We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic staff, great common areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for several days in January, and had a great time. The best things about the hostel is that there is someone there every day organizing reasonably priced day trips /tours. A lot of the guests went on the tours, and were happy to tell you about their experiences as well, so you could get a good idea as to whether you would like it before you signed up. The common area is huge and comfortable, with a full bar, space for reading and places to cook and eat. Since this is a large hostel, there was a diverse mix of people. The staff was helpful, and my room was basic but clean. Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,309 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was my second stay at the Abraham Hostel, so I knew full well that I would be getting great service. Never had a problem with any of the staff or volunteers, and in fact made many friends there. As I told management when I was there...I can't think of anything to complain about. There's a reason I don't mind being a return customer, and plan on staying there for any further trips to Israel. The only thing to be warned about (and this is not the hostel's fault) is that when it rains, the exterior ramp and steps get very slippery, very fast but this is a problem all over Jerusalem. So if you're like me and have some medical issues, just take it slow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyboy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and loved it. Great in house events like community dinners, open mic nights and a reasonably priced bar. We loved it.

The staff are friendly, efficient and know their stuff. I had to change our booking 4 times and they were always courteous and made the changes without fuss.

Breakfast is consists of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast and salad. Fresh, plentiful and reliable.

The price is very reasonable - we had a private room - and the heating was good and beds of a good standard for a hostel.

An excellent location - only 10 minutes walk from the Jaffa gate.

Great place to stay. Best hostel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank themot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very relaxed atmosphere, very friendly staff, helpful with everything. Rooms are ok, especially if you just want to sleep. Location is very good, near Mechane Yehude market. Breakfast is fine.
Abraham is recommendable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nynke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Probably the best hostel in Israel! Excellent atmosphere, clean rooms with heaters, good showers, many tours, events, opportunity to meet many people. That is all I have to say. I was surprised about the quality of the hostel, considering the average quality of the hostels in Israel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budapest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Terrific location and a nice bar and who wouldn't rather spend $70 a night for a single room and private bath than double or more at a local hotel. It's a spartan room, but if all you want to do is sleep, then sleep you will. And the Mechane Yehude market is right there. And they'll book any trip for you, sometimes with discounts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCPoetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very good hostel...clean, well organized, safe. We stayed in a 4 bunk room. Sink and small fridge. Toilet and shower. Lockers big enough for a large backpack...but bring your own padlock unless you want to buy one. Breakfast was fine...better than some hostels, but still, pretty average. More fresh fruit would be great. Excellent kitchen to prepare your own food...and not stuck away in a back room, so you can still see and visit with others while cooking. Lots of room in the common area and fantastic vibe...conducive to meeting others. Open mic night was great...lots of local talent...we didn't need to leave the hostel to have a nice evening. Also, while the majority of guests were youngish, we did see a great mix of ages...you don't need to be 20-something to enjoy this place. Some people even brought their young children. Tip...Eating out is not cheap here...so go to the fantastic open air market close by for super fresh and tasty food...bring it back here to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VancouverVikingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 101 in Jerusalem
629 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#42 of 101 in Jerusalem
694 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,516 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 71 in Jerusalem
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Hostel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Address: 67 Ha-Nevi'im | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $24 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abraham Hostel Jerusalem 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraham is known as the father of monotheism and was the first backpacker in the Middle East. He journeyed throughout the lands accepting hospitality from those whose homes he came to, and extending hospitality to anyone who passed near his tent. We wish to extend Abraham's Biblical hospitality to our time. We, the staff & owners of Abraham Hostels, created our dream hostel in Jerusalem to support travelers in the Middle East. The Abraham Hostel is located in Jerusalem's city center catering for independent travelers and small groups. Our location allows for easy walking access to all major sites such as the Old City or Mahane Yehuda Market. There are plenty of public transportation options right outside to various Jerusalem sites, as well as to the international airport and other cities in Israel and the West Bank. The hostel offers daily activities and tours in our ongoing effort to encourage travelers to make new friends and new experiences. Whether it's our hostel bar, traveler's information center or chill-out rooftop, we try to provide everything an independent traveler needs when travelling in the area. For those traveling outside Jerusalem there is a special discount when staying in Abraham Hostel Tel Aviv and the Fauzi Azar Inn in Nazreth, as well as special shuttle service between all three branches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Abraham Hostel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing