio heaters were also brought in to help with the situation. After a few hours we were allowed to return to our rooms and settled down to a peaceful remainder of the night. Fortunately the remainder of our stay was incident free, however the staff continued to be very apologetic and hoped that the incident had not spoiled our stay. We tried to ensure them that we did not apportion any blame to the hotel, and insisted that the incident would not influence any decision to stay there in the future.
From the roof level swimming pool terrace, and Lebanese Restaurant the views are spectacular, and the close proximity of the hotel to Damascus gate makes exploration of the old city easy.
Overall we were very happy with our choice of hotel and would have no hesitation in either returning oursleves or recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the main entrance can be affected by traffic noise, and therefore rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bodkinAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings from the St George Landmark Hotel. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for what happened at the hotel which was out of our control. Thank you for understanding and for taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay with us. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    95
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
42
56
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is walking distance to all the tops sites in Jerusalem. This hotel is comfortable, clean and above all has great service. They even give you a sleep mask and ear plugs for noise.
The dining area has a lovely terrace and good service. A varied amount of food for breakfast. Overall no complaints for this hotel. Only one suggestion and this goes for most hotels, double paned windows. This hotel also has wifi :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, food delicious, rooms A+ , pool amazing, it is near the city centre, awsome, love it and the staff is also excellent. There is a great wine bar on the ground floor, everything is new and great.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istanbul468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Five of us, two tour guides decided to have dinner there based on a great review by a food critic in the local newspaper. Restaurant was definitely under staffed and one menu was available for 5 guests!. I asked for two additional menus and we were politely asked to share as they were short of menus. We sat on the roof and when the sun came down basically we were sitting in the dark, barely able to see what we were eating. We asked for candle light, anything but none came. Around us were electric lamps for light and heating and only at the insistence of guests at an adjoining table were we able to get one, only problem was that they were not functioning properly and kept having to be reset due to some electrical malfunction. The food was excellent, decent prices and the decor was first class but they definitely have some staff problems to deal with in order to give them a high review.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeZias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking your time to post your experience at the Turquoise restaurant. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced. Kindly be informed that we shared your feedback with our team in order to improve our services and ensure that remedy actions are being taken without delay.
We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After three days in a sub-par Tel Aviv hotel, the St. George was a welcomed change. Unlike some other reviewers we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I purposely noted the names of two of the female receptionists so that I could compliment them by name, unfortunately I lost my notes somewhere between Jerusalem and Sacramento. Both helped us several times, including arranging transport to Bethlehem and making changes to upcoming reservations at different hotels. We didn't eat at the restaurant but found the staff at both bars to be just as friendly.

The room was nice. Nothing special, but clean and spacious.

The rooftop pool is the highlight of the hotel. I can't imagine there any other pool in the world that commands such an amazing/historical view.

Another plus was the location in East Jerusalem. It's in an Arab nieghborhood less than a 5 minute walk to the Damascus Gate. On the way you pass through a lively market area and the Arab bus station.

I don't foresee ever returning to Jerusalem, but if I do, I'll stay here again.

*the American Colony Hotel is less than 10 minutes away by foot. It was too expensive for our budget but tis worth checking out for a quick drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts of your stay at our hotel. We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Customer care is our highest priority and it is gratifying to receive such praise from our customers.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are in Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The good:

Great location just a few minutes stroll from the Old City, the pool, friendly and helpful staff, the Lebanese restaurant on the roof was great.

The bad:

We had staff walk into our room on two separate occasions unannounced, both times we were not decent. After the second time we complained and the housekeeping manager came to our room to clarify what happened. He apologised and said he'd look into it but I did not feel we had closure or assurance that it wouldn't happen again. Breakfast was not terrible but far from great. While the staff are friendly and have good intentions on the whole the hospitality feels a little unpolished and has room for improvement.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzkakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your experience at our hotel with us. We sincerely apologize for the disturbance you had from our staff. We have also noted your feedback with regards to our restaurant facilities and we have shared it with our team in order to improve the the mentioned points.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

As short as possible. The staff needs to learn how to deal with the guests. Location is good 5 min walk from bab al3amood. Even though the hotel is owned and run by Arabs. But they still treat Arabs as if they are second class guests. And if you speak to the staff in another language they will not understand you. Food is so bad that I had to walk down the road and buy a sandwich from a street vendor, and skip going to the dinner I payed for at the hotel. The waiters turn off hot plates and dim the lights at the Resturant when they feel like they want to go home after dinner. It is not a 5 star hotel. I will give it a 3 star. Poor poor Managment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#53 of 99 in Jerusalem
183 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#43 of 99 in Jerusalem
225 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#33 of 99 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#47 of 99 in Jerusalem
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel Jerusalem

Property: St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 6 Amr Ibn Al Aas st., Jerusalem 91544, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel Jerusalem is located in the heart of Jerusalem city, offering guests a contemporary stay in the center of the historical city of Jerusalem. The St George Hotel is the only choice for international and local visitors, with unparalleled service business and dining facilities, besides the top floor pool overlooking the city of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your St. George Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing