We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of House 57

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House 57
Ranked #12 of 59 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2011

OK, this is an ideal place to stay for people on a short stay or tight budget. If, like us, you just needed a cosy room, some peace and quiet and easy access to the Old City - its perfect especially now that the light rail is running and at the moment its free. There is plenty of free parking on the road side and its a good idea to park at the end of the road near the light rail so that you don't have as far to walk on your return!! Jerusalem is pretty tiring! The place is easily found as the road is just off route 1 from Tel Aviv or from the Dead Sea...

Nir will receive you warmly and nothing is too much trouble for him in terms of help and advice. The rooms I would say are basic and are ideal for back packers, or people who just need a place to rest their weary heads and feet! The place is very clean but some rooms are in need of re painting and this is happening at present. it is also an ideal place to stay for those with large families as you have access to kitchens and there are plenty of bathrooms! Room 7 is just perfect - but it's usually a family room so if you want it, you need to reserve it which costs more. It is spacious, cosy and clean and the view is fantastic from the balcony. I think I would only stay in this room because of the space, view and at night time it was very cosy.

If like me you prefer to sit on a balcony and enjoy a glass of wine - take your own glass or ask Nir to have some in your room before you arrive - the same applies to a bottle opener!
Also shower soap is not provided (shampoo is) so make sure you go with your toiletries.

I've given a 3 for the review as the breakfast was disappointing for us. It may be that we were there in the quiet season but we would have liked to have seen a greater variety of salads, fruits, maybe omelettes or scrambled eggs, fish etc. However we were grateful that Nir provided us with some Rice milk but this was requested beforehand.

Room Tip: Definitely room 7 is the one to go for......its certainly a room with a view and its spacious, cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBCManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is a pleasant home away from home with a family atmosphere and a beautiful location. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It was a pleasure to be here during my Hebrew course. It is not far from the university.Because it is not a big hotel, and one eats breakfast at the tables on the porch with others, there are possibilites to get to know a lot of interesting people. Jennie

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were in Jerusalem for 2 days, 1 night and were very happy with House 57. The owner was extremely helpful before and during our stay, helpful with directions, arrangements etc... House was very clean. Very nice full breakfast offered in the morning. Nice location. Close to old city, a 5-10 min. drive. Highly recommend it.

Dorit H. from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Dorit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

You can be sure of a really warm welcome at House 57. We have become friends with the family and appreciate the time and trouble they have taken to make our stay in Jerusalem enjoyable and interesting. It is a joy to sit round the breakfast table with other guests eating a good Israeli breakfast - a great way to begin the day.
Nothing seems too much trouble, and we recommend that all suggestions for places to visit be acted upon as we have visited places not otherwise thought of. House 57 is situated in a most convenient location, especially when the new light rail is operating. But transport is regular and inexspensive. We got about all over the place using local transport.
Accomodation is in the process of being updated, and what has already been done has been completed to a very high standard.
We are looking forward to returning next year 2012.

Room Tip: When we were there rooms 1 and 2 had the added advantage of a small kitchen/dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neshicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is our third stay at House 57 in Jerusalem and certainly not our last. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and include a fridge, eating area, TV , A/C etc...On our last trip, flat screen TV and free high speed internet was added.
Very quiet neighborhood in Jerusalem and a short bus ride to all the sites. My favorite part of staying is breakfast. House 57 has this large patio where all the guest meet and sit together to enjoy a real typical Israel style breakfast. Here you get to meet visitors from around the world all ready to start their adventure for the day and learn from their ventures the previous days. The place is run by a dear family and the care and attention they give is just the treatment my wife and I cherish when being so far away from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor with a complete view of Jerusalem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrStitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Papulya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: En planta alta hay mejores vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERNARDO Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Beit Ben Yehuda
#8 of 59 in Jerusalem
93 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,168 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,558 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 101 in Jerusalem
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House 57

Address: 57 Midbar Sinai | Givat Hamivtar, Jerusalem 9780557, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Hotel Class:3 star — House 57 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your House 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing