We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is open on Shabbat”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mandarin

Mandarin
Ranked #563 of 699 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Use google genius! Restaurant does not have its own site.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It is open on Shabbat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Mandarin is one of the few places open on Shabbat and holidays. I had the sesame chicken which was OK. The rice and tea are an extra cost. The meal was adequate, and the portion was large. There is nothing special in my meal and nothing special was suggested. The wait staff Seemed more interested in getting people in and out. I would return, because it is open when all else is closed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robinharlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    11
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Goood!!!! Special chinese dishes! Fully recomended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We dined there on Passover holiday , 2013, when it seemed that all the restaurants in Jerusalem are closed....It was so great. We first ordered the crispy duck but when we saw what the next table got, we demanded that...chicken kon fuo....so nice, the dish arrives sizzling to your table. the presentations is great. my vegan daughter had black bean sauce tofu and it was great too, other dishes like lemon chicken and beef were finger licking good...so fully recommended.
They have at least 9 vegan items on the menu, and lots of specialties.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real Chinese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've been living in China for 5 years and Chinise food is like my national love food now. This place is a real Chinese resto, the food is not for european people like everywhere else but for chinese people. The staff is chinese. If you know some traditional dishes in chinese language and they're not in the menu, you can just told them and they will cook it for you! When we first ask them so, they where very surprised and said something like this: 'I thought only chinese people eat this'. It was fun and tasty, nostalgia fo China.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kera1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“I didn't hurry back in a year's time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was virtually dying to get some Chinese food when I came to Jerusalem in December 2011. Found Mandarin and thought it would do the job. The restaurant is owned and run by Chinese, the decor is traditional Chinese, but there's nothing special about the place or the food. It loses out to an average London-based Gerrard St restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank safaricakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food is too simple and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

According to my experience last few times. I found the food of this resturant is too expensive as the food were too simple. We need take another food always outside immaditately for next meal after dine here as not full enough. (Because the resturant is fixed meal by tour)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wong B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mandarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing