We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rafael Residence Jerusalem
Ranked #12 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jewel of a place”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Excellent value for money. For less than the cost of one hotel room, we had a two-room fully-equipped apartment with a small private garden (overlooking a side street). Considerable attention has been paid to comfort - an air-conditioner in each room plus a ceiling fan in the bedroom, a large TV in each room, two bedside lamps each side - one ordinary and one spot for night reading. The service was excellent - every request, however small, was dealt with promptly and with a smile. The neighborhood is delightful, small boutiques, cafes etc.It is self-catering but breakfast can be eaten in the adjacent very pleasant Grand Cafe (though, since its kosher, it's closed on Saturday).
We will be back.

Room Tip: There is a sofa in the living room which converts into a double bed so parents plus 2 could stay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
19
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights. Very good value for money. A small kitchen with all appliances and facilities was very useful in the morning, as we were there with a 1,9 year old baby. Opportunity to have breakfast served outdoors in a small backyard garden is a great experience, which we enjoyed each morning. Free parking at the entrance was very covenient. Altogether I can recommend the place to anyone who wants a residential type of premises in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berendei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This place is new and well decorated. A home away from home. We were in Israel for 1 month of which 3 weeks we spent at the Tamar Residences in Jerusalem. It is located in a residential district just south of the city. An excellent place to just walk the streets. Close to many great restaurants (The Colony to name one) and it has an excellent Kosher restaurant located on site (The Grand Cafe). It is about a 15min walk to the old city...not too bad but if you don't want to walk you can take a cab for about 30 NIS. The people who works here were all very nice and spoke good English. It has adequate parking on site. Bathrooms may be smaller then you are accustomed but very sufficient. 2 Flat screen TVs, one is HD the other is SD with over 100 channels of cable programming (although we did not do much TV watching while we were here). It has a nicely appointed kitchen. The only thing missing is a dishwasher (not a big deal). When you check it, grab an espresso with them. The only complaint that we had was the laundry service. They quoted one price and charged another. We also asked for our clothes to be laundered and they would randomly pick out items from our clothes and dry clean them for more money. My wife's PJ pants were dry cleaned. And the clothes did not come back completely clean. We spoke with the management about this and they should be fixing it in the future. Also, there is only one mirror in the bathroom but I was told that they just purchased and additional mirror for the room. If you need an iron or hair dryer you can sign them out from the main desk. Several of the power outlets will accommodate US plugs without a converter (really cool especially for laptops). Nice large closets in the bedroom with enough room for all of our clothes that we packed for a month long trip. We will definitely stay here again. Oh...one more thing, long distance calling to the states from the room was only 1NIS (about 25 cents) per minute. This is virtually free. Other hotels charge up to $4 per minute. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED although I don't want too many people to know about this since it might get really popular. I like the boutique feel of the place. Tamar...Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Loved their design and location is great. Also, there is free parking. The service was also fantastic and the kitchen is fully equipped.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank mischiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Galilee
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at this new apartment-hotel in the beautiful Baka neighborhood of Jerusalem as a change from my usual hotel. Tamar's is housed in a brand new, three block-apartment building. All of the rooms are suites wih fully-loaded kitchens, living room furniture etc. Some have spacious gardens decorated with rose bushes. It's off the main road, so noise is at a minimum and it really gives you a feel of home comfort, at a lower rate than most quality Jerusalem hotels. The receptionist was helpful and private parking was available - very useful in any part of Jerusalem. The location is in a safe and pleasant residential neighborhood but very close to transportation to the city center which is also within walking distance. There's a great restaurant connected to the building and with all of the eateries in the immediate vicinity, its simply a terrific location for toursits who are looking for something more authentic than the usual hotel scene. I'm definitely going back there on my next trip to the "Holy City".

Room Tip: Suite with a graden -especially during the spring and summer months. Worth the extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Galila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

After staying in hotels worldwide on all different levels I think that we got off to a bad start here. The checkin girl was very unprofessional and gave no guidance when we arrived late at night...this hotel is not easy to find nor its carpark but I hope that by now they have put up some signs. Eventually after much confusion we found our room. It is a small 1 bedroom with a sweet lounge...all bedding, towels and kitchen things were good ikea quality and I appreciated the newness of everything. Had not enough hot water for the family which was unacceptable and young hotel staff tried to rectify the situation but got nowhere...the bathroom is tiny but clean with what you need...nice towels. I stayed 1 night and left tired and frustrated but feel that this place has lots of potential and it is very lovely (maybe we just got a dud room and dud night staff). To conclude after complaining to the owner my feedback was taken seriously and he responded immediately and took generous steps to remedy our experience. I would recommend this place and look forward to giving it another chance in the future. The cafe underneath is very convenient, european vibe and great service...food is Ok as well

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We love this new hotel. It is located in a very quaint street with cafes, shops,and groceries. It is just a 5 minute walk to Emek Rafaim as well. Love the free parking and wifi as well. The staff could not be friendlier. The whole complex is fitted with state of the art technology. This is our new home when visiting Jerusalem

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
A Little House in Bakah
#25 of 101 in Jerusalem
420 reviews
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#4 of 101 in Jerusalem
411 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,340 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,777 reviews
Nachla'ot
21st Floor Hotel
21st Floor Hotel
#2 of 101 in Jerusalem
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafael Residence Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafael Residence Jerusalem

Property: Rafael Residence Jerusalem
Address: Bethlehem Road 70, Jerusalem 93504, Israel (Formerly תמר רזידנס ירושלים)
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Bak'a
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rafael Residence Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for a Jerusalem serviced apartment just ended! Experience the ultimate service while residing in Bakaa, Jerusalem’s most exclusive district.Surrounded by stylish shops restaurants, you can relax and enjoy the sophistication of these boutique accommodations while on business travel or a holiday. Tamar Residence combines all the comforts and amenities of home with an extensive range of facilities and personalized services. Enjoy the best of Jerusalem while indulging in the comfort of a Jerusalem serviced apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rafael Residence Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamar Residence Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing