We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alegra - Boutique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a unique experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and i stayed there for one night.The atmosphere at this hotel is very special.
The hotel itself has 7 suites, each with it's own unique design.
The suite design is a great combination of antique look (old stones and arches) with all the modern comfort you can have. Our suite had a small balcony, with the hotel's inner garden in close proximity. One cannot really describe the feeling of sitting in the garden, looking at the stars, with some nice jazz music in the background... add to it that special atmosphere that Jerusalem has, and you have got a winner.
The staff of the hotel are very friendly and helpful, and since the hotel is small, you get a more personal feeling from the staff, than you would get from a bigger, more commercial hotel. As for food, this is another example of the personal touch that is what this hotel is all about.
At breakfest we sat at the chef's table (you have a big chef's table and some small standard tables), and he makes your food, just in front of you. You get a chance not only to see the food being prepared, but also a chance to talk to the chef who is very friendly. We didn't have dinner there, but i can tell you that sitting in the chef's table for a five course meal is definitely on our "to do" list for next time. The food itself at breakfest was very good.
The location itself (Ein Karem) is very nice, and there some good food options a walking distance from the hotel.
All in all, this is very unique and romantic hotel, recommended for couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrorWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    34
    24
    15
    9
See reviews for
24
223
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The setting in Ein Karem is very nice, but it is a long drive or a fairly expensive taxi (80 NIS) ride to the Old City. The hotel is charming, the staff are very attentive, and the food is excellent, both the included breakfast and the special dinners (at 85 USD + wine and service). Overall-highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Was struggling to find a good boutique hotel in Jerusalem when I saw the alegra on trip advisor. It's a new hotel, set in the hills away from the city, less than ten rooms and absolutely beautifully done up inside and out (spent a lovely couple of hours in the garden). And to top everything off I would strongly recommend eating in the restaurant. It is very intimate, and great fun to sit up on the chefs table chatting and watching while he cooks and the food is totally delicious, one of the best meals I've had in a very long time

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lausam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and kids took me there for a night, on my 50 birthday.
The neighborhood is wounderful, it's far from the center of Jerusalem, but it's quite and there is magic in the air .
The rooms are very large and decorated very nice, contemporary but homey.
The restaurant is excellent, the chef Yaron, cooks wonderfully , right next to you, so you can actully feel like you are in the chef's kitchen .
It's a very good hotel but a litle, just a litle over priced.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udi1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Alegra is a quite boutique hotel in Ein Cerem, near Jerusalem, with large and comfortable rooms, a beautiful garden and a great chef.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Absolutely stunning boutique hotel - at the heart of Ein Karem, one of the oldest neighborhood of Jerusalem, in a renovated old house. The hotel has six suites and an additional room, all very stylish and well designed, with all the amenities you'd expect. Included in your night is a Chef Dinner, which is an absolute culinary peak - Yaron (the in house chef) cooks a delicious dinner with 6-7 courses, all hand made in front of your eyes, a real wonder. The chef also prepares fresh breakfast every day, a great success as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slovoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

we have stay 2 nights and enjoy the magical garden and very good restaurant.
the staff was very nice and good exert itself to please and make you comport.
The room we have got -just beside the front desk was very n an noisy.
The bathroom leak and water got into the room and the there were some lights which did not work. However the staff was immediate to fix and arrange everything.

Room Tip: do not use the room near the front desk - it is very nand small. try getting 2nd floor roomoisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoooTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerusalem
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,018 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
405 reviews
Nachla'ot
Bezalel Hotel Jerusalem - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegra - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegra - Boutique Hotel

Property: Alegra - Boutique Hotel
Address: 13 Derekh ha-Akhayot | Ein Kerem, Jerusalem 9574612, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alegra - Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegra boutique hotel-The hotel is located in a lovely and historic neighborhood in Jerusalem, called Ein Karem. In This magical area you can find many different activities: old churches, national parks, great restaurants, bars and more. It's only a 15 minute drive from the old city of Jerusalem, and the city center. In our hotel you can enjoy 7 decorated units, which 6 of them are suites. All of the rooms are equipped with satellite TV, AC, a king size bed, an espresso machine and a wireless internet connection. Our facility also offers a steam sauna, a cozy swimming pool, and beautiful gardens with lovely sitting areas.In addition we give a high standard service that includes valet parking and spa treatments.We also offer both breakfast and dinner, which are made by our well known chef, who you can read about in the text below. Alegra's Kitchen-Alegra's Kitchen is the hotel's restaurant. In the restaurant there are two options of sitting - a chef table and private tables. Our chef, Yaron Vinkler, is an experienced well known chef, whose culinary choices are influenced by the local growths and the authentic kitchen of both Israel and Jerusalem. The wonderful breakfast includes homemade breads and focaccias that are baked in a hot stone oven called a "Tabun". Shakshuka - a traditional Israeli egg dish poached in a sauce of tomatoes, onions, peppers and herbs, a vegetables Salad, a variety of cheeses and more. The chef's dinner is a special experience with 6-7 courses, which all are cooked in front of the guests in our open kitchen. The courses are put together from fresh ingredients that are found in the local market. Hot and cold drinks are included as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alegra - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing