We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home base”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Golden Gate Hostel was a great place to use as a home base. Our small group toured Jerusalem, then took side trips to Bethlehem and Hebron, staying at the Golden Gate 4 nights out of 9. The proprietor was kind enough to let us store our excess baggage there during our side trips so we didn't have to schlep our bags all over the countryside. The breakfast was fantastic - nourishing, fresh and delicious. The beds were clean and very comfortable. The bath facilities were a little strange for our western sensitivities, but clean and serviceable nonetheless. The outdoor patio provided a semi-private lounge area for our group to meet and a great place for me to do some early morning yoga stretches. The other reviews citing location as a plus are spot on. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are not opposed to being awakened in the night by the call to prayer, any room will do. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for a week in February 2014. I can say that we had a nice experience in this hostel, except that our room have not been cleaned during our entire stay.

Positive points:
- The hostel is just 5 minutes walk from Damascus Gate, and about 2-3 minutes walk to Via Dolorosa.
- So many stores around the area, and vendors keep the area clean at the end of the day.
- Helpful and friendly receptionists.
- Free tea on the lobby for the whole day.
- Free breakfast from 8-9AM only. Breakfast consists of pita bread, cheese, humus, egg, fruits, slices of tomato and cucumber, jam, butter. So if we join a tour before 8AM, we buy our own breakfast.
- Free luggage storage.

Negative points:
- There is free wifi on the lobby only, but no signal inside the room.
- Toilet paper is replenished only upon request.
- Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis (maybe unless requested??). Our room was not cleaned even once during our one week stay. Garbage in our room was not collected, we had to throw them out ourselves. We used the same towel during our stay. Not sure if management does not want to be blamed for theft or loss of things left in the room by the tourists. But we saw that common areas are cleaned everyday.
- TV in the room was not working. Anyway, we don’t even know if they have English channels.
- The shower stall does not have curtains, so when someone takes a shower, half of the bathroom gets wet.
- No closet in the room, and there was not enough hangers to hang clothes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Time_Traveller_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The place is clean and comfortable. There is a kitchen to cook and the breakfast is included. It is a good place to stay for visiting the old city, you are in ! The hostel is difficult to find the first time and after it is ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed at Golden gate over the Christmas period and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff are incredibly welcoming and there is a homely feel to the place. The location is fantastic, just minutes away from damascus gate, in the heart of the old city. Awesome breakfast in the morning, very clean dorm room with an ensuite bathroom. I was really impressed - cheap, cheerful and free tea all day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophiaJJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It is a simple but clean and good hostel. The bed is confortable and the shower is warm. Great breakfast. One of the best locations and places to stay in jerusalem, once is inside the Old Town and as a better price than the other hostels. The bad thing is that is not possible to book on booking websites (like hostel world) and when you call the staff dont speak english very well. But maybe it can be done by email. Really recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We ran into this place by accident, that was a lucky shot. Although you might miss the real travellers experience because of missing a central hang out, this place is located in the centre of a very busy muslim market in the old city. That makes up more than enough and really gives you the travellers adventure of being in the political en religious centre of the world.
Very decent staffing, decent breakfast and reasonable clean rooms. Although being a bit noisy, that will not matter since you will be nackered after a long day af strawling through blazing old Jersualem

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've been in and out of Golden Gate over the last few weeks. They are most accommodating! There are no hassles with storing my bag while I'm out of town a couple of days. They welcome me back with warm hospitality.
It was a little hard to find on my first visit because I expected to see "streets" in the Old City. Hint: Think crowded walkways when you are looking for Beit al HaBad street. Better yet, take a copy of the map from their website http://www.goldengate4.com/ and ask people with your map in hand.
Free wi-fi. Close to ATM and restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. They can connect you with Mike's Center for tours, electronics help, etc without charging extra fees.
Golden Gate is remarkably quiet considering it's in the Old City. I'll continue to use it as my "go to" hotel/hostel/inn!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#38 of 71 in Jerusalem
62 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 71 in Jerusalem
266 reviews
The Jerusalem Hostel
#9 of 71 in Jerusalem
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 71 in Jerusalem
2,112 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Hashimi Hotel
Hashimi Hotel
#6 of 60 in Jerusalem
438 reviews
Hebron Hostel
#20 of 71 in Jerusalem
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hostel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hostel Inn

Address: 10 Soug Khan al-Zeit | 52 Beit HaBad street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing