We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining and Viewing”
Review of Rooftop

Rooftop
Ranked #11 of 716 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spectacular outdoor brasserie dining, with magnificent panoramic views that stretch across Jerusalem's majestic Old City. With a large and varied menu for dinner, the Rooftop features fresh natural ingredients infused in simple Italian cooking.
herzlia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dining and Viewing”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The restaurant is of a very high standard and quality. The service is excellent as well as the smiling faces of the staff. Menu gives you an opportunity for a wide choice. The restaurant is by far not cheap but the food is excellent.
A special mention for the stunning view of the old city. Just beautiful!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank udihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    134
    30
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English Creek, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, spectacular view, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Rooftop lived up to its good reviews - excellent, creative food with a terrific view of Jerusalem. But what really made our night was the attentive and helpful service by Oz, our wine steward, and Avi, our waiter. They directed us to some of the more offbeat dishes we might not have tried - such as the bone marrow artichoke bruleé with white truffles, veal filet and veal brains in a cabernet sauce. Or the delicate, grilled sweetbreads. More mainstream choices included a wonderful grouper with tomato salad and smoked black tahini. It was all so good, we forgot to take pictures. Thanks, Oz and Avi!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooftop Restaurant in the mamilla Hotel”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice place with a beautiful view.
I live in New York and this place a unbelievably expensive.
My husband and I ordered the least expensive thing on the menu, gnocchi, which was delicious, but nearly $30-. From there the prices went up to about 50- per dinner. The wines prices are very high.
We wish we had been told before we went how costly this meal would be and how limited the menu is.
The service was impeccable, and we did enjoy what we ate, so just a warning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joystoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very nice Easter dinner with a view”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I am just here right now with my friends, spending our Easter dinner in this lovely restaurant!
Food was super nice and very tasty.
The atmosphere was great and definitely the location is top!
Really appreciated the service, everybody was super nice and helpful, in particular Itamar ;)
Would highly recommend it for a casual night and some quality time in Jerusalem. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Gibi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayelet A, Manager at Rooftop, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Gibi_13,
it is such a delight to read all your kind comments about your visit at the Rooftop restaurant. I was pleased to read that our dishes was to your liking and that our team provided you with excellent service, especially Itamar who was able to assist you.
looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Ayelet Alkaher
Rooftop manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great dining... for Jerusalem.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at the Mamilla hotel and wanted to give the Rooftop restaurant a try. Views were excellent, although the transparent curtains were in place due to chilly evenings in early April. We chose fish tartar starters (raw) which were excellent, while our main courses were good if not exceptional. The wine list offered fantastic breadth of Israeli wines, a great way to learn about these emerging estates. We wouldn't compare Rooftop to great restaurants in London or New York, or even Tel Aviv for that matter. However in the context of Jerusalem, this should be on your list for a nice meal with excellent views of the Old City.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayelet A, Manager at Rooftop, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Daniel0000,
thank you for taking the time to write about your visit at the Rooftop restaurant.
I was delighted to read that the dishes were to your liking and that you enjoyed your stay. We will be happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ayelet Alkaher
Rooftop manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooftop also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Rooftop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing