We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special 30th Birthday meal!”
Review of Rooftop

Rooftop
Ranked #15 of 725 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spectacular outdoor brasserie dining, with magnificent panoramic views that stretch across Jerusalem's majestic Old City. With a large and varied menu for dinner, the Rooftop features fresh natural ingredients infused in simple Italian cooking.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Special 30th Birthday meal!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I went to Rooftop with my husband for my 30th Birthday dinner. The views were breathtaking and we watched the sun go down and it get even more beautiful as all the lights lit up the spectacular view. The service was fantastic and food was delicious. We ordered the Focaccia to share with our drinks, then I ordered the chicken dish and my husband the burger. These were both delicious. For dessert, I had the hot chocolate fondant and my husband the chocolate millefuille,
Both which were gorgeous! The food is quite pricey but not as expensive as I thought it was going to be , but a special meal and definitely worth a visit for the excellent food and views. Thank you for a memorable birthday evening.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    140
    32
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We made reservations for Motzei Shabbat. We sat on the large outdoor sofas with our teenage daughters. The lights of the Old City, the YMCA Tower, and the King David Hotel in view. The food was very good, but the view was the excellent. It was a very nice relaxing evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Payne5p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average food, nice view”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The restaurant is nicely decorated and has a beautiful view of the old city, but when we made the reservation for 5 they didn't told us that they only had the Sabbath menu which is very limited. The food was average, the wine list excellent, the service good but they put us in a round table which was way too big for our group of 5. The cost of the dinner was high considering the very limited menu (we thought it was only the list of appetizers!). I suggest to go there for a drink at the bar with the view of Jerusalem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmaciocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herzlia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dining and Viewing”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The restaurant is of a very high standard and quality. The service is excellent as well as the smiling faces of the staff. Menu gives you an opportunity for a wide choice. The restaurant is by far not cheap but the food is excellent.
A special mention for the stunning view of the old city. Just beautiful!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank udihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Creek, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, spectacular view, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Rooftop lived up to its good reviews - excellent, creative food with a terrific view of Jerusalem. But what really made our night was the attentive and helpful service by Oz, our wine steward, and Avi, our waiter. They directed us to some of the more offbeat dishes we might not have tried - such as the bone marrow artichoke bruleé with white truffles, veal filet and veal brains in a cabernet sauce. Or the delicate, grilled sweetbreads. More mainstream choices included a wonderful grouper with tomato salad and smoked black tahini. It was all so good, we forgot to take pictures. Thanks, Oz and Avi!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooftop also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Rooftop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing