We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it was in NYC, it would be amazing - even better in Jerusalem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Machneyuda

Machneyuda
Ranked #5 of 672 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If it was in NYC, it would be amazing - even better in Jerusalem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A world-class restaurant if it were in any city. Great, creative and quirky, humorous menu - we have the tasting menu and didnt regret it -- the flavours, spices, and preparation were wonderful. A bit loud but exciting place to be. Very good wine list with local and French wines. Great service.
Worth the effort to make the reservation (call long before your trip to Israel).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GMBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    189
    89
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Imagine. Indulge. Inspire.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

First Impressions: Who requires a restaurant reservation weeks ahead in Jerusalem? This does. Our tour guide had made a reservation to this trendy restaurant a week before and still we nearly lost our spot. Located a couple of blocks behind its namesake market, the small "hole in the wall" place is nothing but. Everything is cranked up a dizzying, off-the-chart scale: the food, service, price, even the music.

PROS: Helmed by three pedigreed chefs, the restaurant's food is reportedly its forte'. I loved the creamy, truffle-infused polenta with crab, crunchy mushrooms and shredded Parmesan cheese. This was followed by the equally delectable Pile of Seafood, all deliciously tender and not a bit overcooked. (Overcooked squid becomes chewy, but not here.) The sensory experience was climaxed by the rich Chocolate Poison -- chocolate brownies, chocolate mousse, chocolate ice cream and topped with chocolate fudge -- a chocoholic's drug fix. Ahhh... The food presentation is both creative and showy, like the ones we normally associate with gourmet dining. Each dish is an excellent fusion of colours, aromas, textures and flavours.

CONS: Not exactly for the budget-conscious diner. Ranging from £16 for the roasted chicken to £30 for the filet mignon steak, the gourmet dining experience is thus reflected in the Hollywood celebrity-level pricing (read: very expensive). Moreover, do not expect a quiet, laid-back, low-key meal. The ear-splitting, 120-decibel house music, operatic waiters and pot-drumming chefs all contribute to a deafening good vibe and exuberant dining atmosphere. Our group could barely hear each other. (Here, the management is unapologetic. This take-it-or-leave-it attitude may be misconstrued as being pretentious, as in trying to be like a Tel Aviv hotspot, but I don't think so.) Lastly, the restaurant is closed on Shabbat.

Verdict: If you could get past all this noisy din and stratospheric prices, it's actually a nice place to try. Reserve at least two weeks in advance, maybe asking for the Chef's Tasting Table. May not be the best in Jerusalem, but no doubt in the top three. Recommended. Grade A-minus.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Noisy vibe, great food with price to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our tour guide had made a reservation to this trendy restaurant a week before and still we nearly lost our spot. Located a couple of blocks behind its namesake market, the small "hole in the wall" place is nothing but. Everything is cranked up a dizzying, off-the-chart scale: the food, service, price, even the music. I loved the creamy, truffle-infused polenta with crab, crunchy mushrooms and shredded Parmesan cheese. This was followed by the equally delectable Pile of Seafood, all deliciously tender and not overcooked. The food experience was climaxed by the rich Chocolate Poison -- chocolate brownies, chocolate mousse, chocolate ice cream and topped with chocolate fudge -- a chocoholic's drug fix. Ahhh... The food presentation is creative and showy. Ranging from £16 for the roasted chicken to £30 for the filet mignon steak, the gourmet dining experience is thus reflected in the Hollywood celebrity-level pricing (read: very expensive). Lastly, do not expect a quiet, laid-back, low-key meal. The ear-splitting, 120-decibel house music, operatic waiters and pot-drumming chefs all contribute to a deafening good vibe and exuberant dining atmosphere. Our group could barely hear each other. If you could get past all this noisy din and the stratospheric prices, it's actually a nice place to try. May not be the best in Jerusalem, but no doubt in the top three. (Still, negatives aside, this place is better than one particularly-exclusive, reservations-only, private restaurant in the Jerusalem district.)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I am a self-confessed food snob. The food was creative and well-presented. The service was solicitious and engaged. It's trendy and it's loud, but it was a great way to end our 2 week trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very cool menu and decor, highly trendy restaurant with a creative menu and great service, but not for traditional types. Slightly disappointed that, although I specifically asked for a table when booking, I was seated at the bar.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machneyuda also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Machneyuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing