We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please, don't be silly and run!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Please, don't be silly and run!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The worst hotel/hostel/pension in our last trip was the Golden Gate Inn... dirty, poor, little hot water, poor breakfast... nothing special!!!

We change for the other nights in Jerusalem to another place... same price and better conditions... believe me... you have better options in the same area or in the city center (most recomendable!!!).

If you want to enjoy Jerusalem... find another place!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
11
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here two nights. I thought it was good value - we had an en suite room for five with breakfast included at a price I thought was very reasonable for the Old City. Hard to find - see my previous review for directions. First night we didn't get good sleep - a party of noisy pilgrims got up at 4am for prayers and we found out the walls were rather thin. Second night the pilgrims had thankfully gone and we slept well. Breakfast was fine. Free tea and coffee at any time. Staff helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 5onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is right in the Muslim quarter, close to the Damascus gate. Fantastic breakfast, awsome location. plenty of shops and resturants nearby.Great hosts will help you with low priced tours etc...I'll be back.
Bruce

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I was there with a group of people for two weeks. Accommodations were clean, staff were very courteous, very helpful and very friendly if you're inclined to engage (which I recommend highly). It's really basic, and you know you're not in a Best Western - but why would you look for that when you're inside the Old City Jerusalem!

Stayed in a private room till the rest of the group arrived, then in a shared hostel room.

Loved it! If I ever get back to Palestine and spend time in Jerusalem, this is where I'll stay!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtorresSpokaneWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Basic dorm but clean and friendly people. Price is really good for Jerusalem and the breakfast is amazing! Central location and always free tea. Good Wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 091312i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night in August 2011. The rooms are basic but clean. Beds were comfortable and sleep quality good. Staff were helpful. Kitchen available if you want to cook your own meals. Free tea and coffee available throughout the day. Nice deck outside. Happy with the price.

To find it, walk down Khan Al Zeit towards Damascus Gate. Look for the sign for the Hashimi Hotel. 20-30 metres further down are steps leading up to the left. You need to look hard. The steps are wide but there are stall holders on them and they are easy to miss. Go up the steps and you'll see another set of steps leading up to the Inn.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 5onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This place was an amazing location just above the souq in the old city just a bit inside the Damascus gate.

The staff weren't overly friendly, but the breakfasts were great.

We had a private room and bathroom, and it was quite pricey. But the room was really adorable. Very clean. They also had a nice sunny deck which was a great place to relax and have a meal.

Would recommend because the location is hard to beat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#43 of 99 in Jerusalem
225 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
278 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame Guest House
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
435 reviews
The Sephardic House
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Hashimi Hotel
Hashimi Hotel
#5 of 60 in Jerusalem
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hostel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hostel Inn

Property: Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Address: 10 Soug Khan al-Zeit | 52 Beit HaBad street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing