We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maison d'Abraham
Nearby Hotels
$365
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$563
$435
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Walls Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$225
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agripas Boutique Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$167
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mamilla Hotel(Jerusalem)
$590
$549
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$195
$115
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Ba Moshava(Jerusalem)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$402
$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
A Little House in Bakah(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$174
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
26
23
2
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
23
2
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 54 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a superb location, roughly a 15 minute's walk from Lion's Gate, and about 20 minutes walk from Dung Gate if you go through the valley. The website directions suggest going to East Gate and then taking a taxi, which seems to leave you in the middle of nowhere. In fact, you can either walk 5 or 10 minute down the hill and to the right to the Damascus Gate area, or perhaps your airport driver will be a bit braver and take you all the way. If you can get to Damascus Gate you can take a #36 sherut to Ras Al Amud. I suggest that you check that the vehicle is going towards Ras Al Amud and/or the Hotel Panorama, which most East Jersusalem drivers seem to know. If you take a taxi, again the Panorama is a good reference point.

The Maison is at the end of road a couple of minutes past the Panorama and some dodgy modern housing development. There are interesting things to see in all directions from the Maison grounds.

Plan to speak French if you visit, it is all part of the experience. Just about everybody working there is a volunteer in one way or another. Dinner is a good option as there aren't really any serious nearby options, although there are some local shops and a chicken/pizza place aroudn the corner.

We departed via the train station, which is quite far away (30 minutes by taxi). However the journey to Tel Aviv was far more pleasant than the nausea inducing Ben Gurion Airport to Jerusalem sherut, as driven by a frustrated formula 1 driver.

Room Tip: we stayed in the maison--the bungalows seems a bit primative and seem to have no character, but perhaps they are good value if you want to cook.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarefootJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We have stayed here for four nights with 8 persons. It is a sober but very nice place to stay. It lays on top of a hill very near by the mount olive (they say it is a part of the mount olive) Sober but good rooms, very good beds. Breakfast is sober but OK. From the shadowed garden, sitting on benches you have the most beautifull view on the old city you can inmagine! It is very nice sitting there in the evening, drinking a glass of wine listening to the sounds of te city. From the location it's a 15 minutes save and nice walk to the old city. The people of the hospice are very friendly and helpfull. They arranged transport to Masada & the Dead Sea and the airport. We paid for 4 double rooms, 4 nights and breakfast 825 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NetherlandsVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

High on the Mt of Olives, surrounded by trees and fencing is an old monastery that has been turned into a hostel of sorts. It is run by French sisters. There are rooms in the building and little family cabins in the back. It is clean, comfortable and safe. It is quiet on the premises, but when you open the windows, the noise from the old city goes on way into the night. There is free parking and breakfast. We had boiled eggs, cheese, leben, tomatoes, jam, pocket bread and juice/tea/coffee. Internet is 6 shekels but only worked in the lobby. The door is open 24 hours and there is a person on duty at the desk. The town is called Ras-el-Amud and a map may be found at the site: www.masion-abraham.com/Acces.htm The staff was pleasant; we did not see any of the French speaking nuns. There is no phone, TV or air conditioning in the room. The rooms are up a long flight of stairs and there are no elevators. The shower is very small and the curtain does not go down far enough to keep the floor from getting wel. But if you are willing to put up with these "hardships" it is a good place to stay. The view of the old city from the ground floor patio is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roamer4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I Stayed here because I couldn't get any accomadation in the old city. We booked 3 nights and ended up coming back for 3 more!!!! The Building its self is very simple and basic, but the atmosphere and view make up for any luxury lost.
The staff and sisters are wonderful but mostly just speak french, but we managed. The rates are good and include breakfast. The breakfast is very hearty and plentyful.
We had dinner a few nights which was surprisingly good, and had a wine list!!
The guest house is about 15minutes walk from the Dung gate, and maybe 10 from the lions gate. we had a hire car but chose to walk in. I found the area it is in a little intimadating at first as it is a mainly Palestinian, but in fact no one did or said anything to us.
I cannot recomment this place higly enough, I just loved it!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DonalRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews