We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT USE EGGED WHEN VISITING ISRAEL”

Egged Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #101 of 237 Tours in Jerusalem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With Egged Tours you will experience an unforgettable Israel Tour. Our award winning service will guide you through Israel’s most historical and modern destinations. Our certified tour guides will show you Israel through the eyes of an Israeli. Egged Tours is the friend you’d wish for in every destination; providing an insider’s view on the local people, places and cultures you encounter. We offer a variety of guided walking tours, half day tours, one day tours or multiple day tours in the following cities: Petra, Jerusalem, Masada, The Dead Sea, Bethlehem, Nazareth, Haifa, Golan Heights, The Galilee, Jericho, Tel Aviv, Acco, Caeserea and more.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“DO NOT USE EGGED WHEN VISITING ISRAEL”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

After 3 incredible weeks in Israel our only regret was Egged. We did their tour to Masada/Dead Sea from Jerusalem. Their Web site promised "Full Day Tour." We had 90 minutes at Masada and 90 minutes at Dead Sea and over two hours at two gift shops - where we later learned our tour guide earnedd 20% of what we spent. I complained to Egged and they offered a refund - which never happened. We saved for many years to visit Israel and it was very upsetting to have to rush from spot to spot atop Masada and not have time for the museum there. Take a taxi or just regular bus service or hire a guide.

Helpful?
16 Thank TripInput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    12
    19
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you for booking excellent tour”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Thank you so much for booking for us
the tour to Jerusalem with Bein Harim tour
it was excellent tour!!
you are the beast !!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rand r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“thank you egged/bein harim”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

i took a tour with egged to the galil last week. i had booked through egged but the tour was run by bein harim tours. what a wonderful day with in depth information given by a very knowledgable and approachable guide who imparted his love for the country and went out of his way to ensure we were getting what we wanted from the tour. i have had an excellent experience with this company, recommend them highly and will definately use them again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank nechamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“warning- this company does not exist”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I booked 2 trips before i flew to israel and palestine supposedly with Egged and via their site.. I shld have realised a problem as i was one of many getting no response to queries on their main site. On arrival I found they have not actually existed for 2 years and in my case subcontracted to another company- bein harim... you wld not necessarily realise if you do not spot the small stickers saying bein harim on the door. The standard was low. One tour had a filthy minibus, driver/guide (1 person doing both) from hell and clearly adding shop and restaurant stops for his commission. (All the tours do this tho, wasting time, so beware as whatever you buy is marked up...).
Moreover- all the "day trip" operators offer the same trips at the same prices as they move people around. So you never know with all of them who you will end up with...
I wld take no tours if you can avoid them- get a taxi and do the main sites yourself...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Kate70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EggedTours, Public Relations Manager at Egged Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Kate,

I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience on the tour. We do our best to give you optimal service and I am sorry to hear that the experience was not optimal for you. We take your suggestions for improvement very seriously and always strive to improve.

Regarding your claim that "Egged Tours does not exist"- that is not the case. Egged Tours is one of the largest tourism companies in Israel, serving the majority of the Israeli school system, is a leading provider of outgoing tourism for Israelis, and is the owner of a subsidiary for incoming tourism called Israel way. The company is managed by Egged, the largest transportation cooperative in Israel.

We do cooperate with Ben Harim in the operation of our day tours. The cooperation between the two companies allows us to guarantee trip departures on set days of the week unlike other providers that only operate tours when there is a minimum number of participants. We feel that the cooperation with Ben Harim allows us to provide the best service to our clients.

I hope that you had a pleasant stay in Israel and a safe trip home.

Sincerely,

Elana Kaminka
Egged Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“more time spent on shopping and lunch than sightseeing”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I took this tour out of convenience, because I didn't have a car to get to Masada. Like the other reviewers, I was very disappointed at the tour structure and timing. More time was spent at the Ahava cosmetics store than at the Masada site (1 hour vs only 45 minutes!), lunch was uninspiring grub at a souvenir stop, Ein Gedi and Qumran were not visited at all, just pointed out from the bus. This is a perfect example of why some travelers are leery of escorted bus tours. Fortunately I was able to visit Masada again later with a friend who drove me, and spent some quality time there. Don't sell yourself short, that amazing site needs at least 2 hours.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank vladb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egged Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Egged Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing