We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walter's Home Away From Home in Jerusalem.”
Review of House 57

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House 57
Ranked #9 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walter's Home Away From Home in Jerusalem.”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have been staying at House 57 for the past 7 or 8 years usually during November or March. I started staying there when Nir's in-laws ran the place, Mr. and Mrs. Tamir. I have always found it clean with friendly service. Achram, please forgive the spelling, has worked for the Tamir’s since I started staying at House 57 and he is more than willing to assist with any needs that you may have. He is also great at providing transportation to and from Bethlehem and other West Bank cities of interest as he now has his own cab. The breakfast is modest but for the price who can complain. In addition, a grocery store and post office is close by as well as the train and bus stops. I will be returning to Israel this November and as always, will be staying at my Home Away From Home, House 57 on Midbar Sinai Street.

Room Tip: Ask for Nir's cell in case you need to reach him at night. The Tamir's no longer stay at Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalterChilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
67
41
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

House 57 was a real find! Run by a young couple, Nir and Dalia, the service is excellent, warm and friendly. You are near the center of Jerusalem on the one hand, but you don't feel as though you are in the middle of the city. Great rooms. Great breakfast. Great vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at House57 while we were visiting family living nearby. The inn owners Nir and Dahlia were very hospitable and friendly, the room was clean, breakfast was great, and any questions were answered. It seemed that everyone we met at the daily breakfast was enjoying their stay at House57. Accessibility to the inn - whether by taxi, public transport (light rail or bus) or by car (street parking is ample) - was really good. Nir and Dahlia were also very accommodating when, after checking out, we were alerted that our return flight to the US had been cancelled and needed to stay another day. Within minutes we were told that we could stay another night in the same room. I will definitely return to House57.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nachmangoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had a great time in Jerusalem and in the House 57. The stuff and especially Nir the owner was most friendly and helpful. The location near Mount Scopus is great for traveling by car and public transport. We could park for free near the house and there are bus and tram stations near by. We stayed in the 3 bed room at the top and enjoyed the view over Jerusalem. The room was clean and a nice full Israeli breakfast was included in the price. ErikaS, Germany

Room Tip: Room at the top has a nice view over Jerusalem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at House 57 very much. Nir and Dahlia went out of their way to make us feel welcome, breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and transportation to the Old City was only a short light rail ride away. Would highly recommend House 57 - very good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieL2218238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Clean room, and excellant breakfast. Not in the city centre but just a short walk to the light rail transit. Good value and very friendly hosts who were very helpful and accomodating. Thank you for making the Jerusalem portion of our trip a pleasant one.

Donna & Ted
Wellington, Ontario
Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We came as a couple to House57 in March - Nir and his wife were extremely helpful in everything we needed. Towels were huge in compare to other hotels we stayed at. We stayed for a week and even though Nir and Dahlia were on vacation part of the week their worker was just terrific and they were always available on the phone to help with any question or concern.
The house was full with family's and kids which gave us a very homey feeling to be in a place that like to have kids around.
Breakfast was huge with lots of variety. Being so close to the light rail was a big plus for us.
definitely will come again !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuli e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mount Zion Hotel
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,107 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,975 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,126 reviews
Jerusalem Garden Home
#16 of 60 in Jerusalem
31 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Hashimi Hotel
Hashimi Hotel
#7 of 60 in Jerusalem
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House 57

Property: House 57
Address: 57 Midbar Sinai | Givat Hamivtar, Jerusalem 9780557, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Hotel Class:3 star — House 57 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your House 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing