We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!”
Review of Cavalier - CLOSED

Cavalier
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lovely cosy and welcoming atmosphere in this excellent restaurant. The food was amazing and the service first class. A little hard to find but worth the effort. If we'd had any more time, we'd have gone back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Cavalier is a little gem In J-town. Food was a little pricey.. and just about average for the price. But service was great.

In its price range, this is one of the few places in Israel where the wait staff don't cut in the middle of your conversation to take your order. Great for a little celebration, first dates and anniversaries

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfeyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food - very expensive”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

went there with another couple for dinner.
good service aromantic atmosphere , good music you can tail and listen.
but was very expensive - if you want to celebrate that is the right place.
we did enjoy - but will come again in a few years ,,,, recommended for aserious celebration.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohelia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a little bit of france”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was our first night in Jerusalem and a number of restaurants (most really) were closed as it was first night of succoth. That proved to be a bonus as we were referred to Cavalier a short walk away from our hotel. My wife, our 8 year old daughter and I were delighted with this small and cosy bistro style restaurant. The menu was well balanced and interesting and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the French red with a bit of age all at a reasonable price. The reason for this review however relates to a particularly fine appetiser "Tagliolini in cream and truffle" a delightfully designed and presented pasta dish with truffle, poached quail egg and parmesan cheese. It was truly delicious and of the highest standard. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice food, but a bit old school”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Me and my friend went to Cavalier during their business menu on a Friday. We ordered the roquefort salad and Foie Gras "Cavalier" for starters and for the main course Shrimps in a Copper Pan and Veal Filet in Peppercorn Sauce.
The salad was a great disappointment, it reminded me something that would be served in a coffee shop and not a very good one. The Foie Gras was really nice, though we couldn't finish it because of the great amount of butter that it contains.
The main courses were much better. The Shrimps were fresh and you could feel it in their flavors. The filet was done precisely as ordered, and the meat was full of flavors.
For the dessert we ordered Red fruit vachrin, despite the look it was amazing.
I think the main problem of this restaurant is that they have a bit old school perception about food and how it suppose to look and taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liza s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavalier also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing