We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; friendly people; pleasant accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of House 57

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House 57
Ranked #10 of 57 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location; friendly people; pleasant accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Last year we stayed at House 57 for 5 days; this year, we stayed for two weeks. We chose to return because of House 57's great location, friendly atmosphere, pleasant, quiet neighborhood, and gracious host. House 57 is within easy walking distance of a little neighborhood shopping center where we could shop for pastries, groceries, and much more, and where we could also have a pleasant meal at a sit-down restaurant. In minutes, we could walk to the light rail or bus, and the neighborhood was pleasant just for a stroll. Breakfast at House 57 afforded the opportunity to chat with guests from around the world; we shared and received ideas about what to see and how to get there; we made new friends and experienced a sense of fellowship with other guests. Nir, owner of House 57, was readily available, gracious, and helpful. He makes his guest feel valued and welcomed. When we returned to House 57 after a full day of site-seeing, we could linger on the porch or go directly to our room, which was comfortable and clean. We will definitely return to House 57 the next time we visit Israel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jskauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
67
41
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bloomfield hills, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

If what you want is an American style hotel, don't read further. But if you like a simple but very clean room with a small but clean bathroom/shower, big flat screen/numerous channels, good breakfast, hospitable host/owner who'll help you with any eventuality, this'll be the place. Located in a nice neighborhood in good proximity to the center city (car/electric rail). Owner greeted us when we drove up and helped us with a heavy bag. Pleasant conversation with other guests at breakfast which is held on a beautiful terrace/patio that is heated in the winter. The price is right, too. An entire week at House 57 would cover only one night at the King David.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

As independent travelers we have stayed in numerous places around the world and what really stands out at House 57 is the owner, Nir. House 57 has been operating for 20 plus years. As a former tech executive, Nir has traveled the world and knows what is important to offer visitors. It shows in the upgrade work he's completed AND his pursuit in total customer satisfaction.

My wife and I stayed at House 57 four nights from 10/17 - 21. He arranged pickup at the airport in Tel Aviv with his employee Akrom. Akrom carried the bags to our room, pointed out the instructions for wifi, air conditioning, hot water switch, TV, the communal kitchen where we could cook in if needed, etc. along with times for breakfast in the morning. He suggested we take a 5 minute walk to the village and dine at the Waffle Bar. We ate there three of the 4 nights. Interesting and very good. The supermarket is right next store. ATM's are there also.

Breakfast is served on the outside covered patio in the back of the house. We met fellow guests and heard stories of things to do, places to go and engaged in interesting discussions with this international group. We hooked up with two guys for a trip into Bethlehem who had a car and invited us to come along.

Nir got us maps, pointed us to the light rail and off we went. For those not wanting to go by bus or light rail, Nir would call a cab. Cab fare to the old city was around $10 USD. To the Israel Museum, don't miss this, around $14. Nir indicated he was available via email or phone immediately if we needed.

In addition to all of this, Nir made arrangements to allow us to store our bags and take a shower as we did not leave for home until 12:30 AM (Delta to JFK). Thank you NIr!!

House 57 is an outstanding option for your visit to Israel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights recently. Nir has 6-7 rooms, two small, two larger, and a couple are family size. We stayed in a small room, which was adequate for us. The owner Nir is quite helpful and the location is close to a small shopping mall with a supermarket, ATM, and restaurants, also just a 7-8 minute walk to the train which gets you to Damascus Gate of the Old City, to the Zion Square main shopping area of West Jerusalem, and all the way out to Yad Vachem the Holocaust memorial. Also Nir will arrange reliable taxi to pick you up or take you the airport or Allenby border, and probably other spots as well. We enjoyed our stay but would recommend you book early and try for room # 6 (the biggest single room).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Okay, so while House 57 isn't exactly the most luxurious B&B I've ever enjoyed, what it lacks in comfort is made up for in hospitality and convenience. If I wanted plush linens and "heavenly beds", I would have stayed at one of the expensive hotels. But I wanted an affordable place to spend 10 days with my friends during Sukkot. The fact that we could congregate in the mornings and evenings on the huge patio (enclosed during the colder months) was wonderful. And Nir felt like a dear friend by the end of our stay. He truly goes the extra mile for his guests.

Okay, so there are a few things I would like to see improved before our next stay. As others have mentioned, there's a lot to be said for a freshly brewed cup of coffee in the morning. And not just any coffee - get the good stuff Nir! Second, I didn't mind that the sheets are a bit worn, but it would help if they actually fit the bed so couples don't have to battle over them all night. Third, Americans like hand towels and wash cloths. Fourth, a little variety at breakfast would eliminate palate fatigue ... small things like scrambed instead of boiled eggs, english muffins instead of toast, fruit platter instead of fruit salad, flavored yogurts instead of plain, waffles for the toaster, choice of juices, etc. These suggestions wouldn't cost much and would go a long way towards making happy guests who will give you repeat business year after year.

Other people mentioned they expected to have their rooms cleaned, but I'm sure that's something you would do if requested - just like changing the towels or bed linens, so it wasn't an issue for me. I did appreciate that the trash was emptied regularly. I do wish I had read the sign on the back of the door about the solar water heater so I could have had hot showers. I assumed it was because I was always the last person to shower that there was no hot water. It's totally my fault for not taking the time to read the instructions. I don't understand why someone else complained about the air conditioner being difficult to operate. Seriously? It was a matter of pushing the right button which was clearly labeled. And I don't get the complaint about the windows being open and bugs coming in. What bugs?

Bottom line ... Nir and his staff are very accommodating, so if you need something just ask.

Room Tip: Stay in room number 7 even if there's only two of you - the balcony is wonderful and the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We came to Jerusalem for Sukkot, and stayed for 9 nights at House 57. It is a charming home turned B&B. The owner, Nir, is absolutely delightful. He is attentive, helpful, informative, and kind. He will go out of his way to make sure you have what you need. The house sits on a hill in a beautiful, safe neighborhood. It is only a 5 minute walk from a market and the light rail. We went on many day trips, and it was a perfect base from which to explore Israel. There are steep steps to the rooms. I stayed in 2 different rooms during my stay. The first room was a spacious room with a sitting area, bathroom, and a loft. The balcony has an incredible view of Jerusalem. The second room was one of four off a common kitchen area. The room was a little smaller, but fine for our needs. The bathroom for this room was very small, but I expect this in privately owned "European" style homes. The owner likes to conserve and be "green" with regards to laundering towels and sheets. If you prefer to have these things changed out more often, you just have to ask, and he is most happy to oblige. The breakfast is delicious, and is served in a serene, cozy, outdoor, but enclosed balcony area. It consists of freshly made fruit salad, vegetable salad, yogurt, soft cheeses, different kinds of humus, breads, freshly hard-boiled eggs, jam, peanut butter, and chocolate spreads. There is coffee and tea and bottled water. The coffee is instant, which was a little difficult for someone from the Seattle area (home of Starbucks, Tully's, and Seattle's Best), but I drank it anyway! I truly enjoyed my stay, and will stay here again when I return to Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Room 7 has the balcony with a great view, and is good for a family (because of the loft) or a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I just spent 10 days at House 57, a bed and breakfast in North Jerusalem. It is one of my favorite places to be. House 57 is conveniently located in Jerusalem, - a city that can be the pinnacle of inconvenience (especially if you don't know where you are going). It is easily reached coming in from Ben Gurion, convenient to the light rail for going downtown (a two block walk), and convenient for making trips to Jericho, Masada and the Dead Sea (go up the street and make a right). Additionally, I like the small kitchens that are available, because the market is just two blocks away - a very convenient place to gas the car, change money, or even get a piece of pizza late at night. Our group spent 9 nights at House 57 and absolutely loved the ambiance. We overtook the enclosed veranda for our Israeli breakfasts that were provided, and of course, occupied the area at night, sometimes until 2:00 in the morning! Hah! Glorious! Nir, the owner, is a great guy and helpful at every possible level, from recommending restaurants, to assisting with tours, advising on traffic, helping with rental cars and so on. We love the neighborhood; it is Orthodox, and during Sukkoth, the festival was lively and ongoing. Hag Semeach! Last but not least, the price was great. Our team loved the place, and we will return . . . next year in Jerusalem!

Room Tip: Contact Nir early to get the best schedule, and don't travel when I am traveling - I need the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenPidgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mount Zion Hotel
#18 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#25 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Bezalel Hotel Jerusalem - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House 57

Property: House 57
Address: 57 Midbar Sinai | Givat Hamivtar, Jerusalem 9780557, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Hotel Class:3 star — House 57 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your House 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing