We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Danny's the greatest”
Review of Danny the Digger

Danny the Digger
Ranked #18 of 228 Tours in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney
1 review
“Danny's the greatest”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I participated in the recent Biblical Archaeology Society's Israel tour led by Danny Herman (Danny the Digger)
Danny demonstrated superb knowledge of Israel's biblical archaeology and history. His expositions and explanations were clear and to the point (no 'waffling" or 'padding"), and he was always prepared to answer questions, no matter how difficult.
His energy is remarkable; he delivered constant commentary not only at the numerous sites which we visited, but also during the lengthy bus trips to and from the sites. Danny always took "glitches"calmly in his stride and promptly sorted them.
It was clear that he sees his job not just as a livelihood, but also as a passion and a calling, hence his clients benefit immensely.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“WOW-AN AMAZING TOUR WITH AN ARCHAEOLOGIST!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a day tour of the City of David excavation south of the the Kotel, then drove to Herodian Palace Ruins, Rachel's Tomb and Cave of Machpela.

Danny is awesome, learned, great info, great English and worth every shekel!

Will contact him again for more!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rschuckit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Danny the Digger: the best of the best, great for overnight Jerusalem tours”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had the privilege of spending two days with Danny Herman; coming off our cruise ship in Haifa and returning the following day in Ashdod. We knew he was knowledgeable and highly qualified to show us the important archaeological sites. He's a great driver, and has the amazing ability to talk and converse while motoring through the not so easy downtown traffic in Jerusalem. What we didn't anticipate, he's such a nice guy. Relaxed, friendly, upbeat, and his human qualities made this the best tour ever! We loved having lunch together at Decks in Tiberias and at Machneyuda in Jerusalem, places he'd recommended in our correspondence, where the food was exciitng and delicious. He arranged for my wife and me to renew our wedding vows in Cana, and that was a deeply emotional experience, as Danny became our photographer and snapped dozens of great shots. He made our trip to Bethlehem (we had some trepidation about doing this) so easy, expedient and pleasant, using his contacts in East Jerusalem.
We were mainly interested in visiting the Christian sites in Jerusalem and in the north of Israel, but we found the visits to the Western Wall and the Temple Mount also deeply meaningful. Danny loves people of all faiths and his commentary on the religious and political history only underscored his abiding faith in people and dreams for peace and prosperity for all. I could not recommend a better experience for a couple wishing to see the Holy Land.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boxcaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“fantastic tour guide”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was part of a group that spent around 5 days with Danny exploring Jerusalem and the Dead Sea/Masada region, and I can't imagine there being a better tour guide out there. Aside from having an incredible knowledge base, he is also an exceptional storyteller and communicator and kept each group member engaged the entire time. He was also adept at noting what most interested the various group members and adapting and modifying the trip accordingly. He is definitely the person you want guiding you through these regions - he makes it a truly once-in-a-lifetime experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gayle0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“book danny if you can”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just had the pleasure of spending two days with Danny last week.
One day mt olives and old city of jerusalem
second day masada/dead sea etc
He is exceptional and knows so much.We asked plenty of questions and Danny had all the answers.
Whilst with Danny many other tour guides came over to shake his hand and thank him for his work etc.
He is very respected and that is for a reason.
Book him if you can
and danny keep up the good work
Shalom

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonyr058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danny the Digger also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Danny the Digger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing