We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please, don't be silly and run!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The worst hotel/hostel/pension in our last trip was the Golden Gate Inn... dirty, poor, little hot water, poor breakfast... nothing special!!!

We change for the other nights in Jerusalem to another place... same price and better conditions... believe me... you have better options in the same area or in the city center (most recomendable!!!).

If you want to enjoy Jerusalem... find another place!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here two nights. I thought it was good value - we had an en suite room for five with breakfast included at a price I thought was very reasonable for the Old City. Hard to find - see my previous review for directions. First night we didn't get good sleep - a party of noisy pilgrims got up at 4am for prayers and we found out the walls were rather thin. Second night the pilgrims had thankfully gone and we slept well. Breakfast was fine. Free tea and coffee at any time. Staff helpful.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank 5onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is right in the Muslim quarter, close to the Damascus gate. Fantastic breakfast, awsome location. plenty of shops and resturants nearby.Great hosts will help you with low priced tours etc...I'll be back.
Bruce

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegasflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I was there with a group of people for two weeks. Accommodations were clean, staff were very courteous, very helpful and very friendly if you're inclined to engage (which I recommend highly). It's really basic, and you know you're not in a Best Western - but why would you look for that when you're inside the Old City Jerusalem!

Stayed in a private room till the rest of the group arrived, then in a shared hostel room.

Loved it! If I ever get back to Palestine and spend time in Jerusalem, this is where I'll stay!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtorresSpokaneWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Basic dorm but clean and friendly people. Price is really good for Jerusalem and the breakfast is amazing! Central location and always free tea. Good Wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 091312i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night in August 2011. The rooms are basic but clean. Beds were comfortable and sleep quality good. Staff were helpful. Kitchen available if you want to cook your own meals. Free tea and coffee available throughout the day. Nice deck outside. Happy with the price.

To find it, walk down Khan Al Zeit towards Damascus Gate. Look for the sign for the Hashimi Hotel. 20-30 metres further down are steps leading up to the left. You need to look hard. The steps are wide but there are stall holders on them and they are easy to miss. Go up the steps and you'll see another set of steps leading up to the Inn.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank 5onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This place was an amazing location just above the souq in the old city just a bit inside the Damascus gate.

The staff weren't overly friendly, but the breakfasts were great.

We had a private room and bathroom, and it was quite pricey. But the room was really adorable. Very clean. They also had a nice sunny deck which was a great place to relax and have a meal.

Would recommend because the location is hard to beat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimandMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 102 in Jerusalem
232 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#56 of 102 in Jerusalem
304 reviews
The Sephardic House
#53 of 102 in Jerusalem
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#29 of 69 in Jerusalem
60 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Hashimi Hotel
Hashimi Hotel
#6 of 60 in Jerusalem
430 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 69 in Jerusalem
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hostel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hostel Inn

Address: 10 Soug Khan al-Zeit | 52 Beit HaBad street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing