We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best backpacker´s hostel in Jerusalem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My personal opinion is that this is the best hostel for backpackers in Jerusalem.
It is not on the city center, that is the main con of the hostel, but it is only a 10 minute walk from the hostel. The staff is really friendly and they also have a travel agency and a bar with a great athmosphere. You can also cook on the kitchen if you want to get rid of the daily hummus kebab diet!!!
Facilities and beds are basic but keep in mind that this is made for backpackers not for tourists :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron33, Manager at Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Ivan. I am glad you had a good time in our hostel and you'd recommend it to other travelers.
Our location is right in the NEW city center, near the market and the restaurants/bar area. The OLD city can be reached by a short walk from the hostel of by taking the tram. Hoping to see you again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed, fun, well organised, excellent facilities, well informed staff, adequate breakfast provided, good community spirit. This hostel caters for all ages and it does it well! Will recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24,661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The place is huge, more than 200 beds, not realy my kind of places even if they take care of the
social vibe, organize activities every day and had a nice common area, our double was 80 euro per night, a bit too much for a hostel but what to say people pay it!
close to a metro stop and not far from city center

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank javier f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

i've been in a hostel for the first time and i think i was very lucky! me and my girlfriend had a good time and we really enjoyed it! the location was perfect, the staff very kind and all the costumers very friendly. i really couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauro l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I would highly recommend this place to anyone cause is nice and clean with the travelers atmosphere! It has all the amenities good hostel should have: washing service, nicely decorated common room, strong wifi signal in every part of the hostel.........................................................................

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

It’ one of the best hostels I’ve ever been; the common area and kitchen for breakfast are very huge, as well as the bar with chairs, tables, stools and sofa. Rooms are basic but adequate (I was in a private room with bathroom) .The location is perfect, in a cross of Yafo St, two stops from the bus station (if arriving from Tel Aviv, for example) or from the terminal of the Nesher (if you arrive from the airport) and the tram stop just behind the corner. But the thing that most impressed me was the atmosphere inside the hostel. Actually It happens in several hostels to note that air of familiarity and comfort, but there is really accentuated this feeling! May be because I have been there 6 nights! and it was really hard to leave even though my journey continued elsewhere. So the atmosphere was "suspended" and it was just fine be there, especially for a beer, or wine (the Abraham produces excellent wine with their label!) after shooting all day! On many evenings they organize something, parties, dinner during the Sabbath and more, as well as tours are very interesting (I did) from the Dead Sea, Masada and the visit to cities in the West Bank (for which I strongly recommend a visit!) .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan0374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Some of the best times I had in Israel were at the Abraham and around Jerusalem with other travelers I met there. I stayed there twice during my summer travels in Israel, Jordan, and the Palestinian Territories and would recommend it to anyone looking for a true experience. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good, and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, including the travel desk which assisted me in arranging a trip to Jordan. I still keep in touch with friends from four continents that I met at the hostel.

The reviewer before me summed it up perfectly, with "home away from home".

Room Tip: I was happy with both the four and six-person mixed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashurbanipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 102 in Jerusalem
681 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,155 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Hostel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Address: 67 Ha-Nevi'im | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $21 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abraham Hostel Jerusalem 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraham is known as the father of monotheism and was the first backpacker in the Middle East. He journeyed throughout the lands accepting hospitality from those whose homes he came to, and extending hospitality to anyone who passed near his tent. We wish to extend Abraham's Biblical hospitality to our time. We, the staff & owners of Abraham Hostels, created our dream hostel in Jerusalem to support travelers in the Middle East. The Abraham Hostel is located in Jerusalem's city center catering for independent travelers and small groups. Our location allows for easy walking access to all major sites such as the Old City or Mahane Yehuda Market. There are plenty of public transportation options right outside to various Jerusalem sites, as well as to the international airport and other cities in Israel and the West Bank. The hostel offers daily activities and tours in our ongoing effort to encourage travelers to make new friends and new experiences. Whether it's our hostel bar, traveler's information center or chill-out rooftop, we try to provide everything an independent traveler needs when travelling in the area. For those traveling outside Jerusalem there is a special discount when staying in Abraham Hostel Tel Aviv and the Fauzi Azar Inn in Nazreth, as well as special shuttle service between all three branches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Abraham Hostel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing