We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique place in a charming village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alegra - Boutique Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alegra - Boutique Hotel
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Level Contributor
313 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“unique place in a charming village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

A unique pampering elegant and sophisticated small hotel surrounded by a garden and small cool water pool in one of the most charming villages in Israel which include different churches and musical center open on weekends. The hotel has a chef so dinner is delightful. Confirm yr reservation directly with the hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    32
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
20
203
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the hotel and had a very positive experience. The hotel designed in good taste, each suite is unique and very comfortable (by the way we got free upgrade to superior suite). It is located in an ancient building (with a nice love story associated to). Staff is friendly and helpful (booked a restaurant for us in no time). Hotel chef is great, we had a wonderful breakfast made by him (unfortunately did not have a chance to order dinner, it was Sabbath).
Definitely would recommend the hotel if you seek luxury and unique atmosphere and style.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a wedding, and despite some initial difficulty finding the entrance (get clear directions before you go!), we didn't want to leave once we arrived.

Just beautiful, from every angle and vista. The rooms are unique and beautiful, and the grounds and setting unmatched. It is perfect for a romantic retreat away from the bustle of Jerusalem, but certainly close enough if needed...great to take over for a wedding or retreat, worked great for the wedding.

Amazing art collection displayed throughout, world-class showers/baths in room, great small touches in the room.

Only drawback was lack of lotion/moisterizer in the bathroom (maybe ours was missing?) despite really outstanding toiletries and bath products, and would have loved down pillows and a down duvet instead of synthetic, but otherwise the bed was sumptuous and very comfortable.

Food and service were amazing, very personalized.

Very special hotel, highly recommend, would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingPRgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This lovely boutique hotel, situated in an ancient building in the beautiful and magical Ein-Kerem, is simply superb. A perfect combination between old and new. On arrival we were immediately made to feel very welcome and at home by the staff. Our room was large, luxurious and extremely comfortable. We had a wonderful dinner around the chef 's table with excellent food. The breakfasts were elegant, generous, and extremely tasty as well. We stayed for two nights and wish we could stay more, but would definitely come back.

Ilan & Irit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilan_Irit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have spent a weekend staying in Alegra with my wife, having given that weekend as a gift.
At first, we weren't sure what to expect from a boutique hotel. But soon enough, we've come to realize that a very unique experience was about to unfold. And so it did:
A wonderful, colorful and romantic stay, accompanied by class A hospitality, accommodation, and service. Staff was *extremely* polite, helpful and generous. Grade A++ for the food, which was all we could have dreamed of. And top of it all, its in the heart of Ein-Karem, which provides a great atmosphere, making the experience a whole.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d4vidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and i stayed there for one night.The atmosphere at this hotel is very special.
The hotel itself has 7 suites, each with it's own unique design.
The suite design is a great combination of antique look (old stones and arches) with all the modern comfort you can have. Our suite had a small balcony, with the hotel's inner garden in close proximity. One cannot really describe the feeling of sitting in the garden, looking at the stars, with some nice jazz music in the background... add to it that special atmosphere that Jerusalem has, and you have got a winner.
The staff of the hotel are very friendly and helpful, and since the hotel is small, you get a more personal feeling from the staff, than you would get from a bigger, more commercial hotel. As for food, this is another example of the personal touch that is what this hotel is all about.
At breakfest we sat at the chef's table (you have a big chef's table and some small standard tables), and he makes your food, just in front of you. You get a chance not only to see the food being prepared, but also a chance to talk to the chef who is very friendly. We didn't have dinner there, but i can tell you that sitting in the chef's table for a five course meal is definitely on our "to do" list for next time. The food itself at breakfest was very good.
The location itself (Ein Karem) is very nice, and there some good food options a walking distance from the hotel.
All in all, this is very unique and romantic hotel, recommended for couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrorWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The setting in Ein Karem is very nice, but it is a long drive or a fairly expensive taxi (80 NIS) ride to the Old City. The hotel is charming, the staff are very attentive, and the food is excellent, both the included breakfast and the special dinners (at 85 USD + wine and service). Overall-highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#4 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegra - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegra - Boutique Hotel

Property: Alegra - Boutique Hotel
Address: 13 Derekh ha-Akhayot | Ein Kerem, Jerusalem 9574612, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alegra - Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegra boutique hotel-The hotel is located in a lovely and historic neighborhood in Jerusalem, called Ein Karem. In This magical area you can find many different activities: old churches, national parks, great restaurants, bars and more. It's only a 15 minute drive from the old city of Jerusalem, and the city center. In our hotel you can enjoy 7 decorated units, which 6 of them are suites. All of the rooms are equipped with satellite TV, AC, a king size bed, an espresso machine and a wireless internet connection. Our facility also offers a steam sauna, a cozy swimming pool, and beautiful gardens with lovely sitting areas.In addition we give a high standard service that includes valet parking and spa treatments.We also offer both breakfast and dinner, which are made by our well known chef, who you can read about in the text below. Alegra's Kitchen-Alegra's Kitchen is the hotel's restaurant. In the restaurant there are two options of sitting - a chef table and private tables. Our chef, Yaron Vinkler, is an experienced well known chef, whose culinary choices are influenced by the local growths and the authentic kitchen of both Israel and Jerusalem. The wonderful breakfast includes homemade breads and focaccias that are baked in a hot stone oven called a "Tabun". Shakshuka - a traditional Israeli egg dish poached in a sauce of tomatoes, onions, peppers and herbs, a vegetables Salad, a variety of cheeses and more. The chef's dinner is a special experience with 6-7 courses, which all are cooked in front of the guests in our open kitchen. The courses are put together from fresh ingredients that are found in the local market. Hot and cold drinks are included as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Alegra - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing